My Review

Jul 15, 2008

I have been with Hawkhost for around a year now and they are by far the best web host that I have ever had. There support is by far the best that I have ever talk with. They go the extra step, I have used the there live support over 20 times with questions and comments. Every time they answer quickly and if they did not know the answer they would do there research. They even knowingly helped troubleshoot one of my gaming servers that is hosted on another provider. If there live support is off line, I send them a email and it usually gets back to me in less then 10 mins.

View 14 Replies



Dec 1, 2008

I just signed on with on a three-month trial basis, with their Basic shared hosting account. I'm so impressed so far that I think they deserve a review. Obviously I only just joined today, but I've had enough interaction to write a very preliminary review, which I'll update in the future (probably around the three-month mark, and perhaps thereafter if anything changes).

First off, Tony Baird, CEO of HH, answered my pre-sale questions promptly before I pulled the trigger. I was impressed with the HH site itself, which has the nice touch of actually listing each individual server they own--its specs and what purpose it serves in their company (hosting, VPS, etc). This, in combination with the other good reviews I read online, led me to believe I'd have a good experience here. (the only thing I didn't like about their site is that it's a bit obscure to navigate--for instance, it took me a little bit of time to poke around enough to find their AUP and TOS, but that's just because of the way their HTML menu is designed--once I found it, I realized it was easily accessible all along, I just hadn't poked around in the right place).

So I signed up. Amazingly inexpensive, if I'm not mistaken--the three month trial, with a coupon listed on their site, was a little over $9 USD (!). I won't go into detail about what that gives you, for fear of sounding like an ad--you can go look it all up on their website. Suffice to say it buys you quite a bit if your needs are relatively modest like mine.

A nice plus when signing up--you get the choice of picking where you want your server account to reside, Dallas or Washington, D.C. I'm not sure if other hosts do this--perhaps this is more common than I'm aware of, but it was a nice surprise for me. In any case it doesn't matter a whole lot since both locations, from what I read on their company forum as posted by their users, seem equally fast.

Setup went smoothly, payment and DNS redirection went smoothly as well. Within two hours everything was set and I was up and running. I checked my website ( and it seems fast enough for me. Unlike my last provider, they are running the latest version of cPanel.

I was able to restore my cPanel backup from my previous provider with no problem. However there did seem to be a glitch when trying to restore my email forwarding and filters. I think this wasn't due to HawkHost--almost certainly this had to do with the cPanel version discrepancy, or perhaps the initial backup at my other provider went awry and I wasn't aware of it. In any case, it was an exceedingly minor problem, but it led to my next nice surprise--the level of support.

I submitted a ticket, and almost IMMEDIATELY, Cody (their tech officer) responded with an offer of help. I couldn't believe it. With my old provider, it'd take me sometimes over a day to get a response to an email (and there was no ticket-opening system with them either). Cody was helpful, patient, and is obviously on the ball.

I have a feeling HH is one of those "Goldilocks" hosts....not so big that they're ginormous behemoths with overcrowded servers, and not so small that you feel like they're running a hosting company of their laptop. They seem just about the right size.

By the way, forgot--another nice touch is their level of communication with users. They use their forum (which I already mentioned) to communicate outages and maintenance and such, with notifications saying when things are going down, how long they're anticipated to be down, and then notifications when they actually go down and come back up. Cody and Tony also both seem to be highly active in that forum in terms of responding to user questions. This level of communication is incredibly refreshing to see.

So there you have it--initial impressions overwhelmingly positive. I'd score a 9.5 out of 10. I'm hoping the rest of my stay is as pleasant as Day One.

View 9 Replies View Related

HawkHost Review...

Apr 3, 2008

I've been with HawkHost for about 2 months now, and have not had a single issue to speak of. Extremely knowledgeable support staff, very friendly and personable in answering questions, and they certainly don't make you feel 'stupid' for asking about whatever issues you're having.

They give ample warning for maintenance, and I've had no downtime outside of specified maintenance windows.

Very competitive on price and services offered as well. Though I've only purchased their basic package, it looks like they can cater to all needs

Anyone looking for a good, reliable host, give Tony and the guys at HawkHost a shout.

View 5 Replies View Related VPS Review After 4 Months

Oct 26, 2009

This is only a small review of me for I had used their Standard VPS for 4 months.

I ordered a vps and got my vps after a hour. Good for me.

First ticket, i asked them for setup lxadmin/kloxo for me and they did it in next two hours. Good for me.

Second ticket, i asked them for setup some php modules for me. They didn't do it for me, but they teach me how to setup it, and everything done. Not bad for me.

This month i had some attack in my site, and i asked them to buy some traffic, and i paid $24 for 200GB ( i think their BW is not cheap ), but addition 200GB is not enough for me, this time are days end of invoice, i asked them to give me 20GB BW free, and they accept. Good for me.

Downtime : I don't get any downtime in 4 month. Excellent

At this time, i've request them for refund because i'm no longer use my vps. I ask them today and my current invoice will expire tomorrow. They accept and they give me refund $18 to my paypal account. Good for me.

And this is my score:

- Service : 10/10

- Support : 9/10

- Price : 8/10

View 4 Replies View Related

Small Business Site With Hawkhost - 6 Month Review

Sep 17, 2008

I've just passed the 6 month mark with Hawkhost this week. I signed up with a coupon that was floating around that made the deal hard to pass up.

I have a small business shopping cart based site that receives an average of 70 visitors/day which uses 40MB bandwidth/day or roughly 1GB/month. I'm on the standard package which currently gives me 3GB/month storage and 30GB/month bandwidth. It's not a large site by any means, but I need it to be up 24/7. I also have 4 domain add-ons, but they get very little traffic. FYI, I have my domains registered with godaddy.

The first week I opened a ticket requesting that ssh be enabled. My ticket was updated with a "we're on it" response after one minute, which appeared to be from an actual human, followed by a resolution 2 minutes after the ticket was opened.

Later the same day I submitted another ticket regarding setting up email in a particular email client - that was responded to and resolved in 5 minutes.

A month later I had an email bounce issue that I needed some help investigating. Two hours later it was responded to and resolved.

Since then I haven't had to contact support. I have a monitoring alert system to notify me of any downtime. It's alerted me one time in six months and by the time I sat down at the computer to check, my site was back up. With my previous host, it happened on what seemed like a bi-weekly basis.

I just referred somebody to sign up with hawkhost today - something I'd be worried about in the past with other hosts.

I have no complaints to speak of and it's tough to beat the price/reliability ratio. Keep up the good work!

View 7 Replies View Related

Is Hawkhost Down

Jan 6, 2009

if hawkhost is down, or if I am the only person having problems ?

View 13 Replies View Related


Jun 16, 2009

ive been researching much on hosts lately, found that they are probably the cheapest host around for litespeed. share your experiences with them, and let me know if they are good.

View 14 Replies View Related

HawkHost Feedback

Jan 5, 2009

Interested in getting the Basic plan that HawkHost offer.

Has anybody had any experience with them, and if they are a reputable host?

Their domains seem a little expensive though, might be better off registering one with name . com or somebody.

Am after a host for a personal low-traffic website and small file hosting, possibly to hotlink to forums.

View 7 Replies View Related

Knownhost Vs HawkHost

Feb 7, 2009

Can anyone suggest which VPS provider to choose for between the two?

HawkHost's 40% off is really cool and offers lot more than knownhost. However, I really do not want it to be a decision factor and need a quality VPS with least problems and downtime.

View 3 Replies View Related

Hawkhost = Great Host

Sep 28, 2009

I've been hosted on Hawkhost since last year (exactly as it will be expiring on October) and they have been great. I don't regularly check my own website but everytime I do, it's up and running. They were so good I never even had to contact them (only in the beginning because of site transfer). I even forgot what I was hosted on because the whole year just went by so smoothly.

View 14 Replies View Related

Downtownhost, Hostgator Or Hawkhost?

May 8, 2009

I have a website hosted at bluehost.. I've just got a new website that I would like to host ielsewhere.

I hadn't had major problems at bluehost only that I have a coppermine gallery there and occasionally my site goes down due to CPU usage, although I removed all the fancy stuff that uses resources like random images, votes, comments, etc..

anyway, I don't think it would be a good idea to have another website with another coppermine gallery under the same account so I was looking at Downtown Host, Hostgator and Hawkhost... or any other recommended host to move my second website, I will leave the first one at bluehost

What I'm looking for is great customer support, no more than $10 a month, can handle coppermine better than bluehost, I dont need more than 200 gig of bandwith and I don't need more than 2 gb of space

View 14 Replies View Related

Home Directory Naming HawkHost

Jun 16, 2009

As some of you may have noticed I have just signed up with Hawk Host. I had a question about the way the name your home directory. Lets say my full name is Chad Hawk. They have named my home directory /home/chadhaw . Is it normal for them to leave out the last letter of my last name or is that a typo. Or for that matter does it matter at all.

View 9 Replies View Related

Have Hawkhost, Who Should Host DNS- Using Google Apps

Nov 9, 2008

I currently got signed up with Hawkhost and I love the interface so far. I bought all my domain names through Name Cheap. I wanted to see what you guys thought would be the best set up...

I would like to use Google Apps to host my email and not hawkhost.

I have two options: I can have hawkhost host my DNS or NameCheap. Do you guys think it would be better to let Namecheap host my DNS and just point the www record to my website?

Just curious what your guys were on letting the webhost host the DNS and if there were any cons with that.

I'm sure hawkhost is reliable, but I just don't like putting all my eggs in one basket and would prefer to have Google host my email...

View 10 Replies View Related

Sharkspace, Nixism, Hawkhost & Digitallyjustified?

Aug 17, 2008

which is better?

or is there something better?

i will be hosting a portfolio website so i need a lot of diskspace for photos, videos, and other files of the sort. i think bandwidth is pretty important as far as video watching goes, and i would like to have fast upload speeds.

View 6 Replies View Related

SharkSpace, DownTownHost, Hawkhost Or 3inetwork For Asia

Oct 22, 2009

Narrowed down my choices to these companies. My customers will mainly be in Asia and for that reason I am thinking of going with Sharkspace and choosing their West Coast server option.

Anyone have experience with 3inetwork? They seemed geared towards Vietnamese customers (where I am at the moment) but can't find many reviews.

View 12 Replies View Related

1 Website, 2 Host Reviews! HawkHost And IGXHost

Oct 23, 2009

Didn't think this would be possible, did you?

So, I switched off of one of my providers for my website about a month and a half ago (I won't mention their name). From my previous host I switched to HawkHost.

HawkHost was amazing throughout our entire month and a half stay. When we first went to them, they converted one of our domains into a subdomain and transferred all of the files for us and did a tremendous amount of extra work they didn't have to do. They were quick at responding and their servers were blazing fast. Unfortunately, they had to pack up our stuff for us and we had to leave due to a DDoS attack. But they didn't kick us out before trying some measures first to help prevent the DDoS attack. During the attack, my website still remained online and a lot of the traffic was being thrown out by the security measures they put in place for me for free. But the attack got through those security measures after 24 hours and took down their servers. Even after we left, the IP was still getting hit and they had to null-route the IP address. We do thank HawkHost for attempting to stop it, and we do not hold any grudges, infact we're very thankful they did what they did for us!

Overall Experience with
Support : 10/10
Network Speed : 10/10
Uptime (for the month and a half we were there : 10/10
Willingness to help : 10/10

Now! After HawkHost confirmed the attack has stopped, we set our website at a different host. I hope it doesn't get attacked again, because switching hosts isn't the top item on my Fun things to do this Friday. We switched to

Our current experience (only been 24 hours):
Great support, we ordered in the middle of the night and they transferred our account within an hour! (It's not a small account either). The staff was very helpful and quick to respond which is amazing because it was 1AM. (HawkHost answered in the middle of the night too). Not really sure about anything else except their support, I will update you guys! But so far IGXHost and HawkHost are about the same quality in support (exceptional!).

Anyways! I'll keep you guys updated.

We here at Data Host Direct would like to thank the staff at IGXHost and HawkHost.

View 8 Replies View Related

Casino Review/sports Betting Review Hosting With Godaddy?

May 12, 2009

Is Godaddy cool for the casino review/sports betting review site?i searched a lot and submit Godaddy a ticket,still dont dig out.

View 5 Replies View Related

MonkeyWrench Hosting Review - Three Year Review

Dec 15, 2008

MonkeyWrench Hosting review - Three year review

I've been hosting my personal sites with MonkeyWrench Hosting for around three years now (coming up in January I believe), and I figured I'd share my experiences with them!

I've gone through a few hosts in my time, and some of them have been pretty rough. After using paid hosts, a niche free host started up that I stayed with for around a year before they eventually closed down.

I switched to MonkeyWrench Hosting at that point as a place to host my sites and store my files, and I have to say that I've been impressed throughout the time I've been with them.

Fantastic! The sites have been perfectly reliable and speedy whenever I've gone to access them, and I haven't had any complaints from users. I did come across MySQL going down on one of the servers (I have two accounts for different purposes that are on seperate servers) in the past, but it was resolved quickly before I even needed to get help.

I've used the support a few times, but not for anything critical since there's not been the need. However, everything that I have asked was answered promptly in a professional manner.

Again, no complaints here. The pricing is pretty cheap, especially for the quality of service receieved. They aren't the cheapest on the Internet by any means, but you generally get what you pay for. I'm aware of what my realistic space/bandwidth needs are anyway, and I'd rather pick a host that clearly advertises what you'll receive over an 'unlimited' host.

All in all, MWH have been a fantastic choice and I couldn't have hoped for anything better.

So, thumbs up to Jonathan, and keep up the good work!

I'll report my domains for the moderators to check them out. =)

View 10 Replies View Related

Virpus Review (my Final Review)

Apr 26, 2009

I've been very happy with Virpus since I joined. There was 1 issue that has plagued me since the beginning and that was that I was not receiving e-mails on my ISP e-mail, my main e-mail. Not to big of an issue except that I didn't get any news updates or know when my tickets were replied to, or even when I was past due on my bill. 3 tickets later and their solution was for me to use another e-mail address, which was kind of a pain for me since each of my e-mail addresses has a specific reason which only specific e-mail get sent there for organizational reasons.

First off I have to say the VPS I was using was top notch. It easily outperformed my LiquidWeb VPSs and quickly became my primary VPS instead of my backup like was intended. I took advantage of one of their specials a while back which was a 512MB RAM cPanel VPS for $19.50/month which is a steal since the cPanel license alone is $15/month!

So now to why this is probably my final review of this company. Communication is lacking greatly. It was good at first, but now it's non-existant.

Over the weekend all my sites went down and I had no idea why... because I never got the e-mail saying they were moving data centers (if it weren't for a small thread on WHT I would never have known). I also did not receive any updates on extending their ETA so yet again I had nothing to tell my clients. The only good thing was that I run a free hosting company ( for reference) and I offer no uptime guarantee since it's a non-paid service.

Ok, so the sites are back online and everything is working nicely... well I recently hit the 70% mark on my disk space usage so time to start looking for an upgrade. I created a ticket on April 23rd asking if they would allow me to upgrade my plan to their biggest VPS plan and to my surprise I never got a reply. I would think that a billing ticket asking to upgrade to a plan that costs more without the transfer of the discount I'm receiving would be a welcome ticket for them to reply to, but I was incorrect in thinking this. So I ended up purchasing a dedicated server last night because I cannot wait to see if they will assist me with upgrading my account or not.

View 13 Replies View Related

WebtHosting Review * Major Review

Sep 27, 2009

What seemed to be a good company quickly turned to nightmares. I purchased a couple domains. All went well. Then paypal emailed me saying they are high risk and wanted me to confirm I made the payment and service was given. So until I did the payment was held. They blame the held on me and threatened me to release it or they will cancel my account.

So they finally gave them the money and all was well. Well I did a stupid thing and decided to get a VPS from them, they have good deals so I thought, whats the worse that can happen. Well shortly after, I get a email saying because your payments are unreliable, we are waiting a week to setup your vps which is complete udder crap.

So I just said screw it and said give me a refund then and about 2 hours ago I try logging into my client center and my account is gone.

I am hoping one of them see this so we can get this worked out. In the mean time I opened disputes on all of the payments.

I will keep you all updated.

View 14 Replies View Related

HiVelocity Review (Possible Client Review)

Apr 17, 2009

I just want to take the time and review Hivelocity. Boy oh boy, where to start. I am just so pleased with the customer support they offer and I don't even own a single product with them.

I currently own a server with another comapny and I am always looking at other options for cheaper prices, better services and etc.

I found Hivelocity through WHT and I took the time to start up a live chat which was answered quickly from Kevin. Kevin was very nice and welcoming. I was asking about discounts they could provide and etc. Kevin showed me their reseller program which seemed to be something I may be interested in. After a 15-20 minute chat with Kevin, he offered to add me on MSN if I ever wanted to chat which I thought was pretty nice.

After I got off live chat with Kevin, I decided to keep researching Hivelocity. I immediately signed up on Twitter (I never had a Twitter Account). I saw they had some awesome deals. They were offering an awesome deal today it looks like this:

"The next person to go to our site, open a live chat and say "I just got your TWEET" gets a Core2Duo 3.0Ghz e8400 for $5 the first month."

By time I even got onto Twitter, I noticed that this was already taken. I kept browsing their Twitter and hey what do you know, another great deal it followed like this:
"The 1st $5 Core2Duo sold in about 20 seconds so lets do it again. The next person to open a live chat saying "Give me a $5 Server" gets it."

I decided I was going to be late as the last one sold in 20 seconds. Well, it turned out it did get sold but, I got into a Live Chat with David from Hivelocity.

David informed me that the server was sold and I was a bit too late. What do you know, more great discounts! He offered me the same server for $5 on the first month. I decided not to take advantage of the offer as I wouldn't be able to put much use to the offer. I will be moving to Hivelocity within the next 1-3 months.

Overall I am very pleased with the great offers they provide and the support is just amazing!

Based on the sales support and the deals they provide, I did a bit of a rating on Hivelocity.

Sales Support:5/5

Also, if you decide your interested in Hivelocity's awesome offers, I would follow them on Twitter! They are constantly updating their Twitter and offering great deals. Their Twitter deals are 100% and it's pretty awesome a company like Hivelocity offers products and support so great!

View 14 Replies View Related

Limestonenetworks Review [8 Month Review]

May 5, 2009

I joined Limestonenetworks back in 2008 when it was a small company. At the time they offered the best price on the server I was looking for, so I took the plunge. The first 2 months were great, I enjoyed the stable network, and responses from the support team were fairly quick (1-2 hours response time). From there on it was all downhill, my servers were constantly down, and the support team took longer to answer my tickets. I didn't think this was a big problem, so I stayed with Limestonenetworks even though it was having problems with their network. Near December an incident occurred that really pushed me over the edge. My servers had been down for hours, so I opened a support ticket, and one of the agents replied and told me that the downtime was due to an upgrade in their network.

Again, I came to conclude that it could be far worst, so I stayed, one of the reasons was that I didn't want to switch my game servers over. It's important to keep in mind when you are running game servers, IPs play an important part because that's where you get your traffic. Near January the network upgrade at Limestonenetworks was still taking place which caused my bandwidth meter to stop working. This really scared me because I didn't want to get charged for overages due to the fact that my servers were receiving DDOS attacks, and I wouldn't know when to close the ports.

This incident actually turned out to be positive for me because even though I went over my bandwidth quota they didn't charge me for overages. I was very happy because this was like a late Christmas present, so now I was even more happy to give my money to Limestonenetworks. Now you might ask the question, how is this going downhill? Even though they didn't charge me for the overages, I still lost many clients who were angry at the fact that their game server were down.

In the end this network upgrade actually cost me 3 clients who were paying ~$60 per month. I let this slide because at this point I already had two servers with Limestonenetworks and I really didn't want to switch over due to the fact I would lose my IPs. The next month, February, was no different, I had more issues with Limestonenetworks. Starting of this month I was getting large DDOS attacks, which kept pushing my bandwidth over the quota, and I ended up paying close to $200 dollars just for bandwidth overages.

At this point they started to nickel and dime me for every single penny they could get of me. I don't know if they were having financial problems, or if it was due to another reason. Again in March I went over the quota, but at this time they told me that I had to pay per gigabyte which would result in a $500+ charge in bandwidth, and after talking with multiple agents, I was finally able to reach an agreement. They had changed a policy all of the sudden due to the fact that they knew I was a good customer and would keep paying for the overages.

The problem I had here was that I didn't mind upgrading to plan after I knew how much bandwidth was going to be used, since they don't offer any sort of DDOS protection, and game servers result in large DDOS attacks occasionally. I understand that Limestonenetworks was not at fault, but by making me pay per gigabyte was a bit harsh, since I had never been late on a payment, and had multiple servers. Try to remember that I stayed with this company even though I lost multiple clients because of their network outages, but they didn't care about this, all the care about is nickling and diming customers.

From that point on I have been living on the edge because I don't want to pay for an upgrade before hand due to the fact I don't know how much bandwidth my server will be using. Even if I upgrade to a different package it does not offer an insurance due to the fact that if I receieve a large DDOS than I orignally predicted, I would still end up paying per gigabyte.

This company has turned from having potential to just making their customers run away. Now the other problems I had with Limestonenetwork is the support they offer, which has been declining since I joined. The associates are very rude and don't really care about the customer's experience. I didn't include every problem I had with Limestonenetwork because it would make it a very long read.

Network - 10/10
Downtime - 5/10
Customer Service - 2/10
Overall Experience - 4/10
Would I recommend this company? NO, I urge everyone to stay away, unless they like to deal with problems on a daily basis.

Also from reading other topics on this forum, I personally believe that Limestonenetwork is overselling and their network can not handle the load.

View 11 Replies View Related

Wholesaleinternet Review (4 Months Review)

Sep 12, 2008

I've got high end server from WholeSaleinternet.I've been with Wholesaleinternet for 4 months now and I am extremely happy with them.Got an awesome server for a cheap price, a Quad-Core Xeon 8 Processor (3.0GHZ), 32GB RAM, 100mbit port link.

Sales support is slow but tech support is fast!

That you very much Aaron/Wholesaleinternet!, keep up the good work!

View 10 Replies View Related

Virpus Review 7 Month Review - My "ups And Downs"

May 1, 2009

I have been with virpus for the past 7 months

I have posted an review earlier as well for 2 month : 2 month review

Let me summarize my experience so far,

Technical Support - 10/10 Really fab. even though I was on semi-managed plan, they never made me feel I was on a semi it always felt as if I was under complete management, they did every task I had asked them to do, which I didn't get on any other semi-managed host earlier.

I have no sort of complaints about their technical team, they tried to solve some problems which were due to the billing dept.

The minimum response for a ticket generally around 10-15mins and the completion with in an hr.

Billing Dept - This is some dept. that has kept me in wonder-land. Some times the replies were so pleasing and most other times the tickets are ignored. From, almost 2nd r 3rd month, the billing dept. tickets don't get regularly replied and used to bump the tickets in order to get a response to the query. Which I got some how, in a apologizing manner (no complaints for that :p)

Now, for the past 1 month we have been having some serious problems.

First, I had recd. some black-listed ip's when we joined virpus, we failed to check them (mistake on our end agreed 100%), which probably even they might not have been aware of.. As, we had a minor mis-understanding with godaddy during domain registration, my friend registered the domain using one of our partner address who resides in Singapore, where as the registration was done from India. Godaddy, assumed this was a spam registration and refunded the amount. So, we had to register the domain through another partner who resided in India. Godaddy was cool after we gave them the complete details, where they wanted some ID proof, and we provided them.

Our ip was on the black-list, we thought since our domain was spam-listed for a day, (until godaddy took it off) it made the hosts to assume the domain was black-listed, so we had manually submitted forms and proofs to most of the anti-spam agencies and mail providers, where they took the ban off the ip with in 15-20 days after we joined virpus.

Our domain was no longer under black-list, but ip was still under black-listed in some sites, such as rediff, it took more than 2 months to set the things straight at rediff, where we did some config added from the tech.dept. such as setting up spf record, and did a few tweaks here and there.

Even after making all these efforts, our ip was still under black-list of some ISP's. Our main domain (the domain which was under bl list earlier) loads well for every user, but our child domains where we have blogs and other activities do not load for lots of users. The ping results in the internet gives 100% but on their particular systems it gives no ping. Some times, the site loads wierdly such as,[url] might load but [url]might not load, and vice-versa, some times local ping fails but site loads, its all wierd and we found the reason to the problem to be ip after some minor confirmation from our end. We were losing our revenue of more than 60% just because of the failure of loading on the site, the tech. dept used to ask the ips which are facing prob to check if they are blocked, but its not possible to give ips of users who visit as guests and others, we have noted reports on other sites that our site wasn't loading for them. We still were able to give few ips for check and found them not-blocked on the ip. The sites are able to be viewed for all from proxy sites such as but we can't ask each viewer to go to proxy site to view if they are unable to load, it will become ridiculous and we might lose our entire traffic some day.

We had shifted our domains temporarily to other vps where we noted none of the users had a single complaint, we were there for more than a week, which ensured the problem was not the domains but the ips, again after returning to the virpus hosts, we had created 3 tickets to sales/billing dept. to issue fresh ip's, got 0 reply and mailed to mr.Ken using : got no reply after 48hrs.

We have to agreee, Earlier,mr.Ken was so helpful he helped us when we didn't have any funds to issue, since we had an dispute with an item where our payment was delayed by paypal. So, we had paid them almost 10 days later than the due date where mr.Ken was so helpful and saw to it our VPS could stay online despite the payments not been released.

In thanks, we had directly mailed our check we got from an ad-agency, which again made around 5-10 days in the payment, which made our balance stand in the positive note, we have our balance in the account for the past 3 months so that there are no dues left.

But, in the past 1 -2 months the replies have been disappointing.

We planned to leave virpus and join other host, where we burnt our hands, we looked for other reputed VPS and had a few in mind after our staff suggested few good organizations(don't prefer to name them here as it would be mis-leading).

Since, virpus wasn't ready to refund the amount in the credits we decided to continue with virpus atleast as a sideby host. Later, some how our members suggested we used virpus as a main host, so we wanted fresh ip's to get rid of the damn problem we are having but we have recd. no response for the past 1 week.

Now, lately after the maintenance our VPS was down for approx. 26-27hrs on april 25th Saturday, where our traffic is usually on the weekends. We lost the compelete traffic and revenue. When we asked if it come under credits, we got response as : This was the result of scheduled maintenance we cannot, it would not qualify under our SLA. (just giving the main result statment off the entire reply recd. from sales). Its some thing we would like to regret but for sure this isn't some issue, which could make us think to get to a new host.

The reply from the sales dept. has made our staff making funny betting, as one would win if we get a reply and other would if its not replied with in 48hrs, lately the first one is winning () due to lack of communication.

This might be our last month. Our next due date major amount would be taken from the credits, so a very little amount would exist in the account. We will stay with them until our amount with them is spent.

We had enjoyed really good with the tech. dept but the sales dept has been really poor in the recent past. I am forced to say this as even after mailing we haven't got response where, mr.Ken stated if our tickets were lost or some thing, mail to him but either didn't work so far.

Once, earlier when we requested for change of ips we were said some $7 or some thing would be charged for the swap, when we made other enquiries about it we didn't get a response till date

My tickets which lay un-responded:

509467 and 385781 are double-post of the ticket, but got reply for none of the above tickets. Was expecting a reply for 1 atleast.

I was ready to pay excess charge for the new ips as there some mistake from my end in failure to check the ips before getting them but I wanted some concession as the major mistake was from their end while dispatching ips. I am not refusing to pay but I wanted the concession, got no reply and the above tickets are a proof of them.

Our staff online time and their live chat time don't tally, so we can't make any contact to them on live as well.

I am not sure if this is mis-understanding or what, but it has been a mixed experience for me. For sure, their sales crew have to be increased that's some suggestion I would strongly do.

I can recommend this host to any one for the tech. support they provide but can't guarantee them for the sales dept. replies based on my past/recent experiences.

Totally my site down for around ~30hrs including all the maintanence and other reasons, it could be a bit less but I am rounding it off, for sure its more than 28hrs

My over all rating: 7.5/10
Tech. Dept - 10/10
Sales/Billing Dept - 5/10

my site submitted for review via report feature
I tried to give all my experience on virpus and I am not against any one for joining virpus nor have any fights with virpus team.

May be if we get response from sales we might still consider continuing with virpus but that stands low at the moment.

View 14 Replies View Related

1 And 1 Review

Dec 15, 2008

First off they did not setup my server for nearly 2 days. I bitched and was apologized about that. They said I would get 10% off my next month.

I proceed to get everything running and start setting up my domains and then blamo its gone! It was reset they said even though I did not have a remote switch. I asked them why they did that and they insisted it was me. Whatever. So I setup everything again and was getting horrible speeds for my photography site. The hell???? They promised me the world when I signed up with them. I also got to deal with "outsourced tech support" from india that was not helpful.

I finally get things running but its still a slow *** server and they try to tell me I needed to upgrade to a much faster plan and get a better processor and memory. I tell them screw that they are throttling my bandwidth. Like memory and processor are gonna make a difference for 3 websites 1 with forums and 1 for photography then my personal site.

View 11 Replies View Related

WBS Review, Please

Sep 18, 2009

Can you share with me about your experience with WBS as a provider? Including account management, support and of course quality of the network, Also I am interested whether they really have a good South America connectivity.

View 9 Replies View Related Review

May 15, 2009

havent seen any review on WHT? maybe someone can share since im really keen on getting a shared hosting plan there?

View 14 Replies View Related

1 And 1 Review ....

Oct 30, 2009

I have been using 1 and 1 web hosting for almost 3 months now. In that time my site has never been down. I use them to host my website but i use google App for my email server.

In the three months that i have been hosting with them i have only had to put in one ticket due to a mysql database issue. Which then turns out something that i have done.

I would recommend 1 and 1 to my friends and family.

I have two domains hosted with them...

View 13 Replies View Related

The NY NOC 9 Day Review

Dec 1, 2008

Since I've been noticing a thread about how this company is a scam and a fraud and will take your money and run.... I wanted to post my review of them.

Super VPS #2 ($9.95) was bought on 11/21 at 5:42 PM. I received the VPS login information about 4 hours later.

I have this VPS for a VPN server that I run for my personal use. I have so far had 100% uptime and nothing has been wrong. Everything is working great.

I have sent in a number of ticket with things that I need to be enabled for the VPN to work. All of my tickets were responded to within a reasonable time limit. I say reasonable for the following reasons:

1) I used to work in the hosting business and it's almost impossible to give a hour resolution unless you have a big time staff

2) this VPS in UNMANAGED so I didn't expect support to be online waiting for my ticket
Andy has been a great person and I truly thank you for everything you've done on my VPS for me.

The VPS has great connections to the internet. Although I ALWAYS prefer that Cogent be left out when I buy a server or VPS, this one came with it but most of my routes take Level 3 and Internap so I am perfectly fine with it. They also setup rDNS for me in a matter of minutes.

I have pushed 4GB so far and am not having any problems with any one else's VPS affecting mine.

So to sum it up:

Support = 8/10 (If you offered a guaranteed response in xx minutes that would be great)

Network = 9/10 (I prefer not to have Cogent since they send you all over the USA unlike other carriers)

Price = 10/10 (Find me a $10 VPS that offers all this on a stable NOT OVERSOLD node)

Uptime = 10/10 (So far so good!)

Overall Experience = 9/10

If you are looking at a VPS and just want to try this out, you really can't lose anything with this $10 plan. I would highly recommend The NY NOC.

Note to mods: I have submitted my IP and info through the ticket system.

View 13 Replies View Related

Review: The NY Noc

Oct 13, 2007

Name: The NY Noc
Thread: [url]
Website: [url]

Package offered to WHT:
10GB Space
300GB Transfer
HyperVM / LxAdmin
Root Access
2 IP Addresses
$9.95/mo US
10mbit/s (true)

I have been a customer of this provider for almost two months now. They have provided great support (especially concerning their response time). Uptime has been 99%+ as advertised - very reliable.

The package they offer above is one of the cheaptest I have found on these forums or on the net. Most others offer similar packages but only provide 1 IP and 150GB/mo transfer. If this company continues with well managed servers and customer support, I believe they will be well worth the investment a customer makes.

View 1 Replies View Related

Bad Review For SkyNetHosting

Apr 25, 2009

I subscribed to SkyNetHosting at 27th December 2008.

At that time, it was a great experience for me, I had some questions with their packages, so I submitted the tickets and I got speedy and helpful support.

My websites with them are working really fine until recently. Starting from February, their server started to experience several downtime and the worst is, the accumulated downtime in a recent week is more than 30 hours.

I am extremely sad when I submitted the tickets to ask about it, they take more than 8 hours to reply me, which they updated me that the server is still down. I was expected them to tell me the server is alright now after half a day of downtime.

They finally decided to migrate the server when they think they cannot do anything to stop the downtime, which is explained at the following address.

My nightmare started again here, my websites experienced long down time again, which is more than 3 days, I wonder why do they take such long time to migrate servers?

After the migration, I thought all the bad things came to the end, but appatently I am wrong.

Few of my websites are showing strange content, which I think the content from other website on the server.

Few of my websites are showing the "cPanel Great Success" page, including the following message.

Great Success !
Apache is working on your cPanel® and WHM™ Server
If you can see this page, then the people who manage this server have installed cPanel and WebHost Manager (WHM) which use the Apache Web server software and the Apache Interface to OpenSSL (mod_ssl) successfully. They now have to add content to this directory and replace this placeholder page, or else point the server at their real content.

I also cannot login to my FTP and Shell account.

Yesterday, I got new problem with them again, one of my website is showing some errors, which I think it was the error I have seen when I am working on the website. Which means, it was a outdated copies of my website, how could it be here when the website was working properly?

I suspected that they restored a outdated backup to my website without my notice.

I submitted a ticket to ask for help, they replied me after 9 hours, said that:


The backup was created just before migrating the server. Please check now and let me know for any further assistance.

I am so tire with the downtime and I do not even care that they took 9 hours to reply me. The problem is, the ticket do not give me any solution and my website is still down!

Again, I submitted a ticket for it just now, I wonder how long would they take to reply me and recover my website this times?

View 8 Replies View Related

Copyrights 2005-15, All rights reserved