Mar 29, 2009

I'll admit it, I am a bit of a geek. As soon as I saw the company name, I knew I had to have a VPS with them!

I have had my VPS since January 20, 2009. At various times it has served my personal websites (which are now sitting on another VPS) and VNC server. At this time, it's once again a VNC server, and is collecting backups from a client site.

I have nothing but good things to say about this company. They have a stunningly large selection of VPS images. Support has been wonderfully fast. I have had had great uptime. And, their price is absolutely terrific.

They were fast to provision, support is quick, price is great, and their name is cool

Of all the value VPS providers I have dealt with, these guys come out #1 or #2. They are great.

View 14 Replies


Jan 3, 2009

I signed up for a personal use VPS with the sister company of VAServ.

I signed up for the £19.90 VPS 1GB Ram - 50GB Space - 850GB Bandwidth package
Network Speed:

Excellent! downloading a 100mb file took me less than 2 minutes on my Virginmedia connection (UK).


I had a few teething problems, and one incredibly blonde moment! and both tickets we're answered within minutes!!
Server Performance:

The server i'm on has 4 x 2.7 GHZ processors and the VPS just flies! i've only got FTP and E-Mail running on this VPS but it's incredible! no lag's, no problems! only problem I had was the Centos template didn't seem to contain /dev/random /dev/urandom but i've corrected that and asked them to add it to there knowledgebase which i'm sure they will do

For such a low budget brand, I wasn't expecting much - but I was suprised! excellent!

I'll post a follow up in a few weeks

I'll send the URL/IP to the mods for verification.

View 14 Replies View Related

4 Months FsckVPS Review

Oct 8, 2009

1. Month

I used 15 days of godaddy's shared hosting before FsckVPS. Due to unexpected traffic, I had to move to a VPS. So I chose FsckVPS's 512mb packet.

I was very sattisfied with them. Their servers were fast and the VPS got setup in just a few seconds.

The hacking incident happened this month. I was still pleased by the way they handled it. So I decided to stay with them. They decided to give 2 months free after the hacking incident.

2. Month and 3. Month

Everything was very smooth, running perfectly. Servers were still fast after I got switched to a new one after the hacking.

4. Month

This is the second time I paid to FsckVPS and I was pretty happy about it.

Then I have been informed that they will be switching servers. They told that it would take around 4 hours per vps.

So when I noticed that my vps was down for the first time, I didn't react and waited. After being down for about 8 hours, I sent them a ticket. The response came after 4 hours saying that it was now online.

I logged in to my vps and the first thing I noticed was how SLOW it was. After a while, it crashed and I couldn't reach to my vps anymore. I sent a ticket, they reset the server, it got a little better.

This happened about 4 times. Everytime I sent a ticket asking why this is happening, I only received a response saying it is OK now.

After 3 weeks of being like this, I decided to switch to a new VPS provider.

Now I am on my new VPS provider, hoping for better results.

My fsckvps will expire in 4 days and it is still very slow.

View 4 Replies View Related

FSCKVPS/VAServe Review + Reccomendation To Current VAServe Users

Oct 31, 2009

This is my review of a VPS i bought from the company

Product: openVZ - 1GB ram guaranteed

Duration: approx. 6mths.

When i first got the VPS, i was quite satisfied with the quality of the VPS, the ressources worked and while the bandwidth speed was less than the the dedicated server i came from, it was sufficient for what i needed. I was even impressed with the selection of different images that i could load onto the VPS with very little work.

Then came the hack.... i'm sure we've all heard a lot of what happened and so forth, so i'm not going to go into details about this here.

I decided early on that i would see what happened and most likely stick with them if my data was intact (which it was).

After the hack i frequently had issues with it suddenly becomming inaccessible, FSCKVPS was usually pretty quick in getting it back up and running, stating it was the firewall giving trouble, so they had disabled it and the second time flushed the firewall rules.

Now i'm going to have to admit i don't know enough to say that I myself wasn't the cause of this somehow, but i do doubt it since i hadn't done any major changes to my VPS after that other than regulary updating the Debian linux on it.

Now recently i chose to cancel the VPS primarily because i didn't need the VPS anymore, i was the only user of the sites it hosted, so i chose to host the site locally on my own LAN instead.

After this, i began to consider why had the VPS been behaving so poorly after the hack, and i remember a mail from VAServe just after the hack saying they would provision all customers with a standard profile and would later fix the actual products. I began to wonder what if they hadn't done what they promised? (i could not find the actual mail of this, so that's my interpretation of it, in a ticket rus said that they had reccomended that users check their ressource allocations)

Today another user here, posted a link to a script that could be used to check the ressources, it can be found on this forum in a thread named "Guarantied memory on OpenVZ" (sry can't link with low post count).

What i found was that i was only getting 256MB RAM guaranteed and 512MB RAM burst.

So my reccomendation to any VAServe user reading this, try this script or check the beancounter file yourself if you know how to understand it's output, so you make sure you get what you pay for.

To be fair to VAServe, i have always received quick response time for the tickets i opened and up until recently all tickets have been responded in a reasonably competent way(although i'm slightly dissapointed in the support people didn't check the ressources themselves at the same time).

The things i liked about FSCKVPS:

Decent prices for their plans

Quick response time on tickets, and reasonably good reply (from my needs atleast)

Before the hack: the product quality

Accountability, rus makes a point in keeping a positive profile on this forum, which is something i atleast think shows that they're willing to take on critique if there was any.

The fact that they have a plan to improve their product (KVM and solusVM for openVZ)

What i disliked about FSCKVPS(all related to post-hack issues):

The fact that they didn't check the ressources of each VPS themselves, rather trusting users to complaint about it (which is a somewhat difficult thing to do, since the OpenVZ beancounter file is not straighforward to interpret).

The high variation in the quality of response to your tickets and the fact that when you get a poor answer they tend to only answer one of your questions if you have more than one. (though from what i read in another thread here,this could be because VAServe recently took up new staff, so should hopefully get better. Althoughi would like to stress from my own experience working with tech support, people who take shortcuts in supporting customers tend to keep doing so after they've gotten a better knowledge of their jobs)

Their myriads of websites, for FSCKVPS hosted VPS' atleast you use two sites, a one for support and a one for billing, that's confusing and far from being trust inspiring in my opinion.

The [url]website was not updated with the fact that the hyperVM/LXADMIN panel wasn't accessible after the hack, which one would assume is a natural thing.

My own thoughts about FSCKVPS/VAServ:

They where pretty good before the hack, i'm sure once they get their new support staff trained, their product & websites more streamlined it will get better.

But right now as it stands i can't reccomend getting a VPS from them, things are too much of a mess.

They mentioned that with the implementation of SolusVM panel(which has the potential to decrease the amount of tickets they get in(reboot VPS etc.) they hope to be able to improve the quality of their replies to their customers through having more time for each answer, i hope this is true and with the implementation of KVM virtualization later on, the future is looking good.

So if i ever happen to need a VPS again, i might give them a try again, but it will definitely not been within the next 6months or so, and atleast a reasonable time after they've deployed KVM.

VAServe users don't forget to check your ressources if you haven't already!

View 2 Replies View Related


Mar 31, 2009

it's FSCKVPS company that down my vps before it's date end .

my vps end date was end at 01/04/2009 , today 31/03/2009 and they down it . when i tell him about this they said that them system remove my accounts because of overdue ended .

i was do invoice for upgrade one of these vps and when i log in to pay them system not accept my credit that i pay with it in the same date in 2CHECKOUT . that mean they was have problem in billing system .

and i was want to let them because of they support that was let the ticket more than 10 hours without response .

at end , they down my vps before it time is finished, they take money to give me vps until 01/04/2009

and they down it before this date and terminate it

View 14 Replies View Related


Apr 20, 2009

I was thinking of getting a 512MB VPS from

I heard they have great uptime, and I want to host my main domain on it so it will be off from my own servers. However, how does FSCKvps manage to offer such high plans for such low prices? Is there hardware really powerful or do they oversell?

View 14 Replies View Related


Oct 20, 2009

We needed a VPS off of our network for our web development portion of our company and so we decided to take advantage of a deal with FSCKVPS. They had an unbelievable special ($7.46 for 512MB). Now I can understand why I am having so many issues but I figured with the good reviews of the past I wouldn't have this many troubles.

First off, when I signed up their web site claims the following information: 70+ Operating System Choices, Remote Desktop Access, and "Rebuilding without having to contact us".

After signing up I soon learn...they only have 5 OS choices, no remote desktop template, and you have to submit a ticket to rebuild because they no longer have a panel for management.

Now since our development project required multiple OS choices and we would like to have had remote desktop for an application I decided to cancel and request a refund based on false advertising the first day of the VPS.

They responded not too long after saying they would take it to the correct department, this was about a month ago. Still no refund, and I even received another bill yesterday.

My tip to them was fix your web site before offering services, after this they removed the 70+ operating systems but they still have Remote Desktop Access and reinstalls without contacting us right on their home page.

View 0 Replies View Related


Mar 29, 2009

I have been with FSCK since about Feb 11th. I do not use the server much as far as my website, since I have basically taken it offline for a bit while I get some time and remodel it. I have used the vps for extensive sandbox, and the vps has been online every since I first signed up.

For a value VPS they are great, good price, fast response, and super fast servers.

I just upgraded my plan to the 2nd biggest plan, and I figure I will stay awhile. I am no linux guru, but make do, but this is a completely non managed setup, and they do not offer cpanel or directadmin, so I purchased a license at for $15/mo.

All and all, a great company, and I would recommend to anybody who can manage a vps, or is willing to learn.

View 9 Replies View Related

Vps In Similar Price As Fsckvps

May 10, 2009

I had a client that can no longer afford a dedicated server hes paying for.

Hes been with me for 4 years so I offered to pay for a vps for him for a few months. He had the dedicated server split into 1 linux side and 1 windows side so im going to get 1 linux vps from fsckvps *2gb ram* now im looking for a windows vps that has similar prices as fsckvps because he was only paying 70 per month for the dedi server.

View 14 Replies View Related

FSCKVPS Install Nginx :: Cannot Allocate Memory

Oct 17, 2009

when I tried to install nginx,but always said:

cannot allocate memory ....

View 14 Replies View Related

FSCKVPS Account Suspended (Stay Away From Paypal Subscriptions With Them)

Oct 23, 2009

Hi all. If you are a FSCKVPS member then be aware that you should NOT pay your invoices using their Paypal subscriptions.

Here's my story: My first monthly payment I made using a regular Paypal payment. Everything was ok. So I created a subscription the next month and was immediately billed by Paypal. Interestingly my invoice was still marked "UNPAYED" in the fsckvps system. So I opened a support ticket (10 days ago now). They forwarded it to their "Billing Level 2" departement and told me that they have problems processing Paypal payments that are subscriptions. Days went by and nothing happened. I received emails that my payment was overdue so I asked them again to please mark the invoice as "PAYED". Nothing happened.

Until yesterday they suspended my account!!! Ever since I'm trying to get my account back online. I even payed the invoice again (!!!) using a regular Paypal payment but that didn't help anything except that I'm paying twice for no service now. Nobody seems to care. I opened another ticket with support, hoping that another departement might be more helpful but the ticket was just again forwarded to "Billing Level 2". There's no phone number or anything to contact them. It's a shame, because I like their service and the technical support personnel has always been a great help to me. But not their billing people.

KHB-300228: Invoice #207287 unpayed?
SFX-669282: URGENT KHB-300228 / Invoice #207287
OCV-518983: Unsuspend suspended Account !!!

View 6 Replies View Related

Some Initial Impressions Of Fsckvps / Vaserv: Mixed--set Low Expectations

Oct 13, 2009

I had three VMs with Fsck VPS, dating back to before they got hacked in June. I've been paying the bill since then, I imagined as a kind of insurance, so that I had the VMs handy if I needed to use them in a big hurry. Last week, I tried to log in, and found that my three VMs didn't exist, anymore. As far as I can tell, the VMs haven't existed since the June break-in.


My first reaction was "They've been billing me for three months, and providing nothing?!??!" I'll be honest, I was pretty tweaked, but after I'd calmed down I decided to see how they handled the situation. So I submitted a ticket asking for an explanation: How long had the machines been down for, and what would it take to get them back up and running?

It took about a day, but we eventually established that VAServ could build three new OpenVZ VMs, and that they would give me three months' credit for those three machines. Since I actually do need the VMs, and I didn't really want to fight about the billing, I decided to go for it. It took another day, but I did get three new machines up and running.

Unfortunately, I do have some complaints about the process, specifically:

- VAServ's technical support is very inconsistent, and different techs seem to have vastly different levels of communications skill and professionality.

- Many of the techs don't seem to bother reading your ticket, beyond the subject. They tend to only be capable of answering the first question in each ticket/email, and they ignore anything else you've asked.

- After the FSCKVPS/VAServ buyout, following the break-in, the HyperVM control panel was disabled. If you need a reboot, or a root password reset, or anything that you can't accomplish yourself by SSHing into the VM, you have to open a ticket. (Seems like a chancy proposition, now, to me.)


Today, I started seeing memory allocation errors in running programs. The machine mostly worked, but certain operations (shell scripts, in particular) would error out. I opened a ticket asking for some guidance, and within less than 10 minutes, the VM started rebooting. I got an update about the ticket a few minutes later, and was told that the VM had been reconfigured (increased memory allocation limit) and rebooted.

I was pretty mad about the no-notice reboot. I'd been in the middle of editing a bunch of configuration files, and I lost an hour of work. It just seems so unprofessional and inconsiderate for VAServ's technician to bounce the VM without confirming it with me, first.

I did get an explanation/apology from the tech who rebooted the machine. I asked him to have his supervisor contact me, which took a few hours, but I did hear back. The supervisor wrote:

"...we reboot the vps if we found any VPS out of memory. Normally most of the service stop working or access got killed when VPS is out of memory..."

To me, it sounds like the reboot is a standard procedure for a common problem. Given that kind of environment, it's only natural that the tech's first impulse would be to reboot, given a ticket about memory errors.

At the same time, it's also indicative of a bottom-of-the-barrel service, isn't it?

- Memory problems seem to be common--is that because they're over-subscribed? Does your 512MB allocation mean anything, or is it just talk?

- The staff can't / won't bother to read through a ticket and give it some consideration.

- The staff has an itchy reboot finger. Their first impulse is to power-cycle, rather than to try to understand and fix the issue directly.


I do intend to continue using VAServ / FSCKVPS, at least for now. They're really cheap, about $10/month for a 512MB VM, and I can mostly get done with what I need to do. But this is a qualified opinion. I am solely using these VMs for simple R&D projects: Quasi-professional work, stuff that nobody is currently paying me to do.

Given my experiences so far, I would never trust these guys with a real, money-making business project. VAServ / FSCKVPS is suitable for toying around with, or if you're flat broke, but I wouldn't bet my job on them if I could possibly help it.

I'm setting a calendar reminder for myself, right now, to check back in another month or so with an update to this post. Assuming I'm still chugging along with these VMs, I'm going to make a point of posting my impressions on a regular basis.

View 14 Replies View Related

Casino Review/sports Betting Review Hosting With Godaddy?

May 12, 2009

Is Godaddy cool for the casino review/sports betting review site?i searched a lot and submit Godaddy a ticket,still dont dig out.

View 5 Replies View Related

MonkeyWrench Hosting Review - Three Year Review

Dec 15, 2008

MonkeyWrench Hosting review - Three year review

I've been hosting my personal sites with MonkeyWrench Hosting for around three years now (coming up in January I believe), and I figured I'd share my experiences with them!

I've gone through a few hosts in my time, and some of them have been pretty rough. After using paid hosts, a niche free host started up that I stayed with for around a year before they eventually closed down.

I switched to MonkeyWrench Hosting at that point as a place to host my sites and store my files, and I have to say that I've been impressed throughout the time I've been with them.

Fantastic! The sites have been perfectly reliable and speedy whenever I've gone to access them, and I haven't had any complaints from users. I did come across MySQL going down on one of the servers (I have two accounts for different purposes that are on seperate servers) in the past, but it was resolved quickly before I even needed to get help.

I've used the support a few times, but not for anything critical since there's not been the need. However, everything that I have asked was answered promptly in a professional manner.

Again, no complaints here. The pricing is pretty cheap, especially for the quality of service receieved. They aren't the cheapest on the Internet by any means, but you generally get what you pay for. I'm aware of what my realistic space/bandwidth needs are anyway, and I'd rather pick a host that clearly advertises what you'll receive over an 'unlimited' host.

All in all, MWH have been a fantastic choice and I couldn't have hoped for anything better.

So, thumbs up to Jonathan, and keep up the good work!

I'll report my domains for the moderators to check them out. =)

View 10 Replies View Related

Virpus Review (my Final Review)

Apr 26, 2009

I've been very happy with Virpus since I joined. There was 1 issue that has plagued me since the beginning and that was that I was not receiving e-mails on my ISP e-mail, my main e-mail. Not to big of an issue except that I didn't get any news updates or know when my tickets were replied to, or even when I was past due on my bill. 3 tickets later and their solution was for me to use another e-mail address, which was kind of a pain for me since each of my e-mail addresses has a specific reason which only specific e-mail get sent there for organizational reasons.

First off I have to say the VPS I was using was top notch. It easily outperformed my LiquidWeb VPSs and quickly became my primary VPS instead of my backup like was intended. I took advantage of one of their specials a while back which was a 512MB RAM cPanel VPS for $19.50/month which is a steal since the cPanel license alone is $15/month!

So now to why this is probably my final review of this company. Communication is lacking greatly. It was good at first, but now it's non-existant.

Over the weekend all my sites went down and I had no idea why... because I never got the e-mail saying they were moving data centers (if it weren't for a small thread on WHT I would never have known). I also did not receive any updates on extending their ETA so yet again I had nothing to tell my clients. The only good thing was that I run a free hosting company ( for reference) and I offer no uptime guarantee since it's a non-paid service.

Ok, so the sites are back online and everything is working nicely... well I recently hit the 70% mark on my disk space usage so time to start looking for an upgrade. I created a ticket on April 23rd asking if they would allow me to upgrade my plan to their biggest VPS plan and to my surprise I never got a reply. I would think that a billing ticket asking to upgrade to a plan that costs more without the transfer of the discount I'm receiving would be a welcome ticket for them to reply to, but I was incorrect in thinking this. So I ended up purchasing a dedicated server last night because I cannot wait to see if they will assist me with upgrading my account or not.

View 13 Replies View Related

WebtHosting Review * Major Review

Sep 27, 2009

What seemed to be a good company quickly turned to nightmares. I purchased a couple domains. All went well. Then paypal emailed me saying they are high risk and wanted me to confirm I made the payment and service was given. So until I did the payment was held. They blame the held on me and threatened me to release it or they will cancel my account.

So they finally gave them the money and all was well. Well I did a stupid thing and decided to get a VPS from them, they have good deals so I thought, whats the worse that can happen. Well shortly after, I get a email saying because your payments are unreliable, we are waiting a week to setup your vps which is complete udder crap.

So I just said screw it and said give me a refund then and about 2 hours ago I try logging into my client center and my account is gone.

I am hoping one of them see this so we can get this worked out. In the mean time I opened disputes on all of the payments.

I will keep you all updated.

View 14 Replies View Related

HiVelocity Review (Possible Client Review)

Apr 17, 2009

I just want to take the time and review Hivelocity. Boy oh boy, where to start. I am just so pleased with the customer support they offer and I don't even own a single product with them.

I currently own a server with another comapny and I am always looking at other options for cheaper prices, better services and etc.

I found Hivelocity through WHT and I took the time to start up a live chat which was answered quickly from Kevin. Kevin was very nice and welcoming. I was asking about discounts they could provide and etc. Kevin showed me their reseller program which seemed to be something I may be interested in. After a 15-20 minute chat with Kevin, he offered to add me on MSN if I ever wanted to chat which I thought was pretty nice.

After I got off live chat with Kevin, I decided to keep researching Hivelocity. I immediately signed up on Twitter (I never had a Twitter Account). I saw they had some awesome deals. They were offering an awesome deal today it looks like this:

"The next person to go to our site, open a live chat and say "I just got your TWEET" gets a Core2Duo 3.0Ghz e8400 for $5 the first month."

By time I even got onto Twitter, I noticed that this was already taken. I kept browsing their Twitter and hey what do you know, another great deal it followed like this:
"The 1st $5 Core2Duo sold in about 20 seconds so lets do it again. The next person to open a live chat saying "Give me a $5 Server" gets it."

I decided I was going to be late as the last one sold in 20 seconds. Well, it turned out it did get sold but, I got into a Live Chat with David from Hivelocity.

David informed me that the server was sold and I was a bit too late. What do you know, more great discounts! He offered me the same server for $5 on the first month. I decided not to take advantage of the offer as I wouldn't be able to put much use to the offer. I will be moving to Hivelocity within the next 1-3 months.

Overall I am very pleased with the great offers they provide and the support is just amazing!

Based on the sales support and the deals they provide, I did a bit of a rating on Hivelocity.

Sales Support:5/5

Also, if you decide your interested in Hivelocity's awesome offers, I would follow them on Twitter! They are constantly updating their Twitter and offering great deals. Their Twitter deals are 100% and it's pretty awesome a company like Hivelocity offers products and support so great!

View 14 Replies View Related

Limestonenetworks Review [8 Month Review]

May 5, 2009

I joined Limestonenetworks back in 2008 when it was a small company. At the time they offered the best price on the server I was looking for, so I took the plunge. The first 2 months were great, I enjoyed the stable network, and responses from the support team were fairly quick (1-2 hours response time). From there on it was all downhill, my servers were constantly down, and the support team took longer to answer my tickets. I didn't think this was a big problem, so I stayed with Limestonenetworks even though it was having problems with their network. Near December an incident occurred that really pushed me over the edge. My servers had been down for hours, so I opened a support ticket, and one of the agents replied and told me that the downtime was due to an upgrade in their network.

Again, I came to conclude that it could be far worst, so I stayed, one of the reasons was that I didn't want to switch my game servers over. It's important to keep in mind when you are running game servers, IPs play an important part because that's where you get your traffic. Near January the network upgrade at Limestonenetworks was still taking place which caused my bandwidth meter to stop working. This really scared me because I didn't want to get charged for overages due to the fact that my servers were receiving DDOS attacks, and I wouldn't know when to close the ports.

This incident actually turned out to be positive for me because even though I went over my bandwidth quota they didn't charge me for overages. I was very happy because this was like a late Christmas present, so now I was even more happy to give my money to Limestonenetworks. Now you might ask the question, how is this going downhill? Even though they didn't charge me for the overages, I still lost many clients who were angry at the fact that their game server were down.

In the end this network upgrade actually cost me 3 clients who were paying ~$60 per month. I let this slide because at this point I already had two servers with Limestonenetworks and I really didn't want to switch over due to the fact I would lose my IPs. The next month, February, was no different, I had more issues with Limestonenetworks. Starting of this month I was getting large DDOS attacks, which kept pushing my bandwidth over the quota, and I ended up paying close to $200 dollars just for bandwidth overages.

At this point they started to nickel and dime me for every single penny they could get of me. I don't know if they were having financial problems, or if it was due to another reason. Again in March I went over the quota, but at this time they told me that I had to pay per gigabyte which would result in a $500+ charge in bandwidth, and after talking with multiple agents, I was finally able to reach an agreement. They had changed a policy all of the sudden due to the fact that they knew I was a good customer and would keep paying for the overages.

The problem I had here was that I didn't mind upgrading to plan after I knew how much bandwidth was going to be used, since they don't offer any sort of DDOS protection, and game servers result in large DDOS attacks occasionally. I understand that Limestonenetworks was not at fault, but by making me pay per gigabyte was a bit harsh, since I had never been late on a payment, and had multiple servers. Try to remember that I stayed with this company even though I lost multiple clients because of their network outages, but they didn't care about this, all the care about is nickling and diming customers.

From that point on I have been living on the edge because I don't want to pay for an upgrade before hand due to the fact I don't know how much bandwidth my server will be using. Even if I upgrade to a different package it does not offer an insurance due to the fact that if I receieve a large DDOS than I orignally predicted, I would still end up paying per gigabyte.

This company has turned from having potential to just making their customers run away. Now the other problems I had with Limestonenetwork is the support they offer, which has been declining since I joined. The associates are very rude and don't really care about the customer's experience. I didn't include every problem I had with Limestonenetwork because it would make it a very long read.

Network - 10/10
Downtime - 5/10
Customer Service - 2/10
Overall Experience - 4/10
Would I recommend this company? NO, I urge everyone to stay away, unless they like to deal with problems on a daily basis.

Also from reading other topics on this forum, I personally believe that Limestonenetwork is overselling and their network can not handle the load.

View 11 Replies View Related

Wholesaleinternet Review (4 Months Review)

Sep 12, 2008

I've got high end server from WholeSaleinternet.I've been with Wholesaleinternet for 4 months now and I am extremely happy with them.Got an awesome server for a cheap price, a Quad-Core Xeon 8 Processor (3.0GHZ), 32GB RAM, 100mbit port link.

Sales support is slow but tech support is fast!

That you very much Aaron/Wholesaleinternet!, keep up the good work!

View 10 Replies View Related

Virpus Review 7 Month Review - My "ups And Downs"

May 1, 2009

I have been with virpus for the past 7 months

I have posted an review earlier as well for 2 month : 2 month review

Let me summarize my experience so far,

Technical Support - 10/10 Really fab. even though I was on semi-managed plan, they never made me feel I was on a semi it always felt as if I was under complete management, they did every task I had asked them to do, which I didn't get on any other semi-managed host earlier.

I have no sort of complaints about their technical team, they tried to solve some problems which were due to the billing dept.

The minimum response for a ticket generally around 10-15mins and the completion with in an hr.

Billing Dept - This is some dept. that has kept me in wonder-land. Some times the replies were so pleasing and most other times the tickets are ignored. From, almost 2nd r 3rd month, the billing dept. tickets don't get regularly replied and used to bump the tickets in order to get a response to the query. Which I got some how, in a apologizing manner (no complaints for that :p)

Now, for the past 1 month we have been having some serious problems.

First, I had recd. some black-listed ip's when we joined virpus, we failed to check them (mistake on our end agreed 100%), which probably even they might not have been aware of.. As, we had a minor mis-understanding with godaddy during domain registration, my friend registered the domain using one of our partner address who resides in Singapore, where as the registration was done from India. Godaddy, assumed this was a spam registration and refunded the amount. So, we had to register the domain through another partner who resided in India. Godaddy was cool after we gave them the complete details, where they wanted some ID proof, and we provided them.

Our ip was on the black-list, we thought since our domain was spam-listed for a day, (until godaddy took it off) it made the hosts to assume the domain was black-listed, so we had manually submitted forms and proofs to most of the anti-spam agencies and mail providers, where they took the ban off the ip with in 15-20 days after we joined virpus.

Our domain was no longer under black-list, but ip was still under black-listed in some sites, such as rediff, it took more than 2 months to set the things straight at rediff, where we did some config added from the tech.dept. such as setting up spf record, and did a few tweaks here and there.

Even after making all these efforts, our ip was still under black-list of some ISP's. Our main domain (the domain which was under bl list earlier) loads well for every user, but our child domains where we have blogs and other activities do not load for lots of users. The ping results in the internet gives 100% but on their particular systems it gives no ping. Some times, the site loads wierdly such as,[url] might load but [url]might not load, and vice-versa, some times local ping fails but site loads, its all wierd and we found the reason to the problem to be ip after some minor confirmation from our end. We were losing our revenue of more than 60% just because of the failure of loading on the site, the tech. dept used to ask the ips which are facing prob to check if they are blocked, but its not possible to give ips of users who visit as guests and others, we have noted reports on other sites that our site wasn't loading for them. We still were able to give few ips for check and found them not-blocked on the ip. The sites are able to be viewed for all from proxy sites such as but we can't ask each viewer to go to proxy site to view if they are unable to load, it will become ridiculous and we might lose our entire traffic some day.

We had shifted our domains temporarily to other vps where we noted none of the users had a single complaint, we were there for more than a week, which ensured the problem was not the domains but the ips, again after returning to the virpus hosts, we had created 3 tickets to sales/billing dept. to issue fresh ip's, got 0 reply and mailed to mr.Ken using : got no reply after 48hrs.

We have to agreee, Earlier,mr.Ken was so helpful he helped us when we didn't have any funds to issue, since we had an dispute with an item where our payment was delayed by paypal. So, we had paid them almost 10 days later than the due date where mr.Ken was so helpful and saw to it our VPS could stay online despite the payments not been released.

In thanks, we had directly mailed our check we got from an ad-agency, which again made around 5-10 days in the payment, which made our balance stand in the positive note, we have our balance in the account for the past 3 months so that there are no dues left.

But, in the past 1 -2 months the replies have been disappointing.

We planned to leave virpus and join other host, where we burnt our hands, we looked for other reputed VPS and had a few in mind after our staff suggested few good organizations(don't prefer to name them here as it would be mis-leading).

Since, virpus wasn't ready to refund the amount in the credits we decided to continue with virpus atleast as a sideby host. Later, some how our members suggested we used virpus as a main host, so we wanted fresh ip's to get rid of the damn problem we are having but we have recd. no response for the past 1 week.

Now, lately after the maintenance our VPS was down for approx. 26-27hrs on april 25th Saturday, where our traffic is usually on the weekends. We lost the compelete traffic and revenue. When we asked if it come under credits, we got response as : This was the result of scheduled maintenance we cannot, it would not qualify under our SLA. (just giving the main result statment off the entire reply recd. from sales). Its some thing we would like to regret but for sure this isn't some issue, which could make us think to get to a new host.

The reply from the sales dept. has made our staff making funny betting, as one would win if we get a reply and other would if its not replied with in 48hrs, lately the first one is winning () due to lack of communication.

This might be our last month. Our next due date major amount would be taken from the credits, so a very little amount would exist in the account. We will stay with them until our amount with them is spent.

We had enjoyed really good with the tech. dept but the sales dept has been really poor in the recent past. I am forced to say this as even after mailing we haven't got response where, mr.Ken stated if our tickets were lost or some thing, mail to him but either didn't work so far.

Once, earlier when we requested for change of ips we were said some $7 or some thing would be charged for the swap, when we made other enquiries about it we didn't get a response till date

My tickets which lay un-responded:

509467 and 385781 are double-post of the ticket, but got reply for none of the above tickets. Was expecting a reply for 1 atleast.

I was ready to pay excess charge for the new ips as there some mistake from my end in failure to check the ips before getting them but I wanted some concession as the major mistake was from their end while dispatching ips. I am not refusing to pay but I wanted the concession, got no reply and the above tickets are a proof of them.

Our staff online time and their live chat time don't tally, so we can't make any contact to them on live as well.

I am not sure if this is mis-understanding or what, but it has been a mixed experience for me. For sure, their sales crew have to be increased that's some suggestion I would strongly do.

I can recommend this host to any one for the tech. support they provide but can't guarantee them for the sales dept. replies based on my past/recent experiences.

Totally my site down for around ~30hrs including all the maintanence and other reasons, it could be a bit less but I am rounding it off, for sure its more than 28hrs

My over all rating: 7.5/10
Tech. Dept - 10/10
Sales/Billing Dept - 5/10

my site submitted for review via report feature
I tried to give all my experience on virpus and I am not against any one for joining virpus nor have any fights with virpus team.

May be if we get response from sales we might still consider continuing with virpus but that stands low at the moment.

View 14 Replies View Related

1 And 1 Review

Dec 15, 2008

First off they did not setup my server for nearly 2 days. I bitched and was apologized about that. They said I would get 10% off my next month.

I proceed to get everything running and start setting up my domains and then blamo its gone! It was reset they said even though I did not have a remote switch. I asked them why they did that and they insisted it was me. Whatever. So I setup everything again and was getting horrible speeds for my photography site. The hell???? They promised me the world when I signed up with them. I also got to deal with "outsourced tech support" from india that was not helpful.

I finally get things running but its still a slow *** server and they try to tell me I needed to upgrade to a much faster plan and get a better processor and memory. I tell them screw that they are throttling my bandwidth. Like memory and processor are gonna make a difference for 3 websites 1 with forums and 1 for photography then my personal site.

View 11 Replies View Related

WBS Review, Please

Sep 18, 2009

Can you share with me about your experience with WBS as a provider? Including account management, support and of course quality of the network, Also I am interested whether they really have a good South America connectivity.

View 9 Replies View Related Review

May 15, 2009

havent seen any review on WHT? maybe someone can share since im really keen on getting a shared hosting plan there?

View 14 Replies View Related

1 And 1 Review ....

Oct 30, 2009

I have been using 1 and 1 web hosting for almost 3 months now. In that time my site has never been down. I use them to host my website but i use google App for my email server.

In the three months that i have been hosting with them i have only had to put in one ticket due to a mysql database issue. Which then turns out something that i have done.

I would recommend 1 and 1 to my friends and family.

I have two domains hosted with them...

View 13 Replies View Related

The NY NOC 9 Day Review

Dec 1, 2008

Since I've been noticing a thread about how this company is a scam and a fraud and will take your money and run.... I wanted to post my review of them.

Super VPS #2 ($9.95) was bought on 11/21 at 5:42 PM. I received the VPS login information about 4 hours later.

I have this VPS for a VPN server that I run for my personal use. I have so far had 100% uptime and nothing has been wrong. Everything is working great.

I have sent in a number of ticket with things that I need to be enabled for the VPN to work. All of my tickets were responded to within a reasonable time limit. I say reasonable for the following reasons:

1) I used to work in the hosting business and it's almost impossible to give a hour resolution unless you have a big time staff

2) this VPS in UNMANAGED so I didn't expect support to be online waiting for my ticket
Andy has been a great person and I truly thank you for everything you've done on my VPS for me.

The VPS has great connections to the internet. Although I ALWAYS prefer that Cogent be left out when I buy a server or VPS, this one came with it but most of my routes take Level 3 and Internap so I am perfectly fine with it. They also setup rDNS for me in a matter of minutes.

I have pushed 4GB so far and am not having any problems with any one else's VPS affecting mine.

So to sum it up:

Support = 8/10 (If you offered a guaranteed response in xx minutes that would be great)

Network = 9/10 (I prefer not to have Cogent since they send you all over the USA unlike other carriers)

Price = 10/10 (Find me a $10 VPS that offers all this on a stable NOT OVERSOLD node)

Uptime = 10/10 (So far so good!)

Overall Experience = 9/10

If you are looking at a VPS and just want to try this out, you really can't lose anything with this $10 plan. I would highly recommend The NY NOC.

Note to mods: I have submitted my IP and info through the ticket system.

View 13 Replies View Related

Review: The NY Noc

Oct 13, 2007

Name: The NY Noc
Thread: [url]
Website: [url]

Package offered to WHT:
10GB Space
300GB Transfer
HyperVM / LxAdmin
Root Access
2 IP Addresses
$9.95/mo US
10mbit/s (true)

I have been a customer of this provider for almost two months now. They have provided great support (especially concerning their response time). Uptime has been 99%+ as advertised - very reliable.

The package they offer above is one of the cheaptest I have found on these forums or on the net. Most others offer similar packages but only provide 1 IP and 150GB/mo transfer. If this company continues with well managed servers and customer support, I believe they will be well worth the investment a customer makes.

View 1 Replies View Related

Bad Review For SkyNetHosting

Apr 25, 2009

I subscribed to SkyNetHosting at 27th December 2008.

At that time, it was a great experience for me, I had some questions with their packages, so I submitted the tickets and I got speedy and helpful support.

My websites with them are working really fine until recently. Starting from February, their server started to experience several downtime and the worst is, the accumulated downtime in a recent week is more than 30 hours.

I am extremely sad when I submitted the tickets to ask about it, they take more than 8 hours to reply me, which they updated me that the server is still down. I was expected them to tell me the server is alright now after half a day of downtime.

They finally decided to migrate the server when they think they cannot do anything to stop the downtime, which is explained at the following address.

My nightmare started again here, my websites experienced long down time again, which is more than 3 days, I wonder why do they take such long time to migrate servers?

After the migration, I thought all the bad things came to the end, but appatently I am wrong.

Few of my websites are showing strange content, which I think the content from other website on the server.

Few of my websites are showing the "cPanel Great Success" page, including the following message.

Great Success !
Apache is working on your cPanel® and WHM Server
If you can see this page, then the people who manage this server have installed cPanel and WebHost Manager (WHM) which use the Apache Web server software and the Apache Interface to OpenSSL (mod_ssl) successfully. They now have to add content to this directory and replace this placeholder page, or else point the server at their real content.

I also cannot login to my FTP and Shell account.

Yesterday, I got new problem with them again, one of my website is showing some errors, which I think it was the error I have seen when I am working on the website. Which means, it was a outdated copies of my website, how could it be here when the website was working properly?

I suspected that they restored a outdated backup to my website without my notice.

I submitted a ticket to ask for help, they replied me after 9 hours, said that:


The backup was created just before migrating the server. Please check now and let me know for any further assistance.

I am so tire with the downtime and I do not even care that they took 9 hours to reply me. The problem is, the ticket do not give me any solution and my website is still down!

Again, I submitted a ticket for it just now, I wonder how long would they take to reply me and recover my website this times?

View 8 Replies View Related Review

Dec 14, 2008 review

I have found from WHT about 2 months back while I was looking for a new reseller plan. They have a decent looking site, plan details are listed clearly, on top of that they had good features for the price plus I got a coupon from where I got my space doubled along with a $10 discount.

(3/10) Order Process/Account Setup: I have placed the order and waited and waited almost a day without my account details ;( Then I had contact sale over live chat and they had setup my account over the chat since it was urgent for me. The live chat was helpful but I would have been happier if I got the account details in the first place. Not a very good first impression !!!
(8/10) Support: Support is fast. The average response time of 2-1 hour for most of the tickets and there have been few that took few hours to get done such as such as a problem with GD etc.
From the support Jessica was amazing and she seems to know anything about everything
(10/10) Uptime: I haven't noticed any downtimes with them and my servers uptime meter shows 100% for this month and 99.9... something for last month which is a good thing.

(8/10) Speed: My site was loading fine except one time I noticed a lag, I opened a ticket and they have corrected it and I never had that problem again.

(9/10) Value for Money/Features: This is an absolute plus I get 5 SEO IP's, Rvsitebuilder, clientexec and 15GB space with 200GB bandwidth on a non overloaded server. I guess this is one of the main reasons that I had decided to go with them in the first place. The features rocks
I'll probably update this page after few more months and let everyone know if its going to be good or bad. hopefully it will still be good -

View 4 Replies View Related

1and1 Review!

Nov 12, 2007

I bought a 1and1 VPS. It was a good quality server, I don't think it was setup right. I called their tech support multiple times about my servers issues. Such as it freezing and i can't restart it. Then the tech support said he would tell their computer department, and 13 hours later, my server is still frozen and I cannot log on.

I would not and do not recommend 1and1 to anyone. It was a very bad exerience and I will always stay away from them. Sorry 1and1 but your service isn't all that great.

View 2 Replies View Related Review

Sep 8, 2009

i have a server from them since few weeks now .

the server up time is 100% , support is very great and i can say they are online 24 hours per day ,i didn't need them much but each time i check they were online .

their only problem is the slow connection , i have 100 Mbps but i can't pass 1 mb from the server ftp or httpd ( tested using 100 Mbps ovh server ) .

over-all rating :

support : 10/10
up-time : 10/10
price : 8/10 ( yeah , a bit expensive but they have good offer in dedicated servers section )
connection speed : 6/10
hardware quality : 10/10

after all they are good company , and a good choice if you are not looking for high speed connectivity , they will be one of the best choices for their price .

View 14 Replies View Related

Hostgator Review

Sep 28, 2008

We have used them on numerous occasions and found them very reliable. not if anyone else has ..

View 7 Replies View Related

Copyrights 2005-15, All rights reserved