WholesaleInternet - Ongoing Review

Jul 4, 2009

I'm going to use this thread as a my home for an ongoing review of wholesaleinternet.com

Before Signing Up

I've been stalking wholesaleinternet for a few months now, mainly because they are the closest datacenter to my house with reasonable prices. In fact, they seem to actually be one of the few datacenters that price their servers at a level that will make them a profit, while still beating everyone else out there.

Before actually signing up with them I wanted to test their datacenter, mainly ping times, etc... So instead of getting a dedicated server with them, I went through a few other companies who colo with them.

Over the past three months there was only one issue, a bad switch. However, they had it fixed as fast as they could and kept everyone updated via WHT.

So after that I decided it was time to get a server with them.

Initial Contact

Aaron (the owner) was quick to respond to my emails and has always been very helpful. He worked with me on a custom setup, which is quite frankly, the best deal I have ever received on a server, ever.

The Setup

They work fast. I had them install CentOS with partitioning for OpenVZ and RAID1... There was only a couple of hours between the time I paid and the time my server was online.

The server is exactly what I ordered (in fact, it's more than I ordered), which is rare for me. Maybe I just have bad luck, but I seem to get misconfigured servers from other datacenters and it takes hours/days to get it fixed.

30-90 Day Review...

Coming in 30-90 days...

View 14 Replies


ADVERTISEMENT

Limestone - Ongoing Review

Jul 1, 2008

I was at the planet for the last several years and decided to make the switch based on reviews on this forum and talking with their reps.

First off, Mike with the sales live chat was VERY helpful and answered all of my questions.

Answered questions about power, # of uplinks, average hardware replacement time etc. All were satisfactory to me.

In the end we went with the Celeron 352/2 GB ram/80GB SATA for 64.99 a month. I will be saving 25 a month off my dedicated server over the planet. A killer deal! Plus we have double the ram now. I couldn't convince my partner to go the X2 4000+ route for 10 more a month . We really don't need the power.

Initial impressions of the client panel are good (rokstar or something). Now for them to turn the power on .. 15 minutes and counting..

View 1 Replies View Related

Ongoing IWeb Review

Jun 5, 2008

On Tuesday, June 3rd I placed an order for the Dedicated budget plan I found on google. The plan consisted of the following:

2.4ghz Celeron
1gb RAM
320GB SATAII
3000 GB Transfer
10mbit connection
$69/mo
$0 Setup

I searched around for hours and found ones close but not quite what I wanted for close to the same price. I finally placed my order at around 4:00pm CDT and had the forms filled out and faxed in by 4:30pm CDT

Yesterday I got no contact except for a reply from billing confirming they received my forms(in reply to an email I sent them).

This morning I had an email from billing stating they couldn't read my handwriting on my credit auth form(I have bad handwriting). I resent the form with the information typed in. I found out later that this delayed the setup of my server. (Hour 53 now)

I will say their Live Chat was not very helpful nor was phone support, nor my account manager. I got no response from my account manager, and live chat kept telling me to conatct my account manager and phone support directed me to email sales@iweb.com instead of jeanluc@iweb.com. In desperation I started scouring google and came across WHT and saw some of Martin(atchooo)'s response to other customers problem and was impressed, so I followed the link to his blog and found his (creative) email address. I sent him an email detailing the issues I was having. Within 10-20 minute he had responded letting me know he would look into it, about 10 minute after that I got this response ....

View 6 Replies View Related

WebNX Ongoing Review

Sep 21, 2007

While talking to as many people as I could find and comparing prices I decided to go with webnx.

I am currently hosted with iweb but my current p4 is getting slaughtered by my users so I needed to upgrade.

First result was I clicked live chat and asked to talk to support to help me pick out my server, I talked to dan for probbly 3 hrs discussing options and different setups that we could do.

I decided on :
Dual opteron 254 ( 2 processors 2 cores (one processor is faster then our current setup))
2x 146gb 10k rpm scsi drives (mirrored)
4gb ram

I am just waiting on my bill now but if this impression I received from the company based on Dan then I am sure I will be happy, I will post next week with setup time, and then next month on uptime.

View 14 Replies View Related

22 Months At Wholesaleinternet Review

Mar 4, 2007

Time really flies, I never expect to be using Wholesaleinternet for 22 months now. I took up the offer when Aaron and James graciously dug out one of their Windows 2000 license and installed that on one of their low end machine for me. That was a whole 22 months ago.

It was a low end machine, but it had been extremely stable, really a work horse type. I took it for a friend who needs hosting in the USA. I am leaving because he does not need it anymore.

My review on the server.

1. Initially there was some teething problems due to the power supply of the building their datacentre was in. That last some time. After their move to the new building, all these issues disappear.

2. Beginning there were some DOS attacks, it seemed to be disappear as time passed.

3. The biggest downtime was when another client put our IPs into their box, when we rebooted, server can't get up. We are using a low end dedicated server, so we do not have separate Vlan.

These are the 3 issues we faced. The first two seemed more or less solved. The last was a one time affair.

Support was timely, courteous and knowledgeble. Server seemed to be made of steel, no hardware failure despite being a low end model.

Sad to leave. I would say it had been a good beginning and a good ending.

View 1 Replies View Related

Downtown Host : Ongoing Review

Aug 19, 2009

I recently picked up an account with Downtown Host to host my dad's site and wanted to start a thread that I will update as time goes by. I know there's a "honeymoon period" with most hosts and sometimes, like my wife (LOL.. kidding *hides*), things change as things progress..but I have been very impressed.

So, to get things started...

Ordering Process

Easy as it usually is these days. Although the space isn't really needed, I picked up their Bronze plan for 6 months and it worked out to be about $50 USD thanks to a handy coupon. This is the first time I have ever had enough preliminary confidence in a host to go for 6 months up front (outside of getting a ridiculous deal) and I hope to not to be disappointed and regret the decision.

DTH does use a phone call fraud verification system on new orders which I appreciate. I think it shows that they are proactive in sorting out bad purchases and is one of the nicer fraud-detection interfaces I have come across. I believe Wirenine is the only other host I have used that employs a similar system.

Jorge (Jedito on WHT) was very helpful in the ordering process which, again, I appreciate and was pro-active in helping me getting me on board quickly even going so far as to drop me a line welcoming me aboard.

Initial Transfer, Etc.

Once again, very easy. There were a few hiccups that were issues on the previous host's side in terms of creating cPanel back ups so things could get moved over. Both techs were extremely helpful and kept me updated throughout the process, notifying me of even the slightest issue (again, none on their side) in getting files moved over for two domains, some of which included add-on domains.

One of the sites I moved over included a wordpress blog that was previous its own account under a reseller plan so I had a question regarding the process of switching over the MySQL database information to ensure the blog worked off the tip. Again, DTH was very helpful and gave me instructions on what I needed to do to make sure there was no interruption in serving the blog. They certainly didn't have to help me with the changes so it was really nice of them to do so.

Performance

In a word - fast. Once the nameservers switched over for the main site (cincihost-dot-com), I entered the address and *bam*. No lagged delays with larger-sized images, they just popped up. Previously, the page loaded somewhat "in order". Not anymore. I hit "Enter" and it was there. Nice.

cPanel loads fast and in checking the server load here and there, it is always below 1.00.

Support

As I have alluded to above, support is fantastic. The first ticket I submitted took a bit to be responded to which was worrying. Who knows what happened, but it was responded to, oddly, shortly after I mentioned it to someone. From that point, support has been lightning fast. As I think happens a lot of times, I have submitted a few tickets in order to get everything set up and going and they have all been responded to or updated within 15 to 20 minutes. I recently submitted a ticket to have my cPanel theme changed (it default to a RVSkin which I do not like) and it was resolved in, literally, one minute. Fastest support I have ever experienced.

Summation

Really the only thing I didn't like was that cPanel loads the green RVSkin which seems cartoony to me and I much prefer the original x3 theme. This was quickly changed so no biggie.

Everything else has been absolutely fantastic as you can probably surmise.

I look forward to being hosted with DTH and have a good feeling that my father and I will be with them for a long time to come.

Thanks to Jorge, Sebastian and everyone at Downtown Host!

View 14 Replies View Related

Ongoing Review Server.lu [week1]

Nov 5, 2009

I've been building a new services over the last two month and needed a server to host it. I've initially ordered a server at an other provider (which will be getting a very bad review shortly) but after three weeks I still didn't get the server.

While desperately browsing these forums looking for a replacement I noticed a few posts by a server.lu staff member, I've heard some good things about them in the past so I decided to send them a pm with the question if they could deliver a server with the specs I needed. Within 5 minutes I got a response (it was past 00:00 at that point, talk about service). And I think it was about 30 minutes later my server was up and running.

And as an added bonus it was a quad-core instead of the dual-core advertised. What the other provider failed to do in 3 weeks server.lu had done in a matter of minutes.

To see if that was just a lucky coincidence I ordered a 2nd server yesterday and again it was setup with a few minutes.

Server.lu is off to a very good start, my 2 month review will tell you if they can keep it up.

View 14 Replies View Related

Wholesaleinternet Review (4 Months Review)

Sep 12, 2008

I've got high end server from WholeSaleinternet.I've been with Wholesaleinternet for 4 months now and I am extremely happy with them.Got an awesome server for a cheap price, a Quad-Core Xeon 8 Processor (3.0GHZ), 32GB RAM, 100mbit port link.
Support:

Sales support is slow but tech support is fast!

That you very much Aaron/Wholesaleinternet!, keep up the good work!

View 10 Replies View Related

Fivebean.com VPS - Initial Experience, Planned Ongoing Review

Jun 23, 2009

Fivebean.com VPS -

[url]

Although the domain was registered in 4/15/08, I could find next to nothing on WHT or the Ďnet in general in the way of reviews on FiveBean. Saw a lot of specials and things they have been running off and on at different venues and boards, but couldnít find a review to save my life. I did search pretty thoroughly. No web cache on web.archive.org either.

So, Iíll be the first to post one (that I know of), with a special they are offering, itís very affordable, if the service turns out to be good enough, then I have another node at a great price J. The more, the merrier. Win / Win 4 all.
(FiveBean also offers shared hosting, so not exclusively a VPS provider.)

Hardware nodes Ė
From their site:
ďVPS Nodes are built with Intel Core2 Quad Processors, Premium SATA Disks and RAID Protection powered by CentOS 5.x and MoxieVM. Each VPS server is backed up daily and we provide 2 full backups to our customers.Ē

Although I never rely on providerís backups, itís good to see them offered as standard. Could come in handy.

They offer 5 plans; I ordered the middle-of-the road ďStarterĒ. All VPSs appear to be OpenVZ based.

Ordered Plan -
512M / 1G burst
40G HDD
450G BW
1 IP
CentOS 5 for initial load

Initial order, small issue -
Placed order at about midnight, got my welcome email at 7:40 AM.
One issue was, I did not receive any emails from their ordering system, other than the PayPal-originating receipt. The emails were listed under the Client Area, so I still had access to read. Since I own and admin my own mail servers, I checked logs -
Emails from ordering system were sent from a non-FQDN domain.
From SMTP logfile:
RECEIVED: MAIL FROM:<fivebean@kona> SIZE=3560
Mail server rejected because of the incomplete domain.
This appeared to be an issue with the sign-up process only. All support ticket replies came from a FQDN. I described this problem in a support ticket, curios to see if they really do look @ and fix. Maybe on my second order?
Everything initially ordered during the process was delivered, with no follow-ups required to correct anything. That's a little rare, from my experiences.


They offer online chat support, but have not caught it online as of yet, although I havenít checked before 9PM on any given day, so not a fair eval on that aspect. FWIW.

- On to the goodies -

Control panel -
Apparently, FiveBean previously used HyperVM, but has since disabled and rolled out their own self-spun VM manager, "moxieVM". It's a simple, yet effective, web interface that allows me to do everything I need to, and everything works. That's always a good plus!
moxieVM control panel contains the following:
VPS list facility / user profile control / pass reset
VPS Controls -- Reboot / Start / Stop / Rebuild OS / Set Reverse DNS
Report (simple) shows -- OS currently installed / Monthly BW Usage total / Current Memory Usage / Action Log of previous control commands

Noteworthy - when you select "reboot / start / stop" there is no confirmation, action is queued and executed immediately. Good info to know.

Rebuilds -
FiveBean offers 13 OS rebuild option w/ 6 Flavors - Ubuntu / Suse / Slackware / Fedora / Debian / CentOS, 32/64bit in most.
Reload of OS (From CentOS 5 to Fedora 10) took about 4 minutes. Note - keep your original root login password! On OS reload, the pass is reset to the original you receive in your VPS welcome email, NOT whatever you have currently changed it to. I can see this being an issue if itís been a while since you have reloaded and end up digging out the old email. A little different than HyperVM.

Network -
Ping times are consistently 15-16ms from/to Austin, 21ms from/to Atlanta, 12-18ms from/to Kansas City, MO. Traceroute to node (69.162.118.226) puts them behind Limestone Networks in Dallas, Tx.
One thing I can report, their network seems to be very peppy. I've had a hard time hitting anything from / to the VPS with more than 20ms. I haven't seen a 30ms yet. From anywhere. An I have VPSs from coast to coast.

VPS / Initial Order-
Hostname was set properly right off the bat, both initially and on OS reloads.
Reverse DNS PTR self-set worked without having to put in a ticket, a first for sure! I just entered the rDNS PTR I required, waited about an hour, and it was set and propagated, ready to go. No muss, no fuss.
Although I haven't put any load on the system, the CLI is responding very fast, and pings / traces / nslookups are very quick (as stated above).
The only issue at all so far was the aforementioned order response email non-FQDN flurb. But, stuff happens. Small beans (pun intended).

AUP
No porn, excessive violence, hate, deception, illegal
IRC that causes no disturbances is allowed. I really prefer non-IRC networks, but they have a long lecture about it in the AUP, so it appears they watch activity pretty close.

Nuts n Bolts -

Benchmark
(benchmark is on newly loaded system, minimal install FC 10, no load)
------------------
INDEX VALUES
TEST BASELINE RESULT INDEX

Dhrystone 2 using register variables 376783.7 11243614.3 298.4
Double-Precision Whetstone 83.1 1239.4 149.1
Execl Throughput 188.3 5574.6 296.0
File Copy 1024 bufsize 2000 maxblocks 2672.0 127493.0 477.1
File Copy 256 bufsize 500 maxblocks 1077.0 48517.0 450.5
File Read 4096 bufsize 8000 maxblocks 15382.0 803836.0 522.6
Pipe-based Context Switching 15448.6 509724.8 329.9
Pipe Throughput 111814.6 1790127.7 160.1
Process Creation 569.3 16151.2 283.7
Shell Scripts (8 concurrent) 44.8 1055.8 235.7
System Call Overhead 114433.5 1246883.8 109.0

=========
FINAL SCORE 270.6

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Conclusions Ė so far, so good. Iím actually pretty impressed with everything Iíve seen up to this point. Iím planning on putting the server under load as a backend node of a busy websiteís load balancer. Iíll post follow ups as we go along.

View 14 Replies View Related

Wholesaleinternet?

Oct 21, 2008

I'v a server with wholesaleinternet 2 months ago,and I have some questions:

1. Why wholesaleinternet do not reply my 2 tickets that submited 5 days or a month ago, live chat nerver online, how many employees they have?

2. Wholesaleinternet says I have 1500GB Transfer , but where to find the bandwidth graph?

View 6 Replies View Related

WholeSaleInternet.com

Jul 10, 2008

Its been about one week since I ordered my server. I received my server with DA about 4 or 5 days after I ordered it, after I was told it would be setup in 1-2 days.

After they sent me the login details I found there were issues within the server. PHP didn't seem to run properly, mailing issues also seemed to occur. After telling them this they did not say anything about checking the server and fixing etc.

Its been now 3 days since the last email I sent I asked for a refund as I dont want to move my sites over to a server that is not functioning properly.

I was very suprised as it seemed like they were a good host and had decent reviews on WHT. The one thing I want is just to simply get my money back and move on.

View 14 Replies View Related

WholesaleInternet Reviews

Mar 23, 2009

Does anyone have any experience with WholesaleInternet? How's the uptime, support, etc...

View 9 Replies View Related

Wholesaleinternet.com Uptime

Apr 25, 2009

has anyone here had a server with wholesaleinternet.com for a while? Preferably someone that can post some uptime statistics? A publicly available uptime report for at least the last six months would be perfect...

View 2 Replies View Related

Any Expereince With Wholesaleinternet

Apr 14, 2008

I saw some good offers from Wholesaleinternet and wanted to try them out. To check them out I called them at their number on website during office hours and it said something like "101 extension not available" . Then I tried out live support which said online and when I requested chat after waiting for 15-16 mins it returned me back to the starting page.

I wonder if they can be trusted or is it a one man show ? Any using them how do you contact them ? What is their response time and service quality ? Do they really
have something in USA or doing offshore operations ?

View 5 Replies View Related

WholeSaleInternet Reviews

May 24, 2008

I have been with Wholesale internet now for 6 months. I am very happy with there services. i have had some downtime but it was usually back up within a few mins. There support is fast when it comes to server being down but slow on normal things. Although i am very happy with them even if normal support is down.

I would recommend wholesaleinternet to everyone. I have two decided servers with them but i host my own site on another server.

View 3 Replies View Related

Ongoing Blacklisting

Aug 28, 2007

For the last month I've had problems with my VPS being blacklisted, and it always seems to be around the same time of day.

Anyway, the VPS is managed, but it's a right pain the backside getting support to deal with the problem for me and sort it out. I get answers like "Its a PHP script", and when I ask which script they say they can't find out.

After getting advice from people on this forum, I asked support to setup exim so that it recorded the folder of any scripts sending out mail, but when I run grep so show any exim_mainlog entries with cwd= there is very little appearing appart from genuine mails being sent by contact forms on websites.

I managed to get evidence of a mail which caused the server to be blacklisted and sent this to support, who said the mails are being send via header injection on contact scripts, so I've got through the contact scripts and changed them, but again, still blacklisted.

I may be wrong here, but surely if someone was doing mail injection then I would be receiving copies of the mail myself as the website mails me with the enquiry, and also surely the exim_mainlog would so the folder containing the script as sending mails...but it doesnt.

I'm completely lost here, somehow mail is being sent from the server, whether it be via a script or what, but I can't(and neither can support) determine the exact script that is sending mail.

Here is a snippet of the exim_mainlog from around the time the evidence mail was sent.

Code:
Aug 25 21:59:40 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: checking message <16291601c7e75a$d5a016e0$0d4cb34c@ALLEN> for thegran:32010
Aug 25 21:59:46 awt spamd[23731]: spamd: connection from localhost [127.0.0.1] at port 47366
Aug 25 21:59:46 awt spamd[23731]: spamd: setuid to libraifa succeeded
Aug 25 21:59:46 awt spamd[23731]: spamd: checking message <494307824222.548029453854@flcjn.net> for libraifa:32006
Aug 25 21:59:48 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: identified spam (17.1/5.0) for thegran:32010 in 7.7 seconds, 1050 bytes.
Aug 25 21:59:48 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: result: Y 17 - BAYES_99,DATE_IN_PAST_06_12,FORGED_MUA_OUTLOOK,INVALID_MSGID,RCVD_IN_BL_SPAMCOP_NET,RCVD_IN_PBL,RDNS_DYNAMIC,STOX_REPLY_TYPE,URIBL_BLACK,URIBL_RHS_DOB,URIBL_SBL scantime=7.7,size=1050,user=thegran,uid=32010,required_score=5.0,rhost=localhost,raddr=127.0.0.1,rport=47347,mid=<16291601c7e75a$d5a016e0$0d4cb34c@ALLEN>,bayes=1.000000,autolearn=spam
Aug 25 21:59:48 awt spamd[28500]: prefork: child states: IB
Aug 25 21:59:52 awt spamd[23731]: spamd: identified spam (12.3/2.5) for libraifa:32006 in 6.4 seconds, 6742 bytes.
Aug 25 21:59:52 awt spamd[23731]: spamd: result: Y 12 - AXB_XMID_1212,BAYES_60,EXTRA_MPART_TYPE,HTML_IMAGE_ONLY_04,HTML_MESSAGE,MIME_HTML_MOSTLY,MPART_ALT_DIFF,RCVD_IN_PBL,RCVD_IN_XBL,RDNS_NONE scantime=6.4,size=6742,user=libraifa,uid=32006,required_score=2.5,rhost=localhost,raddr=127.0.0.1,rport=47366,mid=<494307824222.548029453854@flcjn.net>,bayes=0.654621,autolearn=no
Aug 25 21:59:52 awt spamd[28500]: prefork: child states: II
Aug 25 21:59:53 awt pop3d: LOGIN, user=andrew@myhomeonthe.net, ip=[::ffff:212.159.101.86]
Aug 25 21:59:56 awt pop3d: LOGOUT, user=andrew@myhomeonthe.net, ip=[::ffff:212.159.101.86], top=0, retr=39944, rcvd=56, sent=40746, time=3
Aug 25 22:04:12 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: connection from localhost [127.0.0.1] at port 48176
Aug 25 22:04:12 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: setuid to libraifa succeeded
Aug 25 22:04:12 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: checking message <E1IP2ng-0002eI-Eg@wear.readytogo.net> for libraifa:32006
Aug 25 22:04:20 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: clean message (-2.6/2.5) for libraifa:32006 in 7.6 seconds, 1827 bytes.
Aug 25 22:04:20 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: result: . -2 - AWL,BAYES_00 scantime=7.6,size=1827,user=libraifa,uid=32006,required_score=2.5,rhost=localhost,raddr=127.0.0.1,rport=48176,mid=<E1IP2ng-0002eI-Eg@wear.readytogo.net>,bayes=0.000000,autolearn=ham
Aug 25 22:04:20 awt spamd[28500]: prefork: child states: II
Aug 25 22:09:29 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: connection from localhost [127.0.0.1] at port 49145
Aug 25 22:09:29 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: setuid to gbtravel succeeded
Aug 25 22:09:29 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: checking message <putcgcbfbhamfer@fruitpads.com> for gbtravel:32017
Aug 25 22:09:39 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: identified spam (12.6/5.0) for gbtravel:32017 in 10.2 seconds, 5003 bytes.
Aug 25 22:09:39 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: result: Y 12 - BAYES_99,HTML_IMAGE_ONLY_32,HTML_MESSAGE,LOCALPART_IN_SUBJECT,MSGID_SPAM_LETTERS,SPF_PASS,TVD_RATWARE_MSGID_02,URIBL_BLACK,URI_NOVOWEL scantime=10.2,size=5003,user=gbtravel,uid=32017,required_score=5.0,rhost=localhost,raddr=127.0.0.1,rport=49145,mid=<putcgcbfbhamfer@fruitpads.com>,bayes=1.000000,autolearn=no
Aug 25 22:09:39 awt spamd[28500]: prefork: child states: II
Aug 25 22:10:06 awt pop3d: LOGIN, user=andrew@myhomeonthe.net, ip=[::ffff:212.159.101.86]
Aug 25 22:10:07 awt pop3d: LOGOUT, user=andrew@myhomeonthe.net, ip=[::ffff:212.159.101.86], top=0, retr=0, rcvd=12, sent=39, time=1
Aug 25 22:11:27 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: connection from localhost [127.0.0.1] at port 49520
Aug 25 22:11:27 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: setuid to libraifa succeeded
Aug 25 22:11:27 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: checking message <000601c7e75c$894ed180$0100007f@fpviosw> for libraifa:32006
Aug 25 22:11:36 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: identified spam (16.3/2.5) for libraifa:32006 in 8.5 seconds, 19328 bytes.
Aug 25 22:11:36 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: result: Y 16 - BAYES_60,HTML_IMAGE_ONLY_12,HTML_MESSAGE,HTML_SHORT_LINK_IMG_2,RCVD_IN_BL_SPAMCOP_NET,RCVD_IN_PBL,RCVD_IN_SORBS_WEB,RCVD_IN_XBL,RDNS_NONE,SHORT_HELO_AND_INLINE_IMAGE,URIBL_BLACK,URIBL_JP_SURBL,URIBL_SBL,URIBL_SC_SURBL scantime=8.5,size=19328,user=libraifa,uid=32006,required_score=2.5,rhost=localhost,raddr=127.0.0.1,rport=49520,mid=<000601c7e75c$894ed180$0100007f@fpviosw>,bayes=0.726583,autolearn=spam
Aug 25 22:11:36 awt spamd[28500]: prefork: child states: II
Aug 25 22:16:17 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: connection from localhost [127.0.0.1] at port 50217
Aug 25 22:16:17 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: setuid to sr8 succeeded
Aug 25 22:16:17 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: checking message <984907979.55364767348457@utsc.utoronto.ca> for sr8:32004
Aug 25 22:16:26 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: identified spam (12.9/5.0) for sr8:32004 in 9.3 seconds, 9431 bytes.
Aug 25 22:16:26 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: result: Y 12 - DATE_IN_FUTURE_03_06,FH_HELO_EQ_D_D_D_D,FUZZY_CREDIT,HELO_DYNAMIC_IPADDR2,HTML_MESSAGE,HTML_OBFUSCATE_10_20,MIME_HTML_ONLY,RCVD_IN_PBL,RDNS_DYNAMIC,TVD_RCVD_IP scantime=9.3,size=9431,user=sr8,uid=32004,required_score=5.0,rhost=localhost,raddr=127.0.0.1,rport=50217,mid=<984907979.55364767348457@utsc.utoronto.ca>,autolearn=spam
Aug 25 22:16:26 awt spamd[28500]: prefork: child states: II
Aug 25 22:19:29 awt pop3d: LOGIN, user=andrew@myhomeonthe.net, ip=[::ffff:212.159.101.86]
Aug 25 22:19:29 awt pop3d: LOGOUT, user=andrew@myhomeonthe.net, ip=[::ffff:212.159.101.86], top=0, retr=0, rcvd=12, sent=39, time=0
Aug 25 22:20:33 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: connection from localhost [127.0.0.1] at port 51016
Aug 25 22:20:33 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: setuid to thegran succeeded
Aug 25 22:20:33 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: checking message <21ecc01c7e75d$bbd32420$2f01a8c0@windowsa607f1d> for thegran:32010
Aug 25 22:20:41 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: identified spam (17.5/5.0) for thegran:32010 in 8.1 seconds, 1174 bytes.
Aug 25 22:20:41 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: result: Y 17 - BAYES_99,DATE_IN_PAST_06_12,FH_HOST_EQ_VERIZON_P,FORGED_MUA_OUTLOOK,INVALID_MSGID,RCVD_IN_BL_SPAMCOP_NET,RCVD_IN_PBL,RCVD_IN_SORBS_DUL,RCVD_IN_XBL,RDNS_DYNAMIC,STOX_REPLY_TYPE,URIBL_RED,URIBL_RHS_DOB scantime=8.1,size=1174,user=thegran,uid=32010,required_score=5.0,rhost=localhost,raddr=127.0.0.1,rport=51016,mid=<21ecc01c7e75d$bbd32420$2f01a8c0@windowsa607f1d>,bayes=0.999360,autolearn=spam
Aug 25 22:20:41 awt spamd[28500]: prefork: child states: II
Aug 25 22:26:21 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: connection from localhost [127.0.0.1] at port 51946
Aug 25 22:26:21 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: setuid to gbtravel succeeded
Aug 25 22:26:21 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: checking message <264166.236793146.1188032962@ourfirststep.net> for gbtravel:32017
Aug 25 22:26:30 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: identified spam (7.1/5.0) for gbtravel:32017 in 9.2 seconds, 6091 bytes.
Aug 25 22:26:30 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: result: Y 7 - AWL,BAYES_50,HTML_IMAGE_RATIO_04,HTML_MESSAGE,HTML_TAG_BALANCE_HEAD,MPART_ALT_DIFF,SPF_PASS,URIBL_BLACK,URIBL_JP_SURBL scantime=9.2,size=6091,user=gbtravel,uid=32017,required_score=5.0,rhost=localhost,raddr=127.0.0.1,rport=51946,mid=<264166.236793146.1188032962@ourfirststep.net>,bayes=0.592462,autolearn=no
Aug 25 22:26:30 awt spamd[28500]: prefork: child states: II
Aug 25 22:34:09 awt pop3d: LOGIN, user=mike@camberleydrivingschool.co.uk, ip=[::ffff:86.13.153.74]
Aug 25 22:34:10 awt pop3d: LOGOUT, user=mike@camberleydrivingschool.co.uk, ip=[::ffff:86.13.153.74], top=0, retr=2252, rcvd=50, sent=2521, time=1
Aug 25 22:51:28 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: connection from localhost [127.0.0.1] at port 55911
Aug 25 22:51:28 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: setuid to libraifa succeeded
Aug 25 22:51:28 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: checking message <3235985408.20070825170556@qmuqybrxw> for libraifa:32006
Aug 25 22:51:35 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: identified spam (9.8/2.5) for libraifa:32006 in 7.2 seconds, 836 bytes.
Aug 25 22:51:35 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: result: Y 9 - BAYES_99,RDNS_NONE,SPF_HELO_NEUTRAL,SPF_NEUTRAL,URIBL_BLACK,URIBL_JP_SURBL,URIBL_SBL scantime=7.2,size=836,user=libraifa,uid=32006,required_score=2.5,rhost=localhost,raddr=127.0.0.1,rport=55911,mid=<3235985408.20070825170556@qmuqybrxw>,bayes=1.000000,autolearn=no
Aug 25 22:51:35 awt spamd[28500]: prefork: child states: II
Aug 25 22:54:30 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: connection from localhost [127.0.0.1] at port 56343
Aug 25 22:54:30 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: setuid to sr8 succeeded
Aug 25 22:54:30 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: checking message <8678967196.190217665470@yahoo.com> for sr8:32004
Aug 25 22:54:37 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: identified spam (14.0/5.0) for sr8:32004 in 6.9 seconds, 847 bytes.
Aug 25 22:54:37 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: result: Y 14 - FORGED_YAHOO_RCVD,RCVD_IN_PBL,RCVD_IN_SORBS_WEB,RCVD_IN_XBL,RDNS_NONE,REPTO_QUOTE_YAHOO,URIBL_BLACK,URIBL_JP_SURBL,URIBL_SBL scantime=6.9,size=847,user=sr8,uid=32004,required_score=5.0,rhost=localhost,raddr=127.0.0.1,rport=56343,mid=<8678967196.190217665470@yahoo.com>,autolearn=spam
Aug 25 22:54:37 awt spamd[28500]: prefork: child states: II
Aug 25 22:57:06 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: connection from localhost [127.0.0.1] at port 56732
Aug 25 22:57:06 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: setuid to thegran succeeded
Aug 25 22:57:06 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: checking message <1IP4?n-000NOC-YL@pool-72-82-6-40.prvdri.east.verizon.net> for thegran:32010
Aug 25 22:57:14 awt spamd[5164]: spamd: identified spam (13.8/5.0) for thegran:32010 in 8.3 seconds, 1185 bytes.

View 2 Replies View Related

Wholesaleinternet.com ... Any Body Knows?

Jul 19, 2007

the current discounted rates at wholesaleinternet.com are really amazing..
$50 for colo of a 1u server with 1 TB bandwidth..! + direct admin

Any body who has experience with them..
AARON from wsi is on WHT... he does have a nice rep..!

View 14 Replies View Related

Ongoing HostGator Email

Jun 7, 2009

I have been hosting (reseller account) with HostGator for about 1-2 years now. While I have had no problems with any of my own personal domains, some of my clients for whom I provide hosting are reporting email problems.

One client is a company that hosts about 15 email addresses on the server. They have complained that they don't receive all their emails. People tell them how they sent them a message, yet they never received it. The problem isn't consistent. Also, not all messages they send are being received. After much fussing with this, and looking into every possible solution, we came to learn this scenario:

- Someuser@hotmail.com sends an email to johndoe@mycompany.com

- Hotmail looks for an MX record for mycompany.com and finds itís IP to be 10.10.10.1

- The Hotmail server contacts 10.10.10.1 and delivers the message

- John Doe receives the email fine

- John Doe then replies to the email back to someuser@hotmail.com

- Mail server at mycompany.com looks for an MX record for hotmail.com, finds the IP, and delivers the message to it

- Hotmail, because it does spam checking, uses reverse lookups as one of itís spam checks. It takes the IP that sent it the message, 10.10.10.1, and looks for a PTR record. It finds one and it maches Ďastra.websitewelcome.comí instead of Ďmycompany.comí. As a result, the spam check fails and the message is dropped

- Some User never receives John Doeís response

I asked HostGator about this.

HostGators response:
"Unfortunately that IP a ddress is a shared IP address and so you will run into issues such as this, however, we have quite a number of other accounts that use this sort of setup without any issue and are able to send to Hotmail. *Another issue would be that ultimately the IP address that is sending a the message to them would not be from the server that you are on, but on one of our gateway systems, however, this should be overcome with the SPF record that you have in place."

Since then, another one of my clients (this time a Hotel that needs to receive it's reservation requests) is beginning to report the same problem. Some (not all) emails just don't make it to the inbox. Customers call and report that they had sent an email; but said email was never received in the first place.

I have again consulted with HostGator who have not been able to help because they don't see any of said emails on server, so what can they do? Nothing, I guess.

So what can I do about this. Do I need to switch to another host? Do you know of any hosts with whom I can be sure not to have this problem?

In looking at new webhosts, I have begun to consider VPS options. However, I am afraid that if I get a VPS server I will have to configure all of these MX Records, PTR Records, SPF records, and so on. I don't want to have to deal with all of these technical details. I am a website developer who sometimes provides hosting. I don't have time to learn the ins and outs of hosting and email server configuration.

View 12 Replies View Related

VPSLand Ongoing Analysis

Jul 11, 2008

I recently decided to upgrade to a VPS from shared hosting. I have decided to give VPSLand a shot, even though I am a little skeptical after reading a few negative reviews.

I will be providing an in-depth ongoing analysis of my experiences with them for the benefit of the WebHostingTalk community.

I signed up for the "Windows-EZ VPS Value" package.
RAM: 768MB (a great vlaue)
HDD: 8GB
Transfer: 300 GB
Price: $29/month
( with 50% off first month coupon my total was $14.50 )

After completing the sign-up process, I checked my email and noticed I had received 6 automated e-mails from them during the process

The order was placed at 9:46am.
They e-mailed me that my VPS was created at 10:10am (nice)
The followup e-mail with my server information arrived at 10:20am. For a total of 34 minutes from sign-up to server access. So far I am very happy.

I will run a few tests and follow-up shortly.

View 7 Replies View Related

Wholesaleinternet.net Response Time?

Aug 28, 2008

Any ideas on what's the average response time there?

Server is down for a whole day. Staff doesn't reply, called but signal is like a "busy" phone all the time. Not sure if this is my telephone operator issue or what.

View 14 Replies View Related

DoS Ongoing Issue With My LT Server

Feb 15, 2007

Yesterday LT pulled the plug because of a DoS that took place on my server. I asked LT to bring back my server online so that PSM can investigate. PSM did that and then said that they had cleaned out all the tmp directories, and scanned my server with rkhunter and that it was clean. LT got the message and problem was fixed...or so I thought.

Today I got another email from LT saying that DoS is an ongoing issue with my LT server and that they will unplug my server and do a mandatory server reload if I don't do something about it and provide documentation of what was found and removed. Again, I contacted PSM about this and they investigated, only to tell me the same thing that they had cleaned out the tmp directories, and that if this continues they would have to disable common server functions. Doesn't sound too good.

Anyway, is it really hard to find out and fix this DoS problem? My server has modsecurity but no phpsuexec is installed. LT recently offered a DDOS protection server for my server and don't know if it's really necessary, is it?

Here's part of the log file that LT sent to me. There's a whole bunch of the following:

Quote:

72.232.xx.xx - - [15/Feb/2007:00:27:53 -0800] "GET / HTTP/1.0" 302 206 [url] "Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Googlebot/2.1; [url]
72.232.xx.xx - - [15/Feb/2007:00:47:34 -0800] "GET /company/feedback.cgi HTTP/1.0" 302 226 [url] "Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Googlebot/2.1; [url]

Kernel version: 2.4.21-47.0.1.ELsmp
OS: CentOS 3.x
CP: WHM/cPanel 10.8.2-RELEASE 119
PHP: 4.4.2
MySQL: 4.1.21-standard

View 10 Replies View Related

Wholesaleinternet.com - Quality Hosting On A Budget

Mar 8, 2008

I've seen a lot of discussion regarding low budget providers and am surprised I haven't seen many mentioning Wholesale Internet. I'd like to give my personal review.

I've used them several times over the past two years, and currently have two boxes with them. Support has always been professional and fair.

It has been my experience that they tend to go above and beyond what the customer expects, which seems rare for budget hosts. I have never been nickel and dimed over a small upgrade or service.

Uptime is as good as it gets. Hardware seems reliable. Delivery time is fairly quick.
Their prices on servers with DirectAdmin are impressive.

I would wholeheartedly reccomend them to anyone in need of a budget box. Their prices are extremely competitive, and they can do seem to give extremely good custom quotes if nothing they offer quite meets your needs.

View 2 Replies View Related

ICDsoft Good Host? (ongoing Quest)

Feb 22, 2007

I stumbled on a webhost today. icdsoft.com. Looks like a solid host. They do not have phone support, which left me hesitant. A newbie without phone support. OH MY GOD! I tested them and asked few questions via e-mail. My questions were answered in 10 minutes! Reviews are nothing but favorable, and they have been around for over 3 years.

They are also very reasonable (under $10, 1GB disk space, 20GB bandwidth). One note they do not supprt ASP or JSP.

View 1 Replies View Related

Casino Review/sports Betting Review Hosting With Godaddy?

May 12, 2009

Is Godaddy cool for the casino review/sports betting review site?i searched a lot and submit Godaddy a ticket,still dont dig out.

View 5 Replies View Related

MonkeyWrench Hosting Review - Three Year Review

Dec 15, 2008

MonkeyWrench Hosting review - Three year review

I've been hosting my personal sites with MonkeyWrench Hosting for around three years now (coming up in January I believe), and I figured I'd share my experiences with them!

I've gone through a few hosts in my time, and some of them have been pretty rough. After using paid hosts, a niche free host started up that I stayed with for around a year before they eventually closed down.

I switched to MonkeyWrench Hosting at that point as a place to host my sites and store my files, and I have to say that I've been impressed throughout the time I've been with them.

Uptime/speed:
Fantastic! The sites have been perfectly reliable and speedy whenever I've gone to access them, and I haven't had any complaints from users. I did come across MySQL going down on one of the servers (I have two accounts for different purposes that are on seperate servers) in the past, but it was resolved quickly before I even needed to get help.

Support:
I've used the support a few times, but not for anything critical since there's not been the need. However, everything that I have asked was answered promptly in a professional manner.

Pricing:
Again, no complaints here. The pricing is pretty cheap, especially for the quality of service receieved. They aren't the cheapest on the Internet by any means, but you generally get what you pay for. I'm aware of what my realistic space/bandwidth needs are anyway, and I'd rather pick a host that clearly advertises what you'll receive over an 'unlimited' host.

All in all, MWH have been a fantastic choice and I couldn't have hoped for anything better.

So, thumbs up to Jonathan, and keep up the good work!

I'll report my domains for the moderators to check them out. =)

View 10 Replies View Related

Virpus Review (my Final Review)

Apr 26, 2009

I've been very happy with Virpus since I joined. There was 1 issue that has plagued me since the beginning and that was that I was not receiving e-mails on my ISP e-mail, my main e-mail. Not to big of an issue except that I didn't get any news updates or know when my tickets were replied to, or even when I was past due on my bill. 3 tickets later and their solution was for me to use another e-mail address, which was kind of a pain for me since each of my e-mail addresses has a specific reason which only specific e-mail get sent there for organizational reasons.

First off I have to say the VPS I was using was top notch. It easily outperformed my LiquidWeb VPSs and quickly became my primary VPS instead of my backup like was intended. I took advantage of one of their specials a while back which was a 512MB RAM cPanel VPS for $19.50/month which is a steal since the cPanel license alone is $15/month!

So now to why this is probably my final review of this company. Communication is lacking greatly. It was good at first, but now it's non-existant.

Over the weekend all my sites went down and I had no idea why... because I never got the e-mail saying they were moving data centers (if it weren't for a small thread on WHT I would never have known). I also did not receive any updates on extending their ETA so yet again I had nothing to tell my clients. The only good thing was that I run a free hosting company (Host2x.com for reference) and I offer no uptime guarantee since it's a non-paid service.

Ok, so the sites are back online and everything is working nicely... well I recently hit the 70% mark on my disk space usage so time to start looking for an upgrade. I created a ticket on April 23rd asking if they would allow me to upgrade my plan to their biggest VPS plan and to my surprise I never got a reply. I would think that a billing ticket asking to upgrade to a plan that costs more without the transfer of the discount I'm receiving would be a welcome ticket for them to reply to, but I was incorrect in thinking this. So I ended up purchasing a dedicated server last night because I cannot wait to see if they will assist me with upgrading my account or not.

View 13 Replies View Related

WebtHosting Review * Major Review

Sep 27, 2009

What seemed to be a good company quickly turned to nightmares. I purchased a couple domains. All went well. Then paypal emailed me saying they are high risk and wanted me to confirm I made the payment and service was given. So until I did the payment was held. They blame the held on me and threatened me to release it or they will cancel my account.

So they finally gave them the money and all was well. Well I did a stupid thing and decided to get a VPS from them, they have good deals so I thought, whats the worse that can happen. Well shortly after, I get a email saying because your payments are unreliable, we are waiting a week to setup your vps which is complete udder crap.

So I just said screw it and said give me a refund then and about 2 hours ago I try logging into my client center and my account is gone.

I am hoping one of them see this so we can get this worked out. In the mean time I opened disputes on all of the payments.

I will keep you all updated.

View 14 Replies View Related

HiVelocity Review (Possible Client Review)

Apr 17, 2009

I just want to take the time and review Hivelocity. Boy oh boy, where to start. I am just so pleased with the customer support they offer and I don't even own a single product with them.

I currently own a server with another comapny and I am always looking at other options for cheaper prices, better services and etc.

I found Hivelocity through WHT and I took the time to start up a live chat which was answered quickly from Kevin. Kevin was very nice and welcoming. I was asking about discounts they could provide and etc. Kevin showed me their reseller program which seemed to be something I may be interested in. After a 15-20 minute chat with Kevin, he offered to add me on MSN if I ever wanted to chat which I thought was pretty nice.

After I got off live chat with Kevin, I decided to keep researching Hivelocity. I immediately signed up on Twitter (I never had a Twitter Account). I saw they had some awesome deals. They were offering an awesome deal today it looks like this:

"The next person to go to our site, open a live chat and say "I just got your TWEET" gets a Core2Duo 3.0Ghz e8400 for $5 the first month."

By time I even got onto Twitter, I noticed that this was already taken. I kept browsing their Twitter and hey what do you know, another great deal it followed like this:
"The 1st $5 Core2Duo sold in about 20 seconds so lets do it again. The next person to open a live chat saying "Give me a $5 Server" gets it."

I decided I was going to be late as the last one sold in 20 seconds. Well, it turned out it did get sold but, I got into a Live Chat with David from Hivelocity.

David informed me that the server was sold and I was a bit too late. What do you know, more great discounts! He offered me the same server for $5 on the first month. I decided not to take advantage of the offer as I wouldn't be able to put much use to the offer. I will be moving to Hivelocity within the next 1-3 months.

Overall I am very pleased with the great offers they provide and the support is just amazing!

Based on the sales support and the deals they provide, I did a bit of a rating on Hivelocity.

Sales Support:5/5
Deals:5/5
Overall:5/5

Also, if you decide your interested in Hivelocity's awesome offers, I would follow them on Twitter! They are constantly updating their Twitter and offering great deals. Their Twitter deals are 100% and it's pretty awesome a company like Hivelocity offers products and support so great!

View 14 Replies View Related

Limestonenetworks Review [8 Month Review]

May 5, 2009

I joined Limestonenetworks back in 2008 when it was a small company. At the time they offered the best price on the server I was looking for, so I took the plunge. The first 2 months were great, I enjoyed the stable network, and responses from the support team were fairly quick (1-2 hours response time). From there on it was all downhill, my servers were constantly down, and the support team took longer to answer my tickets. I didn't think this was a big problem, so I stayed with Limestonenetworks even though it was having problems with their network. Near December an incident occurred that really pushed me over the edge. My servers had been down for hours, so I opened a support ticket, and one of the agents replied and told me that the downtime was due to an upgrade in their network.

Again, I came to conclude that it could be far worst, so I stayed, one of the reasons was that I didn't want to switch my game servers over. It's important to keep in mind when you are running game servers, IPs play an important part because that's where you get your traffic. Near January the network upgrade at Limestonenetworks was still taking place which caused my bandwidth meter to stop working. This really scared me because I didn't want to get charged for overages due to the fact that my servers were receiving DDOS attacks, and I wouldn't know when to close the ports.

This incident actually turned out to be positive for me because even though I went over my bandwidth quota they didn't charge me for overages. I was very happy because this was like a late Christmas present, so now I was even more happy to give my money to Limestonenetworks. Now you might ask the question, how is this going downhill? Even though they didn't charge me for the overages, I still lost many clients who were angry at the fact that their game server were down.

In the end this network upgrade actually cost me 3 clients who were paying ~$60 per month. I let this slide because at this point I already had two servers with Limestonenetworks and I really didn't want to switch over due to the fact I would lose my IPs. The next month, February, was no different, I had more issues with Limestonenetworks. Starting of this month I was getting large DDOS attacks, which kept pushing my bandwidth over the quota, and I ended up paying close to $200 dollars just for bandwidth overages.

At this point they started to nickel and dime me for every single penny they could get of me. I don't know if they were having financial problems, or if it was due to another reason. Again in March I went over the quota, but at this time they told me that I had to pay per gigabyte which would result in a $500+ charge in bandwidth, and after talking with multiple agents, I was finally able to reach an agreement. They had changed a policy all of the sudden due to the fact that they knew I was a good customer and would keep paying for the overages.

The problem I had here was that I didn't mind upgrading to plan after I knew how much bandwidth was going to be used, since they don't offer any sort of DDOS protection, and game servers result in large DDOS attacks occasionally. I understand that Limestonenetworks was not at fault, but by making me pay per gigabyte was a bit harsh, since I had never been late on a payment, and had multiple servers. Try to remember that I stayed with this company even though I lost multiple clients because of their network outages, but they didn't care about this, all the care about is nickling and diming customers.

From that point on I have been living on the edge because I don't want to pay for an upgrade before hand due to the fact I don't know how much bandwidth my server will be using. Even if I upgrade to a different package it does not offer an insurance due to the fact that if I receieve a large DDOS than I orignally predicted, I would still end up paying per gigabyte.

This company has turned from having potential to just making their customers run away. Now the other problems I had with Limestonenetwork is the support they offer, which has been declining since I joined. The associates are very rude and don't really care about the customer's experience. I didn't include every problem I had with Limestonenetwork because it would make it a very long read.

Network - 10/10
Downtime - 5/10
Customer Service - 2/10
Overall Experience - 4/10
Would I recommend this company? NO, I urge everyone to stay away, unless they like to deal with problems on a daily basis.

Also from reading other topics on this forum, I personally believe that Limestonenetwork is overselling and their network can not handle the load.

View 11 Replies View Related

Virpus Review 7 Month Review - My "ups And Downs"

May 1, 2009

I have been with virpus for the past 7 months

I have posted an review earlier as well for 2 month : 2 month review

Let me summarize my experience so far,

Technical Support - 10/10 Really fab. even though I was on semi-managed plan, they never made me feel I was on a semi it always felt as if I was under complete management, they did every task I had asked them to do, which I didn't get on any other semi-managed host earlier.

I have no sort of complaints about their technical team, they tried to solve some problems which were due to the billing dept.

The minimum response for a ticket generally around 10-15mins and the completion with in an hr.

Billing Dept - This is some dept. that has kept me in wonder-land. Some times the replies were so pleasing and most other times the tickets are ignored. From, almost 2nd r 3rd month, the billing dept. tickets don't get regularly replied and used to bump the tickets in order to get a response to the query. Which I got some how, in a apologizing manner (no complaints for that :p)

Now, for the past 1 month we have been having some serious problems.

First, I had recd. some black-listed ip's when we joined virpus, we failed to check them (mistake on our end agreed 100%), which probably even they might not have been aware of.. As, we had a minor mis-understanding with godaddy during domain registration, my friend registered the domain using one of our partner address who resides in Singapore, where as the registration was done from India. Godaddy, assumed this was a spam registration and refunded the amount. So, we had to register the domain through another partner who resided in India. Godaddy was cool after we gave them the complete details, where they wanted some ID proof, and we provided them.

Our ip was on the black-list, we thought since our domain was spam-listed for a day, (until godaddy took it off) it made the hosts to assume the domain was black-listed, so we had manually submitted forms and proofs to most of the anti-spam agencies and mail providers, where they took the ban off the ip with in 15-20 days after we joined virpus.

Our domain was no longer under black-list, but ip was still under black-listed in some sites, such as rediff, it took more than 2 months to set the things straight at rediff, where we did some config added from the tech.dept. such as setting up spf record, and did a few tweaks here and there.

Even after making all these efforts, our ip was still under black-list of some ISP's. Our main domain (the domain which was under bl list earlier) loads well for every user, but our child domains where we have blogs and other activities do not load for lots of users. The ping results in the internet gives 100% but on their particular systems it gives no ping. Some times, the site loads wierdly such as,[url] might load but [url]might not load, and vice-versa, some times local ping fails but site loads, its all wierd and we found the reason to the problem to be ip after some minor confirmation from our end. We were losing our revenue of more than 60% just because of the failure of loading on the site, the tech. dept used to ask the ips which are facing prob to check if they are blocked, but its not possible to give ips of users who visit as guests and others, we have noted reports on other sites that our site wasn't loading for them. We still were able to give few ips for check and found them not-blocked on the ip. The sites are able to be viewed for all from proxy sites such as stage6.info but we can't ask each viewer to go to proxy site to view if they are unable to load, it will become ridiculous and we might lose our entire traffic some day.

We had shifted our domains temporarily to other vps where we noted none of the users had a single complaint, we were there for more than a week, which ensured the problem was not the domains but the ips, again after returning to the virpus hosts, we had created 3 tickets to sales/billing dept. to issue fresh ip's, got 0 reply and mailed to mr.Ken using : kenneth.odem@virpusnetworks.net got no reply after 48hrs.

We have to agreee, Earlier,mr.Ken was so helpful he helped us when we didn't have any funds to issue, since we had an dispute with an item where our payment was delayed by paypal. So, we had paid them almost 10 days later than the due date where mr.Ken was so helpful and saw to it our VPS could stay online despite the payments not been released.

In thanks, we had directly mailed our check we got from an ad-agency, which again made around 5-10 days in the payment, which made our balance stand in the positive note, we have our balance in the account for the past 3 months so that there are no dues left.

But, in the past 1 -2 months the replies have been disappointing.

We planned to leave virpus and join other host, where we burnt our hands, we looked for other reputed VPS and had a few in mind after our staff suggested few good organizations(don't prefer to name them here as it would be mis-leading).

Since, virpus wasn't ready to refund the amount in the credits we decided to continue with virpus atleast as a sideby host. Later, some how our members suggested we used virpus as a main host, so we wanted fresh ip's to get rid of the damn problem we are having but we have recd. no response for the past 1 week.

Now, lately after the maintenance our VPS was down for approx. 26-27hrs on april 25th Saturday, where our traffic is usually on the weekends. We lost the compelete traffic and revenue. When we asked if it come under credits, we got response as : This was the result of scheduled maintenance we cannot, it would not qualify under our SLA. (just giving the main result statment off the entire reply recd. from sales). Its some thing we would like to regret but for sure this isn't some issue, which could make us think to get to a new host.

The reply from the sales dept. has made our staff making funny betting, as one would win if we get a reply and other would if its not replied with in 48hrs, lately the first one is winning () due to lack of communication.

This might be our last month. Our next due date major amount would be taken from the credits, so a very little amount would exist in the account. We will stay with them until our amount with them is spent.

We had enjoyed really good with the tech. dept but the sales dept has been really poor in the recent past. I am forced to say this as even after mailing we haven't got response where, mr.Ken stated if our tickets were lost or some thing, mail to him but either didn't work so far.

Once, earlier when we requested for change of ips we were said some $7 or some thing would be charged for the swap, when we made other enquiries about it we didn't get a response till date

My tickets which lay un-responded:
203497
509467
385781

509467 and 385781 are double-post of the ticket, but got reply for none of the above tickets. Was expecting a reply for 1 atleast.

I was ready to pay excess charge for the new ips as there some mistake from my end in failure to check the ips before getting them but I wanted some concession as the major mistake was from their end while dispatching ips. I am not refusing to pay but I wanted the concession, got no reply and the above tickets are a proof of them.

Our staff online time and their live chat time don't tally, so we can't make any contact to them on live as well.

I am not sure if this is mis-understanding or what, but it has been a mixed experience for me. For sure, their sales crew have to be increased that's some suggestion I would strongly do.

I can recommend this host to any one for the tech. support they provide but can't guarantee them for the sales dept. replies based on my past/recent experiences.

Totally my site down for around ~30hrs including all the maintanence and other reasons, it could be a bit less but I am rounding it off, for sure its more than 28hrs

My over all rating: 7.5/10
Tech. Dept - 10/10
Sales/Billing Dept - 5/10

my site submitted for review via report feature
I tried to give all my experience on virpus and I am not against any one for joining virpus nor have any fights with virpus team.

May be if we get response from sales we might still consider continuing with virpus but that stands low at the moment.

View 14 Replies View Related

1 And 1 Review

Dec 15, 2008

First off they did not setup my server for nearly 2 days. I bitched and was apologized about that. They said I would get 10% off my next month.

I proceed to get everything running and start setting up my domains and then blamo its gone! It was reset they said even though I did not have a remote switch. I asked them why they did that and they insisted it was me. Whatever. So I setup everything again and was getting horrible speeds for my photography site. The hell???? They promised me the world when I signed up with them. I also got to deal with "outsourced tech support" from india that was not helpful.

I finally get things running but its still a slow *** server and they try to tell me I needed to upgrade to a much faster plan and get a better processor and memory. I tell them screw that they are throttling my bandwidth. Like memory and processor are gonna make a difference for 3 websites 1 with forums and 1 for photography then my personal site.

View 11 Replies View Related







Copyrights 2005-15 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved