WiredTree 3+ Month Review

Nov 23, 2008

WiredTree 3+ month review

Over the years, I’ve had a number of dedicated servers. My early experiences were pretty rotten since my servers were always hacked – I didn’t realize that you’ve got to be smart to handle one of these things. After a bout of some really dreadful server hosting, I decided that I would go with WiredTree - or just close shop.

Why WiredTree? Well, from my research they seemed to have one of the best reputations on WHT. I couldn’t find anything bad posted about them. And, they were running a promotion. Why close shop? Because I was disgusted and just didn’t have the patience to deal with a server anymore.

In the end, I decided to get a VPS 384 from WiredTree. I thought that this would be a serious downgrade from my Dual Xeon “barn burner”, but the performance on my VPS, was even better than the server.

One nice thing about a VPS is that you can start with a particular plan and then, if you are experiencing a heavy load, update your VPS, on-line in real-time. This helped me decide since I could go cheap and upgrade in the future if everything was OK.

I can say that WiredTree is just simply amazing. Low priority support tickets are answered within a few minutes. High priority issues are dealt with virtually immediately. It's downright scary.

Not everything is perfect however… I have had several periods of downtime – one was due to a DDOS attack and was a couple of hours, another was about an hour or so due to a bad network device, and another was for only for 10 or 15 minutes. I was credited with the appropriate amount of money according to their TOS. I realize that these kind of things can happen even to the best, and in fairness, thanks to WT’s proactive service monitoring, the problems were dealt with quickly.

Having a fully managed plan has definite advantages, otherwise I would have certainly just shut down my operation. However, fully managed does not necessarily mean everything. In response to a couple of issues, I was only told how to perform the action. One issue I had to leave unhandled since I was afraid to tackle the problem myself. I really don't want to use SSH ever - I'm just too old and tired to mess with it, and I'd rather spend my time on content and not on platform.

All in all – WiredTree is awesome. The hosting experience itself is what I call “boring” – that is, I don’t even notice it’s there. The VPS just runs and I don’t need to worry about it. The support is fast and thoroughly professional - in short, amazing. The only thing that would make me consider moving to another host is getting that extra bit of “fully managed” that WiredTree doesn’t provide. I am considering one host in particular, but leaving WiredTree will indeed be a difficult decision to arrive at.

View 11 Replies


6+ Month Review Of Wiredtree

Mar 17, 2009

Had to call into Wiredtree tech support for a very minor question (forgot my Grove Logon name and needed to check some billing info), which reminded me I've neglected to do a six month review of them.
See here:

and here:

for background info so you'll know this isn't a puff piece. I had a very frustrating start to the world of VPS's, having migrated from 1and1 shared hosting. Had _major_ problems configuring email to work with port 587 (which is mandatory because of my ISP's blocking port 25) with both Servint and WiredTree. SerVint's fault with them, my fault with Wiretree for not letting DNS changes time to propagate.

So, bottom line is the past 6-7 months with Wiredtree have been totally trouble-free.

All the sites I host are lightning fast and stable. With the exception of a DDoS attack back in September which caused a couple hours of downtime (luckily in the wee morning hours of a Saturday), there've been absolutely no problems whatsoever.

I use mon.itor.us to check availability of my web sites and there's an occasional NOK (not OK) for smtp or pop but never anything to speak of and it's always back up within a minute or two, so I'm pretty sure the problem is on their end or network related and not Wiredtree's.

If I had wanted to stay with Plesk, I probably would have been satisfied with SerVint but they could never get cPanel to work with port 587. I just checked their web site and noticed they re-designed it and must say it looks much better.

One thing I did notice is SerVint now offers 512 MB RAM (burstable to 1 gig) with their entry-level VPS's while Wiredtree still offers 384. I don't go by the "burstable" RAM, which if I remember correctly is pretty much a marketing gimmick but I'm surprised Wiredtree is no longer equal to SerVint in that respect, as they were in August. But it doesn't matter to me as most of my sites are usually Flash, which needs consistent throughput, not processing power.

Bottom line: add me to the massive list here on WHT who are completely satisfied with Wiredtree.com.

Are they a bit more expensive than most other providers?

Are they worth every penny of it?

Most assuredly!

View 0 Replies View Related

WiredTree - 6 Month Review

Aug 3, 2008

I'm not one for posting reviews unless I've had an utterly horrible experience, or an absolutely amazing one.

And thankfully this review is one of the latter.

WiredTree is simply a top notch, professional organization which performs as claimed!

6 months ago I got rid of a managed dedicated and, knowing that I needed similar performance and quality of management, decided to go with a WiredTree VPS.

I have never looked back since. Amazing support, solid uptime and true peace of mind.

So what brings me here now?

I just posted a ticket at 7:54 pm regarding a server wide permission issue.

At 7:56 pm I received a response from Zac, stating that the issue was isolated and fixed. I confirmed this and closed the ticket at 7:58 pm.

2 MINUTES! Two minutes from ticket submission to resolution. Now that is why I stay with WiredTree.

View 4 Replies View Related

WiredTree ][ 2 Month Review

Oct 1, 2008

After spending years on shared hosting in various places I got fed up with 'being kept in the dark' as I like to call it. Unscheduled reboots, mysterious downtimes, other users on your server using up all the resources and thus causing all your sites to crawl So... the time came to upgrade to a VPS. Due to pretty big issues with my previous shared host (another user on the server was using too many resources all the time, and then another one started as well... then they were in the process of moving me to a new server but at this point the server was going down daily for 1-2 hours at a time and this was simply not acceptable) I had to make a rather rushed decision on who to go to.

After several days of research on WHT I decided to go with WiredTree. They were a little more expensive than some of the other VPS providers I looked at, however it seemed to be worth it reading other peoples reviews and looking at all the features the offered on their website.

I ordered the lowest package they offered, VPS384, on a weekend. After sending a ticket to support I got a phone call confirming my order and 30 minutes later my VPS was up.

There was some initial issue with their main hardware node undergoing a kernel panic (happened before I actually started using my VPS), however this was quickly resolved and I was able to start moving things over.

The transfer went seamlessly and so far I haven't had any issues with the VPS. In fact, I've been pretty bored because I simply don't have anything to do anymore. The server seems to run on it's own! Coming from a shared hosting environment where I always had one or the other issue to fix this is a pretty big shock.

So far, I've had 17 support tickets, which have all been resolved to my satisfaction.

The response time WT provides is excellent. In most tickets its been a sub 5 minute response time, with the odd response taking up to 10 minutes. I can post some screens if needed, but I think previous WT reviews have posted enough of those so I'll leave that be for now.

Considering that I've never used WHM or managed a VPS of any sort before, WT have been excellent in explaining what needed to be done to accomplish basic tasks. Their knowledgebase is also a very nice resource and contains some nice starting points for people new to working with VPS'.

# up 23 days, 13:25, 1 user, load average: 0.00, 0.02, 0.00
- The VPS was restarted once to fix an issue with cPanel

Current Server Load 0.01
Total Server Memory 384 MB
Available Physical Memory 154 MB

I think the maximum usage I've had so far was a forum having around 100 users online at the same time. This had zero impact on the performance and everything worked as fast as it did with 10 people online.

All in all, I am extremely satisfied and planning on expanding what I run on the server in the future as well as perhaps upgrading to a better package if need be.

Keep up the good work WT, and a special thanks to the support team who have been absolutely stellar in every way imaginable.

- Satisfied customer

[edit] Small addition... I love WiredTree's monitoring system. Any time a service goes down, I get an e-mail about it and the service is automatically restarted. This happens very rarely and mostly with spamd so it's not an issue, but it's good to know that in the event something does go down it comes right back up.

View 14 Replies View Related

6 Month Review Of WiredTree

Dec 25, 2008

After getting a taste of using a VPS, I was desperate to try out a managed version, as the one I had was unmanaged and had always been compromised. I searched up Webhostingtalk.com in hopes of finding a cheap VPS package. I was wrong.

While browsing around on Webhostingtalk, I saw numerous recommendations for WiredTree as a web hosting provider. I browsed the WiredTree website and I took a step back at the price. Coming from a series of $1 shared web hosting packages it was indeed a shock. I knew that in order for my website to expand and grow, I had to pay the price, so I decided to sign up with WiredTree any way. When I signed up I was given a call and from that moment I knew that they took their services very seriously. A few moments later my account was now live from that point onwards my perception towards web hosting has changed.

I had required certain SSH commands to be installed. I was greeted by the support team and everything had been done within minutes. It had changed how I viewed support. For once I was actually talking to a human instead of automated and copy/pasted messages.

Problems big and small were no problem for the team at WiredTree. From installing
Icecast to migrating websites to small edits such as disabling indexing, no matter what the task was, I was greeted with a warm reply and before I noticed everything had been done. No matter where I was, if I had a problem that need helping I could simply log into WiredTree's Grove panel and submit a ticket and it would be done. Period.

Server security had been a big problem at my last host. My server was being compromised day after day and the support staff had done nothing but tell me to change my passwords.

When I moved onto WiredTree, their Servershield service kept the hackers at bay. I could focus my time developing my website. For the first time I would be able to relax without checking my websites each day to see if anything was wrong.

From $1 web hosting to WiredTree, I have finally realised that web hosting goes by the following quote: 'you get what you pay for'. WiredTree's prices may be a bit tad high, but when you weigh up your time you used to worry or manage your PHP version etc, you will find it definitely is worth it.

It is sad to leave WiredTree, but I have to due to fund problems. However you can rest assured that I will be back! I will be definitely browsing in various web hosting forums and recommending WiredTree, because when I do I know that I'll be helping not only WiredTree but for the user requesting VPS provider suggestions!

Special thanks to the support team once again, Michael, Jake, Joe, Jacob, Adam, James, Sam and especially Loren, who had replied to my unusual requests at the most weirdest hours you could possibly imagine! The occasional check-ins were very courteous and caring.

So when you're reading this, considering if WiredTree is right for you, I'm surprised you're still reading and not half way through your order already by now. You won't ever regret clicking that order button. Once you do, congratulations! Your WiredTree experience has begun!
If you can't be bothered reading such a long piece of text, here is the summary:

Support - no ticket answered less than 10 minutes, that actually get the problem fixed.
Security - Servershield does exactly what it says.

When hosting with WiredTree you really get to use your time doing other things instead of worrying or patching up your server. I experienced this first hand and I believe it'll be hard to find something that comes close to this top notch service

If anyone wants to verify that I actually do host with them, I'll be happy to pass on my domain to any moderator

View 6 Replies View Related

WiredTree.com - 7 Month Review

Aug 31, 2008

the past 7 months have gone so fast i though this was my 6 month mark but after checking my welcome email it's 7 hence the odd 7 month review.

I think the reason time has gone so fast is due to everything running like clockwork, my host before WiredTree was plagued with technical problems and downtimes so it was a constant "battle" trying to keep my sites online and a week felt like a month. Anyhow..

Support: 10/10

If i could give WiredTree 11/10 i would, their support excedes all expectations in both promptness and the level of satisfaction. I've purchased thousands of dollars in scripts, products and services on the net over the years and WiredTree's support outclasses them all both in and out of the hosting industry. Take a look at this one for example, 1 minute response time at 3AM


Performance: 10/10

I've got a large number of small to medium sites on my account, and they all run very fast and feel like they are on a dedicated server. Now for uptime, the server itself has excellent uptime however i have had issues with MySql going down about once a month and not restarting. So i was going to give this a 9/10 however to WiredTree's credit, after i bought up the issue with them they implemented a custom script on my server to reboot MySql when it goes down which is working flawlessly ever since so the 10/10 is definitely justified.

Price: 10/10

Now WiredTree is not the cheapest VPS provider, but when crunching the numbers in comparison to my previous "budget" provider and factoring the lost revenue from downtime and the many wasted hours trying to bring the server back online, sending tickets etc WiredTree actually works out cheaper for a much better service. The Pro-Active monitoring is great piece of mind knowing i can go to sleep and not worry about my sites being down, so again 10/10 is justified for what you receive.

So i think that's about it, i've recommended several people who have signed up at WiredTree and everyone is extremely happy also so i have no hesitation in continuing to recommend them. Also my server is a 512MB VPS + 256MB bonus RAM from their promotion in January, i'm planning on staying with WiredTree for a long time and i have been eyeing off their Hybrid server for a while now so hopefully by my next review i'll be on one of those.

A big thanks to Zac, Joe, Jake, Adam and everyone behind the scenes at WiredTree i have never personally spoken with, keep up the great work.


View 1 Replies View Related

Wiredtree Month By Month Review

Jan 28, 2009

I've signed up with Wiredtree for a Managed VPS 12 days ago.

I know it's not enough time to write a review. But I decided to write my first impression then keep you updated by writing a new review at the end of each month, so expect one at 12 February.

For now, these guys are simply the best I've tried.

They reply you in 15 minutes or less and if it took them more, 20 minutes or something, then be sure that they're investigating your problem. If you can't wait for 15 minutes, then go ahead and give them a call on their toll-free number and they'll be with you second by second. Their support wont just solve your problem, but they'll educate you telling you what caused the problem and how did they fix it.

I'm solicitous about security. But with these guys, I finally sleep peacefully knowing that my VPS is well secured.

View 14 Replies View Related

WiredTree VPS Review

Mar 16, 2009

After leaving my last hosting provider [url]

I moved to WiredTree.

I setup my VPS account with Wiredtree on March 5th. It has not been long enough to give a detailed review, but I will come back and update this thread.

So far I have been very happy with my server's uptime, performance, and Wiredtree's support. I have never used a VPS account before, I have always used a shared hosting account or a reseller account. Some of the configuration options are new to me and I have had questions. So far I have entered a couple of tickets asking these questions.

I have always marked my tickets as low priority and I have still received a response within minutes. I have moved almost all of my domains and have not see any issues.

Like I said I will periodically update this thread as time goes by, but so far I am very happy with Wiredtree.

View 4 Replies View Related

Wiredtree First Thoughts Review

Feb 3, 2009

I was having problems with shared hosting so I'm having a crack with a VPS from wiredtree. I have been with them 3days so thought I'd post up an early review on my first thoughts then update 3months on, 6months and 12months.

I'm new to the VPS world and have never had any experience with server management/functions other than with-in cpanel so you could say I'm a total noob, so this is coming from a newbie perspective. Ok so here goes for the pros/cons so far.


- The set-up was fast once sorted (see the first con).

- The payment system and ordering process was easy to follow.

- The support is very fast helpful and understanding (this is for their online support not phoned them yet).

- The start-up e-mail is useful and gives clear direct instructions.

- The prices are fair and in-line with the market.

- Their 'Grove' control panel is clean and clear and gives you access to vital functions and information, such as DNS, server stats, billing and support.

- When I set-up my account they didn't ring to confirm I had to chase them to get it sorted but once it was confirmed my server was up in under 1 hour.

- On their bottom package they give 348mb ram which before you put anything else on the server over 60% of this is used by other functions/softwares. Of course these things can be turned on/off when needed but I feel this should be mentioned at sign-up so people can understand and plan what they are going to need.

- Their knowledgebase has so far failed me as the issues I have had (mostly due to being a noob) are not listed on it and there are no other way other than submitting a ticket to find out about the small easy to solve problems, but their support is fast so no biggy.

Overall its not been a bad start It has had some floors but I'm happy and things are running smoothly.

Like I said these are only first thoughts on the service and I will update at later dates to give a clear picture on their service.

View 14 Replies View Related

2.5 Months Review Of WiredTree.com

Sep 24, 2009

After having a dedicated server for more than 70 days from WiredTree.com, I thought that it would be a good time for a review.

I came across them through good reviews in this forum and took the opportunity to get one of their special offers (Core i7). As a short summary in advance: I can fully recommend them to anyone seeking a managed dedicated box.

I just had contact to Sales twice - Once as I tried to bargain for an even cheaper offer than the special one they already had (without success, by the way) and a second time when it came to an eventual server upgrade. Response time was quick, the answers were professional and friendly and there is nothing I could complain about.

Server Setup:
I was in a totally different time-zone than WiredTree while ordering the server. As they have the practice to call their new customers for identity verification, the call reached me at night time and I could not pick it up. So I called them in the morning and they called me back again. It must have been deepest night time in Chicago at this moment. From this telephone call on, it took less than 2-3 hours (as far as I remember) until the server was ready and online.
Another thing is their "ServerShield Server Hardening" that they perform before you get the box. I never received a dedicated server before with so many tweaking measures taken in advance. MySQL performance was improved, the firewall was well configured, security checks were already made, everything felt fine-tuned in advance. So, again, very good job done by WiredTree.

Hardware Quality:
You might say: "You've only been with them 70+ days. Of course, there was no hardware problem during that short time". Well, I read here at WHT about customers of other hosts who had the first failures already at the moment they received the new box. So - No hardware problems at all until now.

I am not very experienced in server management and tend to get nervous if something doesn't work and support takes more than 30min. to answer questions. I know that this makes me annoying sometimes, but at least I always try to be friendly. Fortunately, WiredTree seems very good prepared for nerve-wrackers like me... Support never took more than 15min. to answer my requests and in at least 2 cases, they even bent backwards to help me with problems that had nothing to do with them. Every single request got solved in a very short time. I contacted support at the most unusable hours of the day because I often travel between different time zones - They were always there, like an own IT-Crowd in your pocket. Two thumbs up for their support staff.

100% Uptime during the whole time. No hickups at all, no problem that I would be aware of. Fine speed all the time. There is really nothing negative that I could say.

No billing issues at all. Everything worked correctly.

Their customer portal "Grove":
Well. Hmmm. Okay, one thing first: I saw several customer portals during the last 10 years. And none of them blew me away. I haven't seen SoftLayer's yet and was told that theirs should be even nicer than grandmas cheese cake, but the grass is always greener on the other side as long as you have never been there. Let's say that "Grove" is surely one of the better and nicer looking customer portals around. It bundles a lot of information and offers a good way of communication. The rest is a question of taste...

The bad news:
I cancelled the server today. The company I work for has rent several servers at another host and paid them 1 year in advance. One is totally unused (great planning, MnMgt!) and I was offered by my boss to use it cost-free for that period of time. Well, this is an opportunity I have to take... Saving $300 a month is quite a lot of money. But I am determined to go back to WiredTree as soon as my "free time" is over.

View 6 Replies View Related

WiredTree 1 Year Review

Jan 10, 2009

I have been a WiredTree customer for about one year and I am very happy with their services. One of the top VPS providers available on the world, WiredTree runs its servers in its own datacenter and it is the real peace in mind company. On January 15th 2008 I've started a VPS 512 in WiredTree using a a WHT promo offer and encountered not only one problem with billing, hardware, software, support! I'm running 16 monster websites of my selected customers on this VPS under cPanel optimized for VPS release 4-R32603 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9. OS: CENTOS 4.7 i686 on Virtuozzo. I've recently rebooted my VPS by command line (SSH) due a new app install exigence and this task was performed in few seconds without only one problem with cPanel!

Uptime: 10/10
Management: 10/10
Support: 10/10
Price: 10/10
Billing: 10/10
Domain for verification: ....

View 1 Replies View Related

Wiredtree.com :: My Initial Review

Feb 25, 2009

I will be posting a month review after my 1st months of service.
But for now, here is my initial review of Wiredtree.com

This is under my domain of aps-enterprises.co.uk which you can tell is on the Wiredtree network.
OK here goes.

Placed my order on Saturday 21st as Level3hostings main site went off line and I got a really bad feeling that my VPS would go down too, a feeling which proved all too true.

After a little while, I got the Fraud check phonecall. Although I couldnt hear them, James Webb could hear me, that was quite amusing....

Sunday 22nd, got my VPS Setup. Usually they said it would take a lot quicker to get setup, but they did have a network maintainence for about 3hrs. I was stil happy.

7.16am GMT time, my VPS with LEVEL3HOSTING went down *thank god for backups!! hooray I learnt my lesson*

The VPS I ordered is a good spec and any support tickets I had to raise, all were answered and resolved in an average of 15mins!! Yep! 15mins. I used to pay an external company each month, and they resolved stuff in 24hrs. How cool are they?

So anyway, VPS is great, Uptime has been 100% one can only expect. And Support is by far, one of the best I have seen.

Only been in business with them for my 5th day, so far they will be keeping me as a customer and if I have to upgrade (which I know one day I will), then I will be ordering any upgrades through them.

This is only my initial review and I will post a 1 month one too.

Which I reckon will be a positive one, just like this one is.

Thank you Wiredtree for making my life easier for my hosting business. As they say you do get what you paid for, and believe me the services I have had from some people that saying is very true, however you guys.... I think your prices are cheap for the amount of work you actually do.

Keep it up, and I hope this review makes a few customers for you.

View 14 Replies View Related

My VPS Hosting Review (WiredTree)

Jan 25, 2009

I think I owe WiredTree a review since I believe I am their most annoying customer by now. Why annoying? Because I have made a total of 9 tickets and a couple of phone calls after buying their vps512 package on the 8th of this month. So far, their hosting has been my favourite ever. I never even dreamed of such a remarkable hosting company. After lurking around here and asking people for their inputs on the best vps hosts, I imagined that the vps companies would be just the same as the shared hosting companies I have been hosted with from earlier. But to my surprise, these guys were the very best.

I was puzzled whether to go for KnownHost or WiredTree, while KnownHost had a remarkable forum for all types of support, WiredTree had a very brilliantly designed website. Part of the reason, I did not go for KnownHost was because their website did not make a good appeal to me, but that wasn't the main thing. When I asked a question to wiredtree, they gave me answers in less than 10 minutes. And that has never changed even after being their customer. Their president Zac, personally provided me with their userguide which is another masterpiece. That attracted me more towards them. Their grove panel, if only it could do what cpanel and whm can do, it would be the best admin panel in the market.

It's very well designed.

So within these last few weeks, all 9 tickets I opened got answers within 10 minutes and that too in a detailed manner. They left nothing out, they configured everything (from dns, email setup, updates for the vps) for me. I am a big fan of their two support guys (Jake and James). These guys are the most hard working people. I was stunned to see the server's capabilities. The loading speed in my website is unbelievable right now. I know I am so stunned because I come from a sharedhosting. But I have bought vps' for many clients of mine, and their servers were not even as close as these guys. Though wiredtree could not help me with migrating my website's contents, they did migrate my databases. I shut down my website for 2 days only and got even more traffic after a promise to the members that my site would be blazing fast!

So my short review and rating for their services:
VPS512- it might not be the right package for me yet, but it wasn't really expensive for me, so I bought it anyway. I know I will need it very soon (2-3 months time).

Support- They dont sleep, they will answer your questions within 15 minutes and that too in a precise and detailed manner.

Server Speed- Blazing fast, nothing beats it.

Server Upgrades- They will let you know beforehand if you might experience a downtime, I faced one downtime for less than 20 minutes when they upgraded their virtuozzo.

Help with anything- They will fix your problem, they will work with you all the time and yes they never give up.

Its very easy for anyone to learn how to run a VPS, just follow the userguides they provide you with.

I would say that they are the best people in this business. I know within a year or less, I might need a dedicated server. I wont be going for a hybrid server, I will make the leap over to the Dedicated Servers and yes WiredTree will be in my top list.

View 1 Replies View Related

WiredTree 1+ Year Review

Dec 15, 2008

WiredTree 1+ Year Review

Well its been more than 1 year now since i've been with wiredtree so i decided that i write about my experience in all these months ever since i last wrote about them at [url].

So where do i start and how do i wrap up the review ? I could do it in just few words here which would be absolutely amazing ! Their customer service and their servers Rock and i hope in coming years, we just get to see better of their services !

And i promised myself today, if they ever sell their company and my account to any new entity, i'll 1st cry out aloud for writing all the good reviews and for the good times with wiredtree and then maybe go and bomb the place before a new ordeal with new owners starts because i dont think anyone can ever run wiredtree the way Zac is running!

20/10 to you Zac for running this good show!

View 8 Replies View Related

Futurehosting / WiredTree Review

Jun 10, 2008

I have been working for more than one year with FH, and now WT for a few months, and I wanted to tell you how was my experience with them so far.

We all know FH have good reputation here so I decided to go for them with a managed 1GB (+256MB special) fully managed VPS. The improvement over past hostings (modvps, dreamhost...) was notorious, both in speed and service. Tickets were resolved fast and servers were fast and reliable. Had a couple of downtimes but nothing important. However service was going worse with time, and had couple of misunderstandings with them and what I consider not a perfect service (not bad, but not perfect) and for the specs I was paying (1250 RAM) I would expect better performance so I decided to move to another server.

I have to say that after the complete transition to the next hosting I had a big mistake on my side on the new VPS, and the only way to solve it was to recover the old backups on the old VPS. After cancelling with them they were so kind to reopen my account for a few days for free in order to recover my backups. Very nice.

I would rate them 8 out of 10 (around 1 year with them)

So after FH experience I decided to move to WiredTree. They are more expensive but everybody were speaking wonders about them so I decided to give them a try. And wow, everything was as good (or better) as expected. WiredTree has been so far the best host I have ever been, both in performance but specially on service.

I started with a VPS with 512 MB of RAM and performance was better than my 1GB+ RAM VPS with FutureHosting! While in FH I was getting email warnings and processes killed because high CPU and RAM usage, same website in "worse" VPS was running better. In addition of that, and as many people said, service was outstanding, with all tickets replied in less than 20 minutes. Impressive! For the first time in 10 years moving to host to host I was having the impression of not being oversold like all the ones I have been before and with a Support as good as you could expect (fast, efficient, and with a human touch not trying to sell you every of their additional services)

And WT have so many nice features that make a pleasure to work with them. They are constantly hearing customers and improving network and services based on their comments, adding nice additional features from time to time, and I always have the feel the whole network is improving with time.

Additionally, they saved my *** couple of times restoring backups (when I didn't had my own ones!) or adjusting some things should have been fixed on my side (being not an expert this is really appreciated!).

They are a little bit pricey than competitors, but after trying them for a few months, they absolutely deserve it, this is exactly the kind of service you could expect at any level. I recommend them to any potential VPS customer, and I hope I can stay with them for long time

My rating, 10+ out of 10!!

View 1 Replies View Related

6 Week Wiredtree.com Review

Aug 19, 2008

I just wanted to take the time to mention how happy I am with wiredtree.

I have been with them for 6 weeks now. Their uptime is second to none I have not suffererd any downtime whatsoever.

Their support is phenomonal Tickets are answered within 15 minutes if not straight away, and are always cleared up straight away.

They are always professional, polite and courteous when contacting them.

I even recieved this email today:


I just wanted to take the time to send you a quick email to make sure that everything is going well with your account here at WiredTree. If you ever need help with your server please do not hesitate to submit a support request through our client portal (https://grove.wiredtree.com). We have Systems Admins standing by to assist you any issues you might have with your server. If you have any non support related comments please feel free to let me know. Have a great week!



Toll Free: 1-866-523-8733
Local: +1 312-447-0510
Fax: +1 312-447-0514

Which I thought was a nice touch and a credit to their customer service.

If I was to recomend anyone looking for hosting wiredtree would be my first port of call.

View 2 Replies View Related

WiredTree 1 Year Review (Re-Post)

Mar 24, 2009

I have been a WiredTree customer for about one year and I am very happy with their services. One of the top VPS providers available on the world, WiredTree runs its servers in its own datacenter and it is the real peace in mind company. On January 15th 2008 I've started a VPS 512 in WiredTree using a a WHT promo offer and encountered not only one problem with billing, hardware, software, support!! I'm running 16 monster websites of my selected customers on this VPS under cPanel optimized for VPS release 4-R32603 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9. OS: CENTOS 4.7 i686 on Virtuozzo. I've recently rebooted my VPS by command line (SSH) due a new app install exigence and this task was performed in few seconds without only one problem with cPanel!! The VPS 512 has this spec:

WiredTree Fully Managed VPS512 with Cpanel
* Intel Dual Xeon Clovertown (8 CPU Cores)
* 512MB Guaranteed SLM RAM
* 2048MB Burstable RAM
* 500GB Bandwidth (100Mbps Uplink)
* 50GB RAID-10 Disk Space
* Fully Managed - 24x7 Toll-free Phone + Helpdesk Support
* 24x7 Proactive Monitoring and Service Restoration
* ServerShield Server Hardening
* 4 Dedicated IPs
* cPanel / WHM
* Virtuozzo Power Panel
Nightly Off-Server RAID Backups included

A great point in this VPS 512 is the number os disk inodes allowed for its 50GB disk space: 10,485,760 (in generally default VZPP disk inodes for 50GB are only 600,000). Disk inodes number it is a very important item in VPS spec because with much disk inodes you can host much directories and subdirectories; if the inodes number is little you will fill an entire virtual HDD (your VPS) quickly if you are hosting websites with a long files tree.

I did my order using the verified corporate PayPal account of @Macarlo Networks, Inc. and in few hours I received a phone call from WiredTree and then, few minutes after this, the welcome e-mail with my login. WiredTree is not a reseller and control it's own NOC in Chicago, Illinois, a best point for all bandwidth requests from U.S. and other countries.

My rating after one year with WiredTree:

Uptime: 10/10
Management: 10/10
Support: 10/10
Price: 10/10
Billing: 10/10

Domain for verification: http://macarloshark.com/

For evaluate the WiredTree's VPS 512 for this review I hosted there the above referred 16 websites, all setup in few minutes by cPanel version 11.15 with Fantastico De Luxe and more...Using a tarball downloaded also in few minutes from our external backup server, in Nedw York (BQBackup) I put all 16 websites data in my VPS 512, registered in my partner Dotster, Inc. the new name servers for macarloshark.com and after the propagate proccess I started all websites just fine and in high speed, including for same extra-heawy webpages we have just for evaluations on VPSs and physical dedis.

Then I started the WHT Unixbech test on January 2009 and see the output below: ....

View 4 Replies View Related

Save Your Time Go With WiredTree ** +review

Feb 6, 2009

I switched from Resellerzoom to wiredtree with a vps. I also have accounts with liquidweb and softlayer. All are reliable and uptimenot an issue but as far as getting help Wiredtree is just far above.

I have been there now only a few months but so far so good. If your not a real tech person wiredtree is your best bet. ANd the email response time wow!! I tried to call them once but by time I picked up the phone and waiting on hold for about 2 minutes my email was already responded to.

I am sure there are thousands of good host out there but I know on this boards when i looked no one would tell me whichto go with , they all said it depends on this and that. What I am saying is if your looking for a good VPS and your not a technical person go with Wiredtree save yourself the headache I had with others that are great host but just not ready to deal with us stupid people who dont know how to "harden" a server .

View 3 Replies View Related

Wiredtree 2 Year Review, Mixed Feelings

Oct 7, 2009

An outstanding experience at the begining, disapointing this year, so thats why Im leaving them.

I bought a server on July 2007

1. I performed the migration on my own, did mistakes, and Zac migrated my site. He discovered Servstra, my current provider at that time, didnt update 200 packages which were out of date. Zac updated all of them, installed a new kernel, and it solved the problem. Kudos here to Wiredtree

2. About 3 outages. On sep 2008 ticket PIE-852270, a power supply failed and server had a cooling issue, and went down 2 days, each day a few minutes. On dec 2007 ticket IJL-235362, my server switch had a power issue, site went down a few minutes. I used platinumserver manager and its monitoring service advice me on outages. All hardware problems were solved in a timely manner by WT.

3. I used to recieve quick answers from Wiredtree support ranging from 2 to 7 minutes. And solving my problems. Had the feeling of being safe with a very organized team and technical skilled.

4. I would rate them 10, I was a fan during the years 2007, and 2008.

5. For several months nothing important happened. I dropped PSM service.

6. Due to a new project, I needed a most powerful server, so I upgraded with Wiredtree.

7. They asked me to pay twice, once for the new server, and second for the older server next billing month period. Then, they would credit me the amount of money paid, minus days the migration take on server.

8. I didnt want to be billed near 800 usd in a month. So I asked billing if the upgarde was possible without charging me twice. Because billing took time to answer, I asked to the sales department, and they answered me, it was possible.

9. It happened in the last day of billing period, starting the new one next day. Sales guy encouraged me to purchase new server to speed up the process. I did. But Billing replied me a few minutes after, theres no way, so I was going to be billed for old server too. I got angry. I felt tricked by the sales guy.

10. The migration started. It took 2 days, and when I checked my mailing list database, no data was there. I got shocked. Even Zac replyed me, its ok not migrating that folder, because it was outside public_html. I got disappointed. I would expect from a managed server, take care of all migration details. migrating my data as is.

11. I discovered I werent able to connect to my server trough FTP. I asked support, even gave them details of my password. It took about 10 days to figure out a support guy, just a rsync will make work the ftp. So, the migration took 12 days.

12. Wiredtree wouldnt give me the money amount of those 12 days. I talked to Customer service director, but according to him, if the migration took 12 days, then I will recieve credit back for the next billing period, minus those 12 days. I replied back, those 12 days were thanks to Wiredtree mistakes. But he didnt move from his point of view.

13. I decided to leave, and canceled server. Customer Director called me to home yestarday to keep me as customer. I expressed, I cant trust support guys, a new set that appeared on this year, because time response to the tickets went up to 15, even hours. And took several replies to solve my problems.

14. I felt warmed by him, but didnt offer me credit me back the remaining 18 days to my credit card, so Im loosing money here. Just in case Im going back to Wiredtree in the future, then they would credit me the money, about 150 usd.

15. Actually Im migrating to a new host, and propagating DNS

16. My last ticket IFM-287539 yestarday was replied 1 hour later, and not solving my problem. I resarched trough the internet, and solved it on my own.

17. I would rate Wiredtree a 7 for this last year.

18. Summing it up: outstanding service support on the years 2007, and 2008, but dropped the time responses, and quality of them on the year 2009.

Id prefer not to disclose, neither my website, nor my name. Im moving from Wiredtree and by this time, maybe DNS propagation is done. Wiredtree already know who I am. But if a mod need info about my site, kndly tell me how can I do it.

View 14 Replies View Related

WiredTree Review (will Update With Noteworthy Events)

May 15, 2009

I came here about three days ago asking for a good managed dedicated server. WiredTree was mentioned by several people so I checked them out and managed to get a Q6600, 8GB RAM, 2x 250GB HDD's and 4000GB bandwidth for $215.20 per month. Not sure if the deal is still going on or not...anyway! This is my first server so I will try to keep everyone updated as I go through the process.

I ordered the server at about 4AM in the morning and got an e-mail telling me that they'd make a verification call at 9AM-11PM which is when those calls are normally made. I got the call at 9:05AM which is great because i'm used to always being held up by companies making promises then breaking them. The guy on the other end was friendly and asked if I had any questions. I didn't at the time so he told me the server should be up in 12 hours.

13 hours later the server is up and I get my welcome e-mail with all the important login info but I got something else I didn't expect. Actual instructions. Now I know this is a managed server but it still blows my mind that I got a starters guide which explained some of the stuff I had no clue how to do. It saves both my time and the tech supports time. So I dove in and set everything up today when I had some free time. Now i'm just waiting for the DNS to propagate.

In the meantime I decided to upload a file (which it uploaded at maximum speed) and then download that file. It never skipped a beat and I was once again maxing out my cable modem service at 700kbps. Now we will have to see how it holds up once I start having viewers all trying to grab stuff at once but it's nice to know the server is at least performing good right now since i've read some horror stories about people getting super slow download speeds even on dedicated servers with barely any hits.

Well, that's it for now. I'll make new posts when stuff worth mentioning happens. So far i'm satisfied.

View 4 Replies View Related

Limestonenetworks Review [8 Month Review]

May 5, 2009

I joined Limestonenetworks back in 2008 when it was a small company. At the time they offered the best price on the server I was looking for, so I took the plunge. The first 2 months were great, I enjoyed the stable network, and responses from the support team were fairly quick (1-2 hours response time). From there on it was all downhill, my servers were constantly down, and the support team took longer to answer my tickets. I didn't think this was a big problem, so I stayed with Limestonenetworks even though it was having problems with their network. Near December an incident occurred that really pushed me over the edge. My servers had been down for hours, so I opened a support ticket, and one of the agents replied and told me that the downtime was due to an upgrade in their network.

Again, I came to conclude that it could be far worst, so I stayed, one of the reasons was that I didn't want to switch my game servers over. It's important to keep in mind when you are running game servers, IPs play an important part because that's where you get your traffic. Near January the network upgrade at Limestonenetworks was still taking place which caused my bandwidth meter to stop working. This really scared me because I didn't want to get charged for overages due to the fact that my servers were receiving DDOS attacks, and I wouldn't know when to close the ports.

This incident actually turned out to be positive for me because even though I went over my bandwidth quota they didn't charge me for overages. I was very happy because this was like a late Christmas present, so now I was even more happy to give my money to Limestonenetworks. Now you might ask the question, how is this going downhill? Even though they didn't charge me for the overages, I still lost many clients who were angry at the fact that their game server were down.

In the end this network upgrade actually cost me 3 clients who were paying ~$60 per month. I let this slide because at this point I already had two servers with Limestonenetworks and I really didn't want to switch over due to the fact I would lose my IPs. The next month, February, was no different, I had more issues with Limestonenetworks. Starting of this month I was getting large DDOS attacks, which kept pushing my bandwidth over the quota, and I ended up paying close to $200 dollars just for bandwidth overages.

At this point they started to nickel and dime me for every single penny they could get of me. I don't know if they were having financial problems, or if it was due to another reason. Again in March I went over the quota, but at this time they told me that I had to pay per gigabyte which would result in a $500+ charge in bandwidth, and after talking with multiple agents, I was finally able to reach an agreement. They had changed a policy all of the sudden due to the fact that they knew I was a good customer and would keep paying for the overages.

The problem I had here was that I didn't mind upgrading to plan after I knew how much bandwidth was going to be used, since they don't offer any sort of DDOS protection, and game servers result in large DDOS attacks occasionally. I understand that Limestonenetworks was not at fault, but by making me pay per gigabyte was a bit harsh, since I had never been late on a payment, and had multiple servers. Try to remember that I stayed with this company even though I lost multiple clients because of their network outages, but they didn't care about this, all the care about is nickling and diming customers.

From that point on I have been living on the edge because I don't want to pay for an upgrade before hand due to the fact I don't know how much bandwidth my server will be using. Even if I upgrade to a different package it does not offer an insurance due to the fact that if I receieve a large DDOS than I orignally predicted, I would still end up paying per gigabyte.

This company has turned from having potential to just making their customers run away. Now the other problems I had with Limestonenetwork is the support they offer, which has been declining since I joined. The associates are very rude and don't really care about the customer's experience. I didn't include every problem I had with Limestonenetwork because it would make it a very long read.

Network - 10/10
Downtime - 5/10
Customer Service - 2/10
Overall Experience - 4/10
Would I recommend this company? NO, I urge everyone to stay away, unless they like to deal with problems on a daily basis.

Also from reading other topics on this forum, I personally believe that Limestonenetwork is overselling and their network can not handle the load.

View 11 Replies View Related

VT6 | 1 Month Review

Jul 31, 2007

This is my 1 month review on the company vt6 (vt6.co.uk). There is no doubt about it, they have the fastest reply times and most helpfull support. I started out on the basic plan and have just paid for the next one, i was upgraded allmost instantly but as i found it was no benfit to me i asked to downgrade and was again instantly downgraded and my money refunded.

As for the quality of the VPS, it is perfect. they dont cramm VPS's onto one server so each VPS runs smooth without any problems. Iv also had no downtime at all. Iv been with a few VPS's before this and none come close to pure quality and fantastic support that vt6 provide.

That is all for my one month review on this perfect company that i would deffinitly recommend to anyone seeking low cost quality VPS's (Or hosting that i assume will be exatcly the same)

View 8 Replies View Related

Lunarpages More Than 1 Month Review

Jan 4, 2009

The speed seem good because all my sites still under development.

The support is poor because I send ticket to cancel hosting and get money back and they did not process the ticket.

The Cpanel version is very old and I lost some new features of cpanel.

Now the cpanel does not have button to change password . I unable to change my password now.
6/10 for lunarpages.

View 4 Replies View Related

One Month Liquidweb Review

Oct 15, 2007

For those who care to read on:

I came to use Liquidweb thorugh a string of random REALLY bad luck. From "Managed" VPS that ended up not getting patched and fried due to a security exploit (PowerVPS) to a RAID failure, during a backup, causing total data loss and backup loss (RockMyWeb's VDNet). I was ready to pull my hair out. So I decided to kick out the bucks for a Liquid Web VPS Plan 2 (with a great price from a special found here). All I can say is it was a night and day difference.

The server is fast. Remote access to this VPS is a fast as my dedicated server in the office. I thought moving to cPanel was going to slow things down but this thing flies! Wow!

The service is fast. I call support and a person picks up the phone. No e-mail. No long hold times. I call, someone answers, no need to transfer to a higher tech, it's just fixed. Wow!

The one downfall. And it's only a downfall if it's not what you want. cPanel only. I'm a big DirectAdmin fan, but I'm learning my way around cPanel again.

Until I'm ready to do dedicated (I'm guessing it's coming in 2k8) this thing is awesome!

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

1x Web Hosting Talk for hooking me up with Liquidweb.

1x Web Hosting Talk Community for reviewing Liquidweb.

1x Liquidweb for the awesome service!

1x VDNet. It may sound strange but they did answer e-mails faster than anyone I had ever seen (multiple replies in under two mins). They had a great price, but bad luck drove me to change. I'm glad I did, but I wouldn't have a hard time recommending VDNet now that they fixed the problem that caused the loss of my server. (and they did give me a month free) They really did give good value for the price, and offer DirectAdmin which Liquidweb doesn't.

Anyone else care to share?


I'm not a fan of emoticons, but I did it out of love for you guys. Feel free to hammer the server a bit and tell me how fast the pages load. They're pretty quick here in Costa Rica:
CR Solutions Group Costa Rica Web Design.

View 11 Replies View Related

Steadcom 4-5 Month Review

Apr 24, 2008

I've been with Steadcom for a few months now, and I greatly their services. Such great deals have been offered to me. Each time I talk with the staff, I seem to want to use their services longer. I'm currently working with my own free hosting company and I entrust my uptime and reliability to Steadcom. I've had no problems with either of those aspects and it seems like their network is as fast as Google. If you find a better deal than this, it would be a miracle. I am working on obtaining up to six months with them for my next payment. I would fully recommend Steadcom and their services. I give it all of my reputation and respect as a business owner to acknowledge such outstanding services.

View 1 Replies View Related

Softlayer Review - 1 Month

Apr 26, 2009

I have been with SoftLayer a month now, and this is my review of their company. I will start with my pre-sales experience, going into hardware, their network, server, portal, accounting/sales, and support .

[[[[[[[ PRE SALES ]]]]]]]

I started out looking for a new server by looking at some good dedicated hosts. I saw SoftLayer offered the new Nehalem series, so I went for it. Their sales team is excellent beyond all reasons -- the staff are personal and do NOT try to take your money; instead, they find the best-fit solution for you and work with you by calling you, showing you their specials, and talking to managers.

[[[[[[ HARDWARE ]]]]]]]

The Hardware at SL is top-notch. There's no problem with it, it's clearly stated in the portal what type of motherboard, HDs, RAM, etc are in the server and it's top-notch Supermicro hardware. I've never seen a problem with it, and I have seen the certificate of passing benchmarks as that is done on all SL servers by default.

Their provisioning system is excellent, I got my server in 2-3 hours at MAX. WOW! It is all inside the portal too; you can view the status (PE_BOOT, OS_RELOAD); it's clearly there and excellent. We finally got VIRTUOZZO (thanks natecarlson ) working with it too.

[[[[ SERVER ]]]]]

What can I say? This is the new Nehalem series. I think the deal I got was quite good, I brought several SL servers before I switched to this one, and it did take a while to get it down to this price (especially for SL quality, damn!) :

-Intel Dual Quad Core (2x) X5570 Nehalem 2.93GHZ w/ HT
-12 x 300GB SAS 15K Seagate Cheetah HD's in RAID 10
-12GB DDR3 RAM (to start)
-4000GB Monthly Bandwith
-1GigE Port Speed
-64 IP Addresses
-Monitoring & Automated Reboot
$1,100 a month -- which I think is good for this type of server.

It's blazing fast and 0 problems.

[[[[ NETWORK ]]]]

I started in their Dallas, TX datacenter with a Dual 5450, but decided to get a 2U server with SAS HD's. Sadly, they said they were out of stock in Dallas. They said they can get me an EXTRA DISCOUNT if I went to Washington DC. I live an hour or two from DC, so it was good for me. I debated, and talked to them, they said it was a great place and I went with their Washington D.C datacenter .

It's fast. Blazing fast. They have like 100GBPS connectivity -- with many backbone providers. I've never seen so many . I'm liking the nework speeds and it really is nice.

[[[[ PORTAL ]]]]

The best part. They have their 'manage.softlayer.com' and their mobile 'manage.softlayer.mobi' portals. They are excellent. I don't even need support, and when I do, it's there. I mean, I'm STILL exploring their portal system. It has so much stuff; "Instant cPanel Licenseing, Instant Firewall, Upgrades, IP's, OS reloads, Installs, Backups" -- I love it. It makes my life a lot easier and quiker. I've had a server with ThePlanet, HiVelocity, and more and SL portal blows them all away

[[[ SUPPORT ]]]

The support is great. In the times I need it, it's there. Within 15 minutes I get a response and usually in under an hour, a resolution. It's excellent in what they provide at an unmanaged rate, and the $3 tickets are great in my opinion for those quick issues that you just can't figure out. They even helped me with a bit of PHP help!


It's there any time I needed it. I got servers upgraded, downgraded, reclaimed, removed, created, OS reloaded, invoices adjusted, and it's there. They respond within 1 hour usually and it's great for a sales team. Personally it's awesome how they have excellent teams for support and sales! The reps are VERY nice and friendly too, and they offer some nice discounts .

[[[ OVERALL ]]]

I give SoftLayer a 10/10+. They are everything I expect from a provider (heck, they are better than most managed providers I've been with) and more. I urge you to try them out, they will try to fit your budget as good as you can do it.

View 10 Replies View Related

SoftLayer 3 Month Review

Mar 15, 2008

I'd first like to follow up with my end at GNAX. I ended up going down to them on the 31st to pick up my colo server and get my refund. All went generally well, except for the "I'll be back in 5 mins" that took more than 30 mins for some sales/billing guy to get me my stuff. Signed some papers, and my money was refunded in full. In the end, a happy ending with GNAX.

Now, while all that was ongoing, I moved over to a dedicated server at Softlayer quick as I could because I knew with 100% certainty that Jeff would have my service terminated when I posted the chat log of him threatening me - a controversial decision I still stand by for what it's worth.

First, lets talk about sales with Softlayer. My God - I have never seen anything like this. With GNAX, sales would consist of me sending a ticket and waiting days, or it getting closed randomly, then having to wait more and more. A 48-hour max setup time with GNAX ended up being 5+ days and still no setup. Softlayer. I was doing Live Chat with an agent who was extremely helpful. Too move the process along quicker, I asked if I could call and speak with him, and sure enough, he game me a toll free number and I spoke with him through the entire ordering process. Not only was he extremely knowlegeable and helpful, but he also pointed me to a special I was unaware of where I got double the RAM and a second hard drive for free. I ended up ordering a dual core Xeon setup, but I actually got setup with a quad Core Xeon X3220. No mistake they said, they were just out of what I ordered so they gave me a quad core for the price of a dual core. And all of this happened in less than 4 hours. Yep, that's right. I went from on the phone with sales to having my brand new quad core for the price of a dual core with twice the RAM and HDD for free in under four hours. I was actually shocked. After being with GNAX so long, I had no idea that anything even under a 24 hour wait was possible (which it wasn't with GNAX btw), and they didn't hold my order because of being short on inventory like GNAX did - they just gave me a free upgrade with no delay!

With GNAX, I have never been able to be in such control of my server as I am now with Softlayer. With GNAX, lets say, I wanted to change or add reverse DNS for an IP, I would have to send a ticket and wait hours and hours and hours for them to do it. With Softlayer, I login to the portal, and click click type, click and it's done and live. All by myself! Their portal is the most powerful thing I have ever seen and it allows me to do and see everything.

Their support, I'm convinced, is second to none. I once had three days of downtime with GNAX because of a hardware problem (their hardware) they just couldn't fix. The motherboard has gone bad and I had to wait three days for them to find another identical motherboard to replace mine with. Apparently, they don't like to keep hardware on hand in case of emergency. In the mean time, I was faced with a lot of pissed off people who couldn't access the server for three days while all GNAX did was "we're looking, we're trying". Three days downtime is unacceptable, GNAX's support is just horrible. Phone support is essentially non-existent. When, on occasion, people pick up the phone, I'm simply told to submit a ticket and they'll get to it - when it's convenient for them. Support with Softlayer is drastically different, I can call support and pick their brains on technical problems for as long as I need. Recently, something went wrong when I was moving IP addresses around with my servers, and I was able to submit a ticket, call them, and they resolved it while on the phone with me. Some other small issues cropped up, and I replied to the ticket as it was non-urgent, and they had it fixed it about 20 mins. THAT people, is how support. Again, after being with GNAX for so long and having to wait hours, and sometimes days for support, having things fixed on the phone with me or via ticket in under 15 mins really caught me off guard.

Sales - part two.

Incredibly impressed with the sales and support I have seen so far, I recently ordered a second server. Again, I did this over the phone and was given an amazing deal - one not even on their site! In the end, it'll save me about $60/month on my second server. Pretty decent I say.

Other stuff.

They have a forum! That's not what's cool in itself, but it's cool that its integrated into my portal account. Now, GNAX has a forum too, but you first have to email GNAX and ask for their blessing to sign up there.

Another nifty thing about Softlayer is their developer API. Their API enables tons of cool things, like I can see my uptime and bandwidth usage from within WHMCS. With GNAX, I would have to go find which one of my logins for their seemingly hundreds of disintegrated services. Having everything being in one place and under one login with Softlayer.

Basically, if you need a dedicated server provider, choose Softlayer. Leaving GNAX (well, being forced out) and moving to Softlayer is the best thing that has ever happened to me an my company.

View 8 Replies View Related

Softlayer Two Month Review

Oct 9, 2009

Alright, Ive been with them for a little over two months and I have been with them before. Their support is excellent, their servers' are excellent, their network is excellent, their portal is excellent, and not having to deal with Cogent directly is a joy.

I first singed on with them 11/9/08 till 12/29/08 everything went well I closed my account simply because I didn't need the server again.

My current server with them as of this post is $199.00/mth and I get the following

CPU : Xenon X3230 Quad Core @ 2.66 Ghz
Ram : 4GB
OS : Server Standard 2008 64 bit
1000 mbps 2 TB of bandwidth
Washington, DC Data Center
2x 250GB SATA II

Having a server with them has been nothing short of amazing zero downtime caused by them and most anything a managed host will do they will do for you free. I was having issues with routes and simply asked them and within ten minutes they had changed it according to what I would prefer. I have had a DoS attack before that was pushing 800 mbps of traffic and they sent me an email and I opened a ticket and they blocked the attackers' addresses at my switch. Very quickly and not much damage was done. Overall I'm very pleased and I would recommend them to anyone.

View 6 Replies View Related

Virpus Review: 1 Month

Apr 9, 2009

Here is my review of Virpus after being with them for 1 month.

Uptime: 10/10

So far I have not experienced any outages and I am going to have to give them a 10 on that as I have seen many threads in the outages about them but it appears they solved that issue and I was never effected by any of those.

Support: 8/10

I will give the support a 8 as sometimes on off times it could take up to about 30 minutes for the first response which is great but then after that the responses tend to be around 2 hours or so. Overall though the support is great!

Price: 10/10

I signed up with there plan that was cPanel included and had double bandwidth and ram. I was thinking it was too good to be true and that the VPS was not going to be quality, but I am glad I was wrong!

Performance: 9/10

The performance of the server is overall great so far. I have had no issues as far as the server being anything but fast. I will have to commend them on having great hardware and not overselling there services like a lot of the VPS providers these days.

Overall: 9/10

I would highly recommend them as they have been a great provider overall and I hope that they keep up the good work in the future.

Domain has been reported for verification.

View 5 Replies View Related

Downtownhost 3+ Month Review

Aug 22, 2008

I wrote an initial setup experience review of downtown host including support w/ transferring my sites a few months ago. Now I am going to extend the review with reliability, speed and performance.

So far, the support and helpfulness has been the same. Rarely does support wait longer than 10 min to respond to questions. They are always responded with a great attitude.

Reliability of all my sites has been 100%. I have seen no downtime at all since I got my account. Truly fabulous. The only time a site has gone down was not their fault...it was my fault...for messing up the database they restored it within minutes after I sent a high priority technical support ticket too.

Speed and performance go hand in hand. Sites are quick and responsive. Just as responsive as a content management system on any dedicated in my opinion. Download speeds are always the same. Never does the download or upload speed fluctuate by more than 10 kbps up or down from the average (totally unlike dreamhost where it would fluctuate as much as 400-500 kbps depending on the day).

All scripts I have used have responded very quickly without any problems that I would encounter with dreamhost (like cut off scripts due to time it took the servers to run through them).

View 5 Replies View Related

SolarVPS -- 6 Month Review

Aug 14, 2008

Man, it seems just like yesterday that I initially signed up for a VPS from SolarVPS, but the truth is, I have been with them for just over 6 months now.

What can I say about SolarVPS besides that they completely rock! Not to mention Douglas, but we won't go there

The Network

The network at SolarVPS is nothing short of amazing. I get lightning fast speeds and rock solid performance no matter the time of day. I have not experienced even one network hiccup in the 6 months that I have been with SolarVPS. I constantly get compliments from people about how fast the network really is.

The Hardware

SolarVPS uses nothing less than the best hardware. The VPS node that my VPS is located on has Dual Quad Xeons and performance is amazing. They do not overload their servers and use SLM parameteres with Virtuozzo instead of the old school UBC. I know that I can use all of my resources without battling with other VPS instances on the node.

The Support

Solar's support is by far outstanding. I have never had to wait for extended periods of time to get an answer to even the most complex questions. I can rest assured that no matter the time of day, or night, there will always be a Solar rep there to answer even the stupidest of questions, in a very timely manner. Unlike some hosts that I have used, Solar's support understands my questions and gets them taken care of instead of giving nonsense responses to try and buy time to get the job done.

The Overall Experience

The overall experience at SolarVPS is awesome. I know that I can trust my online business in their hands. SolarVPS is highly recommended to anyone who needs rock solid performance with extreme reliability.

Support - 10/10
Network - 10/10
Hardware - 10/10
The Staff - 10/10

Just a warning... Watch out for that Douglas character that mans their live chat.

View 8 Replies View Related

Copyrights 2005-15 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved