Virpus Networks - 4.5 Month Review

Jun 7, 2008

Since all the talk lately about Virpus Networks here on the boards lately has been negative, I figured I would put a positive light on Virpus.

Price = 10/10
The price was one of the main things that drew me into Virpus. For $12.99 a month, I am getting 12 GB Disk Space, 300 GB of Bandwidth, 192MB Guaranteed RAM, 512 MB Burst RAM, and DirectAdmin. I would consider that a steal.

Uptime = 9.5/10
My VPS has rarely been down. If it has been, it is because of either:
a) the recent 1.5 hour downtime for the migration or b) something I did to screw up my own VPS.

Support = 9/10
Whenever I have a question for the Virpus staff, I usually get a response within the hour. However, for the past few weeks, it has taken a bit longer than that, sometimes up to two days. However, I believe that is because of the recent migration.

Overall = 9.8/10
I am pretty happy with the services from Virpus Networks. I would definitely recommend them to anyone who is looking for affordable, reliable VPS hosting.

View 14 Replies


ADVERTISEMENT

Virpus Networks (virpus.com) Review

Mar 21, 2008

We have had a cheap server at Virpus Networks (virpus.com) for 3 months. Everything has been great.

Today at 1030AM CDT, the box suddenly went offline. We asked for a reboot via AIM and Help Desk Ticket and Ken stated he would drive to the facility and reboot it.

As of 210PM CDT, the box was still offline but Ken was on AIM. We asked him about it and he stated he had just received a SPAM complaint and that his carrier, LightEdge, nullrouted the IP as there policy is nullroute and then notify of the complaint.

When asked when Virpus received the SPAM complaint, Ken advised us he had received it earlier in the day but he did not have time to forward it on.

When asked how to go about getting the box put back online, mind you it was the 1st SPAM Complaint and we rectified it in our database within 5 minutes of receiving the ticket at 220 PM, he stated it was upto LightEdge and he has expressed his concerns of this policy but there was no response and he had no ETA for a fix.

Also, as a side note, Virpus Networks advertises ATT, QWest, XO, Cogent and Verizon however the only thing your able to get to unless your directly on the ATT, QWest, XO, Verizon network is Cogent.

Think twice about getting a VPS or Dedicated Server with Virpus.

I cannot wait to hear Kenneth Odem's response to this post as Im sure he'll be here to defend himself and say its all our fault for getting the 1 SPAM Complaint which I admit, getting a SPAM complaint against you is bad however the mannfer of suspending the account and then contactin the customer 4 hours later is absolutely rediculous.

View 14 Replies View Related

Virpus Review: 1 Month

Apr 9, 2009

Here is my review of Virpus after being with them for 1 month.

Uptime: 10/10

So far I have not experienced any outages and I am going to have to give them a 10 on that as I have seen many threads in the outages about them but it appears they solved that issue and I was never effected by any of those.

Support: 8/10

I will give the support a 8 as sometimes on off times it could take up to about 30 minutes for the first response which is great but then after that the responses tend to be around 2 hours or so. Overall though the support is great!

Price: 10/10

I signed up with there plan that was cPanel included and had double bandwidth and ram. I was thinking it was too good to be true and that the VPS was not going to be quality, but I am glad I was wrong!

Performance: 9/10

The performance of the server is overall great so far. I have had no issues as far as the server being anything but fast. I will have to commend them on having great hardware and not overselling there services like a lot of the VPS providers these days.

Overall: 9/10

I would highly recommend them as they have been a great provider overall and I hope that they keep up the good work in the future.

Domain has been reported for verification.

View 5 Replies View Related

Virpus Review 7 Month Review - My "ups And Downs"

May 1, 2009

I have been with virpus for the past 7 months

I have posted an review earlier as well for 2 month : 2 month review

Let me summarize my experience so far,

Technical Support - 10/10 Really fab. even though I was on semi-managed plan, they never made me feel I was on a semi it always felt as if I was under complete management, they did every task I had asked them to do, which I didn't get on any other semi-managed host earlier.

I have no sort of complaints about their technical team, they tried to solve some problems which were due to the billing dept.

The minimum response for a ticket generally around 10-15mins and the completion with in an hr.

Billing Dept - This is some dept. that has kept me in wonder-land. Some times the replies were so pleasing and most other times the tickets are ignored. From, almost 2nd r 3rd month, the billing dept. tickets don't get regularly replied and used to bump the tickets in order to get a response to the query. Which I got some how, in a apologizing manner (no complaints for that :p)

Now, for the past 1 month we have been having some serious problems.

First, I had recd. some black-listed ip's when we joined virpus, we failed to check them (mistake on our end agreed 100%), which probably even they might not have been aware of.. As, we had a minor mis-understanding with godaddy during domain registration, my friend registered the domain using one of our partner address who resides in Singapore, where as the registration was done from India. Godaddy, assumed this was a spam registration and refunded the amount. So, we had to register the domain through another partner who resided in India. Godaddy was cool after we gave them the complete details, where they wanted some ID proof, and we provided them.

Our ip was on the black-list, we thought since our domain was spam-listed for a day, (until godaddy took it off) it made the hosts to assume the domain was black-listed, so we had manually submitted forms and proofs to most of the anti-spam agencies and mail providers, where they took the ban off the ip with in 15-20 days after we joined virpus.

Our domain was no longer under black-list, but ip was still under black-listed in some sites, such as rediff, it took more than 2 months to set the things straight at rediff, where we did some config added from the tech.dept. such as setting up spf record, and did a few tweaks here and there.

Even after making all these efforts, our ip was still under black-list of some ISP's. Our main domain (the domain which was under bl list earlier) loads well for every user, but our child domains where we have blogs and other activities do not load for lots of users. The ping results in the internet gives 100% but on their particular systems it gives no ping. Some times, the site loads wierdly such as,[url] might load but [url]might not load, and vice-versa, some times local ping fails but site loads, its all wierd and we found the reason to the problem to be ip after some minor confirmation from our end. We were losing our revenue of more than 60% just because of the failure of loading on the site, the tech. dept used to ask the ips which are facing prob to check if they are blocked, but its not possible to give ips of users who visit as guests and others, we have noted reports on other sites that our site wasn't loading for them. We still were able to give few ips for check and found them not-blocked on the ip. The sites are able to be viewed for all from proxy sites such as stage6.info but we can't ask each viewer to go to proxy site to view if they are unable to load, it will become ridiculous and we might lose our entire traffic some day.

We had shifted our domains temporarily to other vps where we noted none of the users had a single complaint, we were there for more than a week, which ensured the problem was not the domains but the ips, again after returning to the virpus hosts, we had created 3 tickets to sales/billing dept. to issue fresh ip's, got 0 reply and mailed to mr.Ken using : kenneth.odem@virpusnetworks.net got no reply after 48hrs.

We have to agreee, Earlier,mr.Ken was so helpful he helped us when we didn't have any funds to issue, since we had an dispute with an item where our payment was delayed by paypal. So, we had paid them almost 10 days later than the due date where mr.Ken was so helpful and saw to it our VPS could stay online despite the payments not been released.

In thanks, we had directly mailed our check we got from an ad-agency, which again made around 5-10 days in the payment, which made our balance stand in the positive note, we have our balance in the account for the past 3 months so that there are no dues left.

But, in the past 1 -2 months the replies have been disappointing.

We planned to leave virpus and join other host, where we burnt our hands, we looked for other reputed VPS and had a few in mind after our staff suggested few good organizations(don't prefer to name them here as it would be mis-leading).

Since, virpus wasn't ready to refund the amount in the credits we decided to continue with virpus atleast as a sideby host. Later, some how our members suggested we used virpus as a main host, so we wanted fresh ip's to get rid of the damn problem we are having but we have recd. no response for the past 1 week.

Now, lately after the maintenance our VPS was down for approx. 26-27hrs on april 25th Saturday, where our traffic is usually on the weekends. We lost the compelete traffic and revenue. When we asked if it come under credits, we got response as : This was the result of scheduled maintenance we cannot, it would not qualify under our SLA. (just giving the main result statment off the entire reply recd. from sales). Its some thing we would like to regret but for sure this isn't some issue, which could make us think to get to a new host.

The reply from the sales dept. has made our staff making funny betting, as one would win if we get a reply and other would if its not replied with in 48hrs, lately the first one is winning () due to lack of communication.

This might be our last month. Our next due date major amount would be taken from the credits, so a very little amount would exist in the account. We will stay with them until our amount with them is spent.

We had enjoyed really good with the tech. dept but the sales dept has been really poor in the recent past. I am forced to say this as even after mailing we haven't got response where, mr.Ken stated if our tickets were lost or some thing, mail to him but either didn't work so far.

Once, earlier when we requested for change of ips we were said some $7 or some thing would be charged for the swap, when we made other enquiries about it we didn't get a response till date

My tickets which lay un-responded:
203497
509467
385781

509467 and 385781 are double-post of the ticket, but got reply for none of the above tickets. Was expecting a reply for 1 atleast.

I was ready to pay excess charge for the new ips as there some mistake from my end in failure to check the ips before getting them but I wanted some concession as the major mistake was from their end while dispatching ips. I am not refusing to pay but I wanted the concession, got no reply and the above tickets are a proof of them.

Our staff online time and their live chat time don't tally, so we can't make any contact to them on live as well.

I am not sure if this is mis-understanding or what, but it has been a mixed experience for me. For sure, their sales crew have to be increased that's some suggestion I would strongly do.

I can recommend this host to any one for the tech. support they provide but can't guarantee them for the sales dept. replies based on my past/recent experiences.

Totally my site down for around ~30hrs including all the maintanence and other reasons, it could be a bit less but I am rounding it off, for sure its more than 28hrs

My over all rating: 7.5/10
Tech. Dept - 10/10
Sales/Billing Dept - 5/10

my site submitted for review via report feature
I tried to give all my experience on virpus and I am not against any one for joining virpus nor have any fights with virpus team.

May be if we get response from sales we might still consider continuing with virpus but that stands low at the moment.

View 14 Replies View Related

Virpus Networks

May 8, 2008

My server has recently been attacked by members of the following website, using DDoS tools stolen form other script kiddies and rebranded (oh the irony). Having enough, I decided to go on a mission to get these brats shut down:

troyrulz007.com

The site is also filled with links to illegal downloads, porn, etc.

The first thing I did was report them to their webhost. I figured this was the best first step. I opened a ticket and reported what was on the site, and pointed out which parts of their AUP the site was violating. After a few days, I provided them contact information for someone at Rockstar Games, as this site was providing downloads for one of their most recently released titles. I also went ahead and contacted some of the publishers of the software being provided illegaly.

14 days later, the ticket is silently closed with no action taken. Site is still up and still providing illegal downloads of software that people spent a lot of time and money developing.

I know they are a VERY small fish in a large pond, but I had had enough of having my servers crippled (at least know I've learned how to defend against it) and decided I would strike back legally and without stooping to the script-kiddies level.

At this point, I'm convinced Virpus Networks (virpus.com) doesn't give a flying monkey turd about anything other than collecting their pathetic $10/mo.

Was I wrong in assuming they would do anything? Should I have just ignored it and moved on? If not...how do I find out who provides network service to Virpus. I'm sure THEY don't allow this sort of thing.

Maybe I was just being a cry-baby and should've left it alone. I don't know.

But hey...I guess if you want to host a site that breaks pretty much every rule in the book, you know where to go. Looking at their pricing however...yeah I'll not go there on that one.

Anyways...this is a part rant, part notification, part "am I being a whiny jerk" post. Sorry if it breaks any rules.

Thanks for listening. I'd give you that portion of your life back if I could but I've decided to keep it for myself.

View 2 Replies View Related

Anyone Have An IM Contact For Virpus Networks

Nov 22, 2008

Anyone have an IM contact for Virpus Networks?

I have Ken on icq but he is n/a.

View 11 Replies View Related

Virpus, Review (May 2008)

May 26, 2008

I ordered a 256MB RAM VPS with cPanel on the 24th of May.

I got the VPS up and running to next day.

I logged in to the VPS WHM, noticing the server load was at 3.xx and 4.xx

I was shocked, as this VPS was brand new, so I contacted Ken, NO REPLY.

I also asked him about upgrading my RAM, NO REPLY.

It has now been 3 days, I requested a refund before I got past the 14 Day money back promise. They didnt reply, so I opened a PayPal dispute, still no response.

Im hoping Ken will see this thread at act upon my wishes and grant me a refund.
As all I can see is him trying to ignore me untill the 14 day promise is gone. WHAT A CON!

Get back to me Ken.

Good Bye,

Virpus =

View 14 Replies View Related

Virpus Review (my Final Review)

Apr 26, 2009

I've been very happy with Virpus since I joined. There was 1 issue that has plagued me since the beginning and that was that I was not receiving e-mails on my ISP e-mail, my main e-mail. Not to big of an issue except that I didn't get any news updates or know when my tickets were replied to, or even when I was past due on my bill. 3 tickets later and their solution was for me to use another e-mail address, which was kind of a pain for me since each of my e-mail addresses has a specific reason which only specific e-mail get sent there for organizational reasons.

First off I have to say the VPS I was using was top notch. It easily outperformed my LiquidWeb VPSs and quickly became my primary VPS instead of my backup like was intended. I took advantage of one of their specials a while back which was a 512MB RAM cPanel VPS for $19.50/month which is a steal since the cPanel license alone is $15/month!

So now to why this is probably my final review of this company. Communication is lacking greatly. It was good at first, but now it's non-existant.

Over the weekend all my sites went down and I had no idea why... because I never got the e-mail saying they were moving data centers (if it weren't for a small thread on WHT I would never have known). I also did not receive any updates on extending their ETA so yet again I had nothing to tell my clients. The only good thing was that I run a free hosting company (Host2x.com for reference) and I offer no uptime guarantee since it's a non-paid service.

Ok, so the sites are back online and everything is working nicely... well I recently hit the 70% mark on my disk space usage so time to start looking for an upgrade. I created a ticket on April 23rd asking if they would allow me to upgrade my plan to their biggest VPS plan and to my surprise I never got a reply. I would think that a billing ticket asking to upgrade to a plan that costs more without the transfer of the discount I'm receiving would be a welcome ticket for them to reply to, but I was incorrect in thinking this. So I ended up purchasing a dedicated server last night because I cannot wait to see if they will assist me with upgrading my account or not.

View 13 Replies View Related

Virpus Review - Excellent - 2+ Months

Nov 26, 2008

Virpus review - Excellent

Its my great Privilege to give them a excellent rating.

I ordered vps almost 2 and half months back after we had a poor run at WOC (not even for a month at them).

We had recd. so far fabulous support from their crew. The usual ticket reply time is awesome for an semi-managed vps.

Any reply with in 30mins and if provided proper information required as well they would do give the update and time note.

We didn't have any down time on our vps so far. The free back up facility for an semi-managed vps is really awesome. I was searching for a similar feature with lots of hosts but was unlucky. Just then came virpus to solve my every need.

Its just for a namesake they are semi-managed, I get support as if I get a complete managed support.

Till now no ticket on mine has been either ignored or nor delayed in response.
The speed is great and better than our previous hosts

My final word is Virpus Rocks - www.virpus.com

As far as my experience in concerned I will look forward to this company for a very long relationship with them and try to get my friends tied up at this excellent host.

Its been really my pleasure to give this review on virpus. Once again thanks Virpus team for making my life so easy and simple online.

This review is completely based on our experience and not any hand written material I give them 10/10 from my heart.

View 8 Replies View Related

Limestone Networks Review

Oct 8, 2009

Well it's been one month since I purchased my dedicated server from Limestone Networks, and i'd like to post my experiences with them, so here it goes.

About a month ago I stumbled upon Limestone networks, read a few reviews, and thought i'd go for it. The the next thing I did was start a live chat, a friendly chap by the name of Felipe responds. I have a nice long chat with Felipe, what a delight it was! Not only did he answer all of my questions promptly, but he certainly knew what he was talking about. Unlike my previous experiences with other companies.

After a nice long chat with Felipe, I was ready to get my server. So I went straight ahead and ordered.

Specifications:
Dual CPU Quad Core XEON 5504 (2.0ghz)
8GB DDR2 ECC registered RAM
2x500GB HDD in RAID1 (WD RE3, AWESOME HDD'S!)
4TB bandwith
100mbps up/down speeds
IPKVM included
All up cost me around $280 + ~$30 setup fee

Within about 2 hours I receive an email stating that there were some minor problems during setup because of the RAID configuration, and they will fix it as soon as possible. I must admit, it got me slightly worried, but a few minutes later, I receive another email saying that it's all setup and done! Boy was I excited!

I Instantly SSH'd into my server to check on things, all good. I install the XEN kernel and reboot to make sure it's working all fine, boots without any errors. So far so good.

A few days later I realised I was running out of IP Addresses, so I open a support ticket to ask for more, the invoice is created, I pay it then respond saying that I have done so. 6 minutes later they respond saying that it is being set up, and another 3 minutes later they respond with the IP addresses, sweet.

Later on I opened another support ticket asking a question referring to upgrades. Out of pure boredom I clicked the send receive button on my email, and sure enough, I already had a response! all within about 2 minutes after sending it.

Limestone's service has been great, I love their support and prompt response to tickets! One minor problem is that their accounting department isn't available during all hours, no biggie though. Their technical support department is open 24/7.

One great bonus with Limestone is that they keep you informed every step of the way, rather than leaving it to the last minute to say "sorry about the wait".

When i'm ready for my next server, i'll definitely be going for Limestone.

View 14 Replies View Related

Limestone Networks Review

Apr 4, 2009

I ordered my server on March 6th, and asked for the server to be provisioned the 10th. I wanted to test some things out, and so I wanted the server earlier. I called up LSN and got to Carl. He was great and totally understood everything and provisioned our server in a matter of 1 hour 59 minutes!

Sadly, because I had told them we were going to need the server on the 10th, they thought they would have the RAM we needed. They compensated us by adding a better CPU(Q9400).

Then the RAM came in, I think 5 days later because of a shipping mistake where it didn't get on the truck I think(Not LSN's fault). The server went down, and they installed the RAM. The server wouldn't boot, so we had a few problems there. In the end it was just an oversight of the max amount of RAM that the MoBo could support. The downtime was a bit excessive in my opinion, and LSN compensated me.

I have had zero problems with them since that incident.

Right now, I am purchasing a 2nd server with LSN.

Support 9/10
Sales Staff 10/10
Accounting 10/10

View 14 Replies View Related

My Accurate Hub Networks Review

Oct 1, 2009

6 months ago I signed up for their services, moving away from 1&1 shared hosting. So I spoke with Andrew about getting a server for the things I do. We worked a deal, which is probably too good to be true.

Im running on one of their Dell 1425s. I have servers here at the work (designing agency), so I know my way with servers etc etc. The performance of their network and support 10/10 I had no problems and although unmanaged, I was always able to get help and support.

They look like a new emerging host, but I recommend to give them a try. I've just picked up another server with them ($15 for my first month is quite a steal imo)

View 4 Replies View Related

My Limestone Networks Review

Aug 31, 2009

After stumbling upon limestone networks amazing offers, I decided to take advantage of their cheapest special for it was more than what I needed. For 135 dollars a month, I got this special:

[url]

With an 100mbps uplink connection. With this dedicated server, I planned on running game servers, and so far it has far exceeded my expectations.

Let's begin with the set up time:
Before leaving my old host, I found out that the location was doing no good for me. Players were not able to query my game server in the game's server list, so I decided to switch hosts. After finding limestone networks, as listed above I went straight ahead and bought the server at 4:00 AM EST time. After two hours of waiting, my dedicated server was set up with HPET enabled like I asked. I was amazed at how limestone was able to set up the dedicated server so fast and at such an early time!

The support:
The support is absolutely hands down AMAZING. Every support ticket I have made was answered (not over exaggerating here) within 4 minutes.

The control panel:
The control panel limestone has to offer that comes free with your dedicated server is so simple to use. (I believe they call it rockware.) There is an option to manage each one of your purchased servers, an option to restart your server, add new ips, change your uplink speed from 10mbps - 1000mbps (depending on what you have), the ticketing system, and much more.

Now the only problem I have came across which isn't all that huge, was that after redirecting all the traffic from my previous game servers to my new game servers hosted with lime stone, I had a problem installing the game files off Steam via hldsupdatetool.exe for Team Fortress 2. The install just froze. So I decided to contact limestone support. They decided to give it a shot, and it seemed that it froze for them too. However they did not give up, they kept trying and trying keeping me updated. (let me also remind most of you that team fortress 2 is a 3.2gb game so it takes atleast 20 mins+ to install all the necessary game files.) Finally after 2 hours, it worked. I was happy. The point here is that the support is probably their best feature aside from their prices and amazing specials. They just never give up and work to their potential in helping every customer. I would recommend limestone to anyone who is willing to try a new host.

Although I have been with them for about a week, they have so far never ceased to amaze me with their support, and quality they have to offer. I will keep everyone here updated on what limestone has to offer me and how well or bad they have been doing at the end of the month when I have to pay my next invoice.

View 14 Replies View Related

LimeStone Networks Review

Mar 2, 2008

Hey all. Its been a month and I thought I better post a short review of my experiences with LimeStone Networks.

Before signing up for my server, I spoke to Logan who answered a few of my questions regarding the setup of the server and the running of some of the software I wanted to install on the server.

I eventually ordered, with Logan's help, there Obsidien 1 plan which was a Athlon 64 X2 5000+ CPU, 1GB of RAM and 1500GB of Bandwidth for $99 a month. I had also chosen to have Virtuozzo installed, which was licensed and online very quickly. The total time I had to wait for the server was about 3 hours. In that time, I received an email from Mike, which told me he had given me a complimentary upgrade to the Intel Core2Duo E4500 CPU for better performance with my VPS software. This thrilled me to no end.

After asking for help a few times, despite the fact they are an unmanaged host, Logan kindly helped me fix a few problems on the server.

About halfway through the month, I began to realize that Virtuozzo was not exactly what I wanted and I asked them if it was possible to get it changed to a cPanel server. I can't remember who I spoke to about this, but the change was done very quickly and was re-deployed with cPanel ready and going well.

Then, at the end of the month, I found that the RAM installed on the server was just not enough, I then upgraded the RAM with the help of Ryan. The RAM upgrade took about 30 minutes to go through, and I only suffered about 3 minutes of downtime.

All in all, my first months experience with LimeStone Networks has been fantastic! Which is probably why you have seen me recommending them on a few threads. There service is amazing, which compliments there very reliable and kind Customer Service team. I could not ask for anything better.

View 14 Replies View Related

Limestone Networks Review

Dec 23, 2008

well ordered a dedicated server from LSN about 4 days ago, and I still havent recieved the server so I thought I should make a review here for others to know.

4 days back I ordered their most expensive server and made a payment the same night, and I went through the verification process after about 24 hours. the same night that I uploaded the files needed to get my account verified I talked to ryan, and he said my account would be verified in max 2 hours but it ended up being 2 days! after taking 2 days to verify my account (yesterday) I talked to mike and he said my server will be ready in the next 2-5 hours, so i waited about 8 hours and I still didnt recieve any mail from them, so this time I talked to ryan and he said he is gona check and see why its taking so long, and after he checked he said my server should be ready in the next 4-5 hours, but now its been almost 10 hours since then and I havent recieved ANYTHING!

I understand if they were late by a day due to the fact that its christmas, but its been 4 days and all I hear from them is that my server is gona be ready in the next 4-5 hours!

generally their support crew is really friendly but they dont tell you the truth (atleast they havent told me the truth) and ticket responds take from 2 to 6 hours.

I would have given them a good rating if they were on time because they are friendly, their servers are good.

View 14 Replies View Related

Setup Review Of LimeStone Networks

May 29, 2009

After hitting my head with few of the dedi providers, i came across Lime Stone Networks. I went to their site, selected the server I wanted with addons etc. I initiated live chat for sales query and instantly all was finalized.

I paid the amount and after 4-5 hours the server was ready and details were in my email. This is the most speedy server setup i had seen. Their RockWare control panel is very flexible and easy to use. Most of the things which have/are not provided by other dedi providers are in their control panel for easy access.

Basic stuff like remote reboots, dns management etc. is free and already included with your server. Their support is also very good, I opened a few tickets with them all were answered within 1-2 mins. Its been more than 10 days with them now and my all data is moved to the new server and everything is running fine and stable.

The only thing is that their sales rep was unable to given a discount of 0.99 cents! My order totalled to $200.99 and I asked sales rep to reduce the 0.99 to make it rounded but he did'nt. I know they won't built a palace and neither will I but what the heck if he could ?! Just would have pleased me.

Anyways overall the experience is great and support is good. There were also some abuses on the server by some of my clients and they were able to find them asap and informed me and gave ample time to resolve the issues.

I suggest that if you're also looking for a dedi then be sure to visit their site. I will post more review on this after few months.

View 10 Replies View Related

Enotch Networks, 6 Week VPS Review

Mar 30, 2009

I signed up with Enotch Networks a day before I lost my VPS with a different host (I was scammed by Level3Hosting basically) I chose Enotch for Two main reasons, One reason was they had been in the hosting business for a number of years and the second reason was the VPS met my criteria and was a very good deal. After an initial minor issue which was sorted very quickly the service has been fantastic and NO downtime at all. I have had the odd issue myself with things which were not their fault and they happily helped me sort these things and support is always helpful and fast. They are the type of host that appreciate you as a customer and will be loyal to you if you are to them. I thought I would never find an ideal VPS host for my needs but it seems like I have and I am happy to recommend them to anyone at all. If the level of service I receive now continues then

I will certainly be a long term customer for sure.

I will post another review after some months to update on this.

View 10 Replies View Related

Limestone Networks 6 Months Review

May 18, 2009

Just wanted to update everyone on my 6 months with Limestone Networks.

It's been nothing but joy.

Network 10/10
Network is rock solid, I run a couple of game servers, I have no lag even for people coming from Australia and having their ping at about 250-300.
I also run a few websites (1 of them has about 3500-4000 unique visitors daily with roughly 20k page views), the site loads extremely fast. We've been down once (some network hiccup, which I didn't feel cause I was sleeping).

Support 10/10
I've had to use support a few times and it's been always a pleasure. These guys went backwards to help me every time. One time I had my debit card (which I use for PayPal) compromised so I ordered a new one from my bank and also changed my bank account. I could not pay them on time (I had to wait for 5 days for my new card to arrive), LSN did not suspend my account, they went backwards to help me and prolonged my due date 5 days forward, which they didn't have to do but still went to understand my situation.

Hardware 10/10
I have 2 servers with them both Q9300. Those monsters are simple awesome. I never had even a single glitch with any of them. My servers are running for 4.5 months now without a single reboot (I had to reboot them a couple of times at the beginning due to software installation).

Satisfaction 11/10
There is nothing else to add as you probably get my feelings about LSN already. These guys run a very tight ship. Sometimes I get on their live chat when I needed support and Ryan and Mike were always helpful to me, they sped things up in the support department.

Great company, knowledgeable people, friendly and professional support, great network. What else do you need from a provider.

View 14 Replies View Related

Pair Networks: 2+ Years Review

Jul 17, 2008

Iíve found pair Networks via this forum and have been its customer for more than 2 years now, which gave me quite a good insight in this company. So here some thoughts about pair Networks.

Some background

Pair operates its own Data Center with over 1.500 servers, hosting more than 190.000 sites. If you are concerned about the server saturation, these numbers are speaking for themselves pretty much. Among the customers are such high-profile sites as Barack Obama, The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, Dan Brown (Da Vinci Code), Tom's Hardware etc. Quite impressive and it actually says a lot about the hostís structural reliability.

Stability

Itís a truly business class host with an amazing stability. The server load is always nice below 1. During more than 2 years the site Iím hosting there was down for two times: once due to the massive ddos, and the second time due to the planned server maintenance.

Technical support

Iíve got phone and e-mail support on my plan (webmaster). The standard support response time is reasonably soon. The so called Ďurgentí support reacts literally immediately. The nice thing with Pair is that you actually donít need any support, because all services are up and running at all time.

Control Panel

Pair is using a custom CP. Itís transparent and as useful as a CP could be. I canít remember a situation when I was missing some feature in this panel.

Price

Pair is not cheap, but itís not overpriced either. From my point of view, they were able to find a really well balanced price for the level of services theyíre offering. If youíre a hobbyist using your site for fun (and therefore the stability and uptime is not really an issue), you can find tons of cheaper hosts. If youíre hosting any critical site, where the stability, speed and uptime do matter, youíd better pay a few bucks more: servers are not oversaturated and overloaded, no kids experimenting with 'custom' scripts, best hardware, best manpower etc. Iíd like not to be involved in over- and underselling discussion, Pair has earned its stripes based on this business model.

Speed

Download speed (from Belgium) is as good as it gets from any US-based industrial-grade site through our broadband line: approximately 400 KB/s. Downloads from Apple, Adobe etc. sites have exactly the same speed.

These all were PROíS, where are the CONíS?

In more than 2 years I havenít noticed any serious, structural shortcoming. And I donít like to make it up just for the sake of false objectivity. Pair Networks is by far the best host Iíve ever had.

Site for verifying purposes: [url]

View 14 Replies View Related

[Review] Sago Networks (2 Months)

Jun 6, 2008

I'll try to make a long story short. I was in the market recently for a low-cost dedicated server. My requirements were fairly low in terms of server specifications and bandwidth. I just wanted a reliable server on an extremely stable network. (The latter requirement is usually the hard part.) I had browsed Sago's website about a year ago and recalled that they had reasonable prices and what seemed to be tolerable peering. I was pleasantly surprised to find that Sago had a rather nice list of peers, and Cogent was not one of them! (Queue the fireworks and popping corks.)

After a couple of conversations with Shawn from Sago, I was sold. He went above and beyond to find a solution for my needs. The order went through quickly and I had a nice, shiny.......... I get distracted by shiny things... new FreeBSD server ready to go.

I had a couple of issues of my own making early on, and Sago's support helped me promptly and effectively.

Unfortunately, I'm unable to convey long-term reassurance for anyone considering Sago, since I have only been a Sago customer for about 2 months, but so far I'm very impressed with their service, and I look forward to posting another positive review later down the road.

View 6 Replies View Related

My Review Of Limestone Networks (completely Unsatisfied And Bitter)

Sep 1, 2008

I felt the extreme and desperate need to post my experience with Limestone Networks here with the rest of you. Please take time to review it as I find it a vital piece of information when making a decision. I normally don't post my problems here, but this time it's needed.

I have been a customer since 5/17/2008. I was able to get someone via Live Chat when I fist went to the website. I got an instant response on the phone. It all seemed great. The server was up and online within a few hours, I was pleased. The network seemed fine and I'm fairly low maintenance, so I didn't have many complaints.

After having the account for a while, we started getting blacklisted on spam lists. I would submit tickets to see if they could work to get us removed. Typically support tickets where answered fairly slowly - I'd see a response time of a day or two. I didn't complain as I can accept things fairly well.

Next, they released a new server that was almost identical to the one I already had.

They both had the same amount of memory, similar cpus (both quad core), the only difference was one 750 GB drive vs RAID-1 750 GB drives. The price for my system was $249/month, while the new server was priced at like $130/m (the WHT special they just ran). I asked about a price adjustment for my server. They wouldn't do it. So, I asked if we could keep our IP addresses if we moved to another server. They couldn't do that either.

I ordered the new server and moved my customers over to it. It came time to cancel the old server, so I submitted my request for cancellation. I know they automatically bill everything, so I removed my credit cards that were on file to avoid this. I was then told I needed to give a 5 day cancellation notice as per my ToS when I signed up. Unfortunately, I didn't read the ToS close enough - my fault. Somehow they ended up removing the server and I guess they just waived the 5 day notice. I never really got any response on that (or bill for it either).

As of yesterday, I've had the new server for one month. I signed up for it on 7/30, so that'd make my next billing date 8/30. I did forget to add my credit cards back on so it could be auto charged again - my fault. However, less than 24 hours after my due date, I find my server is offline. I submitted a ticket which I will paste below. Bottom line, because I was late (not even by one day), they shut off and reformatted my server. Here's my support ticket:

---------------------------------------------------------

My server LSN-D1595 is offline due to non payment. I need it back online asap! I will add a payment option to the billing system which you can charge. Just get the server back online please. ***-***-**** if you need to reach me.

Ryan G. - Support Technician - Limestone Networks Employee
Posted: 08/31/2008 10:52 AM CDT
Hi Breck, Unfortunately your servers have been canceled for non-payment. If you wish to purchase new servers with us you can still go ahead and do so, however I am not able to return your original servers to you.

Breck B.
Posted: 08/31/2008 11:11 AM CDT
Ryan, this is completely unacceptable. I am not going to tolerate this! That server has valuble data on it that can't be recovered! I don't care what your policy is, I need that server back online immediately! If you can't make this right, I will be posting my experience on WHT. Bill me hourly if you need to. Just get it online.

Bryan P. - Support Technician - Limestone Networks Employee
Posted: 08/31/2008 01:19 PM CDT
I'm sorry, but server LSN-D1595 has already been reformatted.

Bryan P. - Support Technician - Limestone Networks Employee
Posted: 08/31/2008 02:17 PM CDT

Closed Ticket

---------------------------------------------------------

So, there we have it. My server has been reformatted because I'm a day late. I've never seen anything like this in my entire life. Money wasn't a problem - I was away and just wanted to have a good Labor Day weekend. Also, I NEVER received an invoice via email, snail mail, nor a phone call. I got no notice at all. Along with that, according to their ToS, my data should be available within 15 days of my non payment (whether or not the server is).

I do plan on taking this to court- I have several people who also had access to the server who are interested in a lawsuit.

If slow responses, being blacklisted on spam databases, and being reformatted if you are under 24 hours late is okay with you - I'd really recommend Limesone Networks! They give you a great feeling like nobody cares about you. I'm not sure why a company would invest so much money in advertising, if they really aren't serious about keeping the customers that they get. This has been the worst day of my life. I hope all of you can get something from this and learn to stay away from companies like Limestone. I definately have learned my lesson the hard way.

View 14 Replies View Related

Wiredtree Month By Month Review

Jan 28, 2009

I've signed up with Wiredtree for a Managed VPS 12 days ago.

I know it's not enough time to write a review. But I decided to write my first impression then keep you updated by writing a new review at the end of each month, so expect one at 12 February.

For now, these guys are simply the best I've tried.

They reply you in 15 minutes or less and if it took them more, 20 minutes or something, then be sure that they're investigating your problem. If you can't wait for 15 minutes, then go ahead and give them a call on their toll-free number and they'll be with you second by second. Their support wont just solve your problem, but they'll educate you telling you what caused the problem and how did they fix it.

I'm solicitous about security. But with these guys, I finally sleep peacefully knowing that my VPS is well secured.

View 14 Replies View Related

Limestonenetworks Review [8 Month Review]

May 5, 2009

I joined Limestonenetworks back in 2008 when it was a small company. At the time they offered the best price on the server I was looking for, so I took the plunge. The first 2 months were great, I enjoyed the stable network, and responses from the support team were fairly quick (1-2 hours response time). From there on it was all downhill, my servers were constantly down, and the support team took longer to answer my tickets. I didn't think this was a big problem, so I stayed with Limestonenetworks even though it was having problems with their network. Near December an incident occurred that really pushed me over the edge. My servers had been down for hours, so I opened a support ticket, and one of the agents replied and told me that the downtime was due to an upgrade in their network.

Again, I came to conclude that it could be far worst, so I stayed, one of the reasons was that I didn't want to switch my game servers over. It's important to keep in mind when you are running game servers, IPs play an important part because that's where you get your traffic. Near January the network upgrade at Limestonenetworks was still taking place which caused my bandwidth meter to stop working. This really scared me because I didn't want to get charged for overages due to the fact that my servers were receiving DDOS attacks, and I wouldn't know when to close the ports.

This incident actually turned out to be positive for me because even though I went over my bandwidth quota they didn't charge me for overages. I was very happy because this was like a late Christmas present, so now I was even more happy to give my money to Limestonenetworks. Now you might ask the question, how is this going downhill? Even though they didn't charge me for the overages, I still lost many clients who were angry at the fact that their game server were down.

In the end this network upgrade actually cost me 3 clients who were paying ~$60 per month. I let this slide because at this point I already had two servers with Limestonenetworks and I really didn't want to switch over due to the fact I would lose my IPs. The next month, February, was no different, I had more issues with Limestonenetworks. Starting of this month I was getting large DDOS attacks, which kept pushing my bandwidth over the quota, and I ended up paying close to $200 dollars just for bandwidth overages.

At this point they started to nickel and dime me for every single penny they could get of me. I don't know if they were having financial problems, or if it was due to another reason. Again in March I went over the quota, but at this time they told me that I had to pay per gigabyte which would result in a $500+ charge in bandwidth, and after talking with multiple agents, I was finally able to reach an agreement. They had changed a policy all of the sudden due to the fact that they knew I was a good customer and would keep paying for the overages.

The problem I had here was that I didn't mind upgrading to plan after I knew how much bandwidth was going to be used, since they don't offer any sort of DDOS protection, and game servers result in large DDOS attacks occasionally. I understand that Limestonenetworks was not at fault, but by making me pay per gigabyte was a bit harsh, since I had never been late on a payment, and had multiple servers. Try to remember that I stayed with this company even though I lost multiple clients because of their network outages, but they didn't care about this, all the care about is nickling and diming customers.

From that point on I have been living on the edge because I don't want to pay for an upgrade before hand due to the fact I don't know how much bandwidth my server will be using. Even if I upgrade to a different package it does not offer an insurance due to the fact that if I receieve a large DDOS than I orignally predicted, I would still end up paying per gigabyte.

This company has turned from having potential to just making their customers run away. Now the other problems I had with Limestonenetwork is the support they offer, which has been declining since I joined. The associates are very rude and don't really care about the customer's experience. I didn't include every problem I had with Limestonenetwork because it would make it a very long read.

Network - 10/10
Downtime - 5/10
Customer Service - 2/10
Overall Experience - 4/10
Would I recommend this company? NO, I urge everyone to stay away, unless they like to deal with problems on a daily basis.

Also from reading other topics on this forum, I personally believe that Limestonenetwork is overselling and their network can not handle the load.

View 11 Replies View Related

VT6 | 1 Month Review

Jul 31, 2007

This is my 1 month review on the company vt6 (vt6.co.uk). There is no doubt about it, they have the fastest reply times and most helpfull support. I started out on the basic plan and have just paid for the next one, i was upgraded allmost instantly but as i found it was no benfit to me i asked to downgrade and was again instantly downgraded and my money refunded.

As for the quality of the VPS, it is perfect. they dont cramm VPS's onto one server so each VPS runs smooth without any problems. Iv also had no downtime at all. Iv been with a few VPS's before this and none come close to pure quality and fantastic support that vt6 provide.

That is all for my one month review on this perfect company that i would deffinitly recommend to anyone seeking low cost quality VPS's (Or hosting that i assume will be exatcly the same)

View 8 Replies View Related

Lunarpages More Than 1 Month Review

Jan 4, 2009

The speed seem good because all my sites still under development.

The support is poor because I send ticket to cancel hosting and get money back and they did not process the ticket.

The Cpanel version is very old and I lost some new features of cpanel.

Now the cpanel does not have button to change password . I unable to change my password now.
6/10 for lunarpages.

View 4 Replies View Related

One Month Liquidweb Review

Oct 15, 2007

For those who care to read on:

I came to use Liquidweb thorugh a string of random REALLY bad luck. From "Managed" VPS that ended up not getting patched and fried due to a security exploit (PowerVPS) to a RAID failure, during a backup, causing total data loss and backup loss (RockMyWeb's VDNet). I was ready to pull my hair out. So I decided to kick out the bucks for a Liquid Web VPS Plan 2 (with a great price from a special found here). All I can say is it was a night and day difference.

The server is fast. Remote access to this VPS is a fast as my dedicated server in the office. I thought moving to cPanel was going to slow things down but this thing flies! Wow!

The service is fast. I call support and a person picks up the phone. No e-mail. No long hold times. I call, someone answers, no need to transfer to a higher tech, it's just fixed. Wow!

The one downfall. And it's only a downfall if it's not what you want. cPanel only. I'm a big DirectAdmin fan, but I'm learning my way around cPanel again.


Until I'm ready to do dedicated (I'm guessing it's coming in 2k8) this thing is awesome!


Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

1x Web Hosting Talk for hooking me up with Liquidweb.

1x Web Hosting Talk Community for reviewing Liquidweb.

1x Liquidweb for the awesome service!

1x VDNet. It may sound strange but they did answer e-mails faster than anyone I had ever seen (multiple replies in under two mins). They had a great price, but bad luck drove me to change. I'm glad I did, but I wouldn't have a hard time recommending VDNet now that they fixed the problem that caused the loss of my server. (and they did give me a month free) They really did give good value for the price, and offer DirectAdmin which Liquidweb doesn't.

Anyone else care to share?

P.S.

I'm not a fan of emoticons, but I did it out of love for you guys. Feel free to hammer the server a bit and tell me how fast the pages load. They're pretty quick here in Costa Rica:
CR Solutions Group Costa Rica Web Design.

View 11 Replies View Related

Steadcom 4-5 Month Review

Apr 24, 2008

I've been with Steadcom for a few months now, and I greatly their services. Such great deals have been offered to me. Each time I talk with the staff, I seem to want to use their services longer. I'm currently working with my own free hosting company and I entrust my uptime and reliability to Steadcom. I've had no problems with either of those aspects and it seems like their network is as fast as Google. If you find a better deal than this, it would be a miracle. I am working on obtaining up to six months with them for my next payment. I would fully recommend Steadcom and their services. I give it all of my reputation and respect as a business owner to acknowledge such outstanding services.

View 1 Replies View Related

Softlayer Review - 1 Month

Apr 26, 2009

I have been with SoftLayer a month now, and this is my review of their company. I will start with my pre-sales experience, going into hardware, their network, server, portal, accounting/sales, and support .

[[[[[[[ PRE SALES ]]]]]]]

I started out looking for a new server by looking at some good dedicated hosts. I saw SoftLayer offered the new Nehalem series, so I went for it. Their sales team is excellent beyond all reasons -- the staff are personal and do NOT try to take your money; instead, they find the best-fit solution for you and work with you by calling you, showing you their specials, and talking to managers.

[[[[[[ HARDWARE ]]]]]]]

The Hardware at SL is top-notch. There's no problem with it, it's clearly stated in the portal what type of motherboard, HDs, RAM, etc are in the server and it's top-notch Supermicro hardware. I've never seen a problem with it, and I have seen the certificate of passing benchmarks as that is done on all SL servers by default.

Their provisioning system is excellent, I got my server in 2-3 hours at MAX. WOW! It is all inside the portal too; you can view the status (PE_BOOT, OS_RELOAD); it's clearly there and excellent. We finally got VIRTUOZZO (thanks natecarlson ) working with it too.

[[[[ SERVER ]]]]]

What can I say? This is the new Nehalem series. I think the deal I got was quite good, I brought several SL servers before I switched to this one, and it did take a while to get it down to this price (especially for SL quality, damn!) :

-Intel Dual Quad Core (2x) X5570 Nehalem 2.93GHZ w/ HT
-12 x 300GB SAS 15K Seagate Cheetah HD's in RAID 10
-12GB DDR3 RAM (to start)
-4000GB Monthly Bandwith
-1GigE Port Speed
-64 IP Addresses
-Monitoring & Automated Reboot
$1,100 a month -- which I think is good for this type of server.

It's blazing fast and 0 problems.

[[[[ NETWORK ]]]]

I started in their Dallas, TX datacenter with a Dual 5450, but decided to get a 2U server with SAS HD's. Sadly, they said they were out of stock in Dallas. They said they can get me an EXTRA DISCOUNT if I went to Washington DC. I live an hour or two from DC, so it was good for me. I debated, and talked to them, they said it was a great place and I went with their Washington D.C datacenter .

It's fast. Blazing fast. They have like 100GBPS connectivity -- with many backbone providers. I've never seen so many . I'm liking the nework speeds and it really is nice.

[[[[ PORTAL ]]]]

The best part. They have their 'manage.softlayer.com' and their mobile 'manage.softlayer.mobi' portals. They are excellent. I don't even need support, and when I do, it's there. I mean, I'm STILL exploring their portal system. It has so much stuff; "Instant cPanel Licenseing, Instant Firewall, Upgrades, IP's, OS reloads, Installs, Backups" -- I love it. It makes my life a lot easier and quiker. I've had a server with ThePlanet, HiVelocity, and more and SL portal blows them all away

[[[ SUPPORT ]]]

The support is great. In the times I need it, it's there. Within 15 minutes I get a response and usually in under an hour, a resolution. It's excellent in what they provide at an unmanaged rate, and the $3 tickets are great in my opinion for those quick issues that you just can't figure out. They even helped me with a bit of PHP help!

[[[ ACCOUNTING AND SALES ]]]

It's there any time I needed it. I got servers upgraded, downgraded, reclaimed, removed, created, OS reloaded, invoices adjusted, and it's there. They respond within 1 hour usually and it's great for a sales team. Personally it's awesome how they have excellent teams for support and sales! The reps are VERY nice and friendly too, and they offer some nice discounts .

[[[ OVERALL ]]]

I give SoftLayer a 10/10+. They are everything I expect from a provider (heck, they are better than most managed providers I've been with) and more. I urge you to try them out, they will try to fit your budget as good as you can do it.

View 10 Replies View Related

SoftLayer 3 Month Review

Mar 15, 2008

I'd first like to follow up with my end at GNAX. I ended up going down to them on the 31st to pick up my colo server and get my refund. All went generally well, except for the "I'll be back in 5 mins" that took more than 30 mins for some sales/billing guy to get me my stuff. Signed some papers, and my money was refunded in full. In the end, a happy ending with GNAX.

Now, while all that was ongoing, I moved over to a dedicated server at Softlayer quick as I could because I knew with 100% certainty that Jeff would have my service terminated when I posted the chat log of him threatening me - a controversial decision I still stand by for what it's worth.

First, lets talk about sales with Softlayer. My God - I have never seen anything like this. With GNAX, sales would consist of me sending a ticket and waiting days, or it getting closed randomly, then having to wait more and more. A 48-hour max setup time with GNAX ended up being 5+ days and still no setup. Softlayer. I was doing Live Chat with an agent who was extremely helpful. Too move the process along quicker, I asked if I could call and speak with him, and sure enough, he game me a toll free number and I spoke with him through the entire ordering process. Not only was he extremely knowlegeable and helpful, but he also pointed me to a special I was unaware of where I got double the RAM and a second hard drive for free. I ended up ordering a dual core Xeon setup, but I actually got setup with a quad Core Xeon X3220. No mistake they said, they were just out of what I ordered so they gave me a quad core for the price of a dual core. And all of this happened in less than 4 hours. Yep, that's right. I went from on the phone with sales to having my brand new quad core for the price of a dual core with twice the RAM and HDD for free in under four hours. I was actually shocked. After being with GNAX so long, I had no idea that anything even under a 24 hour wait was possible (which it wasn't with GNAX btw), and they didn't hold my order because of being short on inventory like GNAX did - they just gave me a free upgrade with no delay!

With GNAX, I have never been able to be in such control of my server as I am now with Softlayer. With GNAX, lets say, I wanted to change or add reverse DNS for an IP, I would have to send a ticket and wait hours and hours and hours for them to do it. With Softlayer, I login to the portal, and click click type, click and it's done and live. All by myself! Their portal is the most powerful thing I have ever seen and it allows me to do and see everything.

Their support, I'm convinced, is second to none. I once had three days of downtime with GNAX because of a hardware problem (their hardware) they just couldn't fix. The motherboard has gone bad and I had to wait three days for them to find another identical motherboard to replace mine with. Apparently, they don't like to keep hardware on hand in case of emergency. In the mean time, I was faced with a lot of pissed off people who couldn't access the server for three days while all GNAX did was "we're looking, we're trying". Three days downtime is unacceptable, GNAX's support is just horrible. Phone support is essentially non-existent. When, on occasion, people pick up the phone, I'm simply told to submit a ticket and they'll get to it - when it's convenient for them. Support with Softlayer is drastically different, I can call support and pick their brains on technical problems for as long as I need. Recently, something went wrong when I was moving IP addresses around with my servers, and I was able to submit a ticket, call them, and they resolved it while on the phone with me. Some other small issues cropped up, and I replied to the ticket as it was non-urgent, and they had it fixed it about 20 mins. THAT people, is how support. Again, after being with GNAX for so long and having to wait hours, and sometimes days for support, having things fixed on the phone with me or via ticket in under 15 mins really caught me off guard.

Sales - part two.

Incredibly impressed with the sales and support I have seen so far, I recently ordered a second server. Again, I did this over the phone and was given an amazing deal - one not even on their site! In the end, it'll save me about $60/month on my second server. Pretty decent I say.

Other stuff.

They have a forum! That's not what's cool in itself, but it's cool that its integrated into my portal account. Now, GNAX has a forum too, but you first have to email GNAX and ask for their blessing to sign up there.

Another nifty thing about Softlayer is their developer API. Their API enables tons of cool things, like I can see my uptime and bandwidth usage from within WHMCS. With GNAX, I would have to go find which one of my logins for their seemingly hundreds of disintegrated services. Having everything being in one place and under one login with Softlayer.

Basically, if you need a dedicated server provider, choose Softlayer. Leaving GNAX (well, being forced out) and moving to Softlayer is the best thing that has ever happened to me an my company.

View 8 Replies View Related

Softlayer Two Month Review

Oct 9, 2009

Alright, Ive been with them for a little over two months and I have been with them before. Their support is excellent, their servers' are excellent, their network is excellent, their portal is excellent, and not having to deal with Cogent directly is a joy.

I first singed on with them 11/9/08 till 12/29/08 everything went well I closed my account simply because I didn't need the server again.

My current server with them as of this post is $199.00/mth and I get the following

CPU : Xenon X3230 Quad Core @ 2.66 Ghz
Ram : 4GB
OS : Server Standard 2008 64 bit
1000 mbps 2 TB of bandwidth
Washington, DC Data Center
2x 250GB SATA II
174.37.243.170

Having a server with them has been nothing short of amazing zero downtime caused by them and most anything a managed host will do they will do for you free. I was having issues with routes and simply asked them and within ten minutes they had changed it according to what I would prefer. I have had a DoS attack before that was pushing 800 mbps of traffic and they sent me an email and I opened a ticket and they blocked the attackers' addresses at my switch. Very quickly and not much damage was done. Overall I'm very pleased and I would recommend them to anyone.

View 6 Replies View Related

Downtownhost 3+ Month Review

Aug 22, 2008

I wrote an initial setup experience review of downtown host including support w/ transferring my sites a few months ago. Now I am going to extend the review with reliability, speed and performance.

So far, the support and helpfulness has been the same. Rarely does support wait longer than 10 min to respond to questions. They are always responded with a great attitude.

Reliability of all my sites has been 100%. I have seen no downtime at all since I got my account. Truly fabulous. The only time a site has gone down was not their fault...it was my fault...for messing up the database they restored it within minutes after I sent a high priority technical support ticket too.

Speed and performance go hand in hand. Sites are quick and responsive. Just as responsive as a content management system on any dedicated in my opinion. Download speeds are always the same. Never does the download or upload speed fluctuate by more than 10 kbps up or down from the average (totally unlike dreamhost where it would fluctuate as much as 400-500 kbps depending on the day).

All scripts I have used have responded very quickly without any problems that I would encounter with dreamhost (like cut off scripts due to time it took the servers to run through them).

View 5 Replies View Related







Copyrights 2005-15 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved