ServerBoost Shared Hosting Review [EU]

Jun 26, 2008

A lot of ppl at WHT probably already used/using their dedicated servers, including me. There's already a few reviews of their dedicated offers here at WHT, but as far as i can find, there's no reviews of their shared offers.

I was looking for some quality/high uptime shared EU hosts lately for some of my low consuming websites, there's a bunch of offers, but probably just a few of all EU shared offers at WHT are let's say good. One of them is serverboost.co.uk.


So, here it goes a quick review:

Account activation: Fast, < 1h.
Hardware: Fast, brand servers.
Network: Fast, Netherlands (We Dare DC).
Support: So far, there were no issues to contact their support, but i doubt it's bad in any way.
Price: The price is fine, their prices equals the quality of their services.

My judgment: 10/10.

View 8 Replies


ADVERTISEMENT

ServerBoost.com Review

Mar 30, 2009

I signed up at Server Boost as I was looking for a friendly and reliable European dedicated server provider who could host my content.

Before signing up, I contacted Server Boostís live support. The live support representative Jelle was very helpful and answered all of my questions.

I was later contacted by email that the server I applied for wasnít available, however after some more discussion; a solution was reached where I received a better server than the one advertised. After paying with PayPal, I received access to my dedicated server immediately.

During my time at Server Boost (September 2008 to April 2009) I had no downtime and speed wasnít an issue. I was also happy that they provided a 100Mbit uplink by default due to the heavy traffic of my sites.

Due to lack of funding I had to cancel my contract with them, however when I have the money I will host my site at Server Boost again.

I appreciate their wonderful service and support.

View 6 Replies View Related

Serverboost.com Review - 10/10

Oct 10, 2008

I moved to a dedicated server company called ServerBoost (serverboost.com) which was hosted in Nederlands. I looked at the offers ,they were good then I pressed on Live Chat and I started to speak with the Sales Assistant. I asked what can he offer for 100 euros and he said a dual core server,4 gig ram and NO SETUP FEE. Next, I asked how much extra is it for 1gbps internet and he said he can upgrade to 1gbps for FREE! I decided I would buy the server, the server was supposed to be delivered the next day but there were some problems and it was delivered the day after. Due to the 1 day delay ServerBoost upgraded my CPU from a dual cure to a XEON Quad Core 2.4 ghz. I was very happy with the service provided at ServerBoost.

I would highly recommend it as their services are excellent and relatively good value.

Rating: 10/10

View 5 Replies View Related

ServerBoost 3 Months Review

Oct 2, 2009

This is my first review regarding a dedicated server prodiver, so forgive me if i miss anything.

We are a small web hosting company located in Greece and after many years in a Greek Datacenter, we were seeking for a reliable provider with Managed Dedicated servers. After a lot of search here in WHT, we came through ServerBoost which is located in Holland.

Sales: Jelle was very patient during our talks, although we were just researching at the time being. A really nice guy and a true professional, answered all my questions as I was skeptic regarding the migration, or details of our contract and service. ( personal fears :p )

Support: They say the first impression is the most significant and I must admit that mine was pretty good. Starting from the Server migration ( From 2 old/slow servers to a brand-new Dell one. ) which went really smoothly from ServerBoost part, taking the downtime to minimal time!

Our SLA contract has a specific time window for support requests but it hardly takes over some minutes or 1-2 hours to get a response ( regarding the time of the day of course! ) and Jelle is always there when i need to ask something.

Hardware/Network: Our Dell server is running really good, and the network is really reliable as "promised". Good speeds and ping ( from Greece ) which is important for our customers.

Conclusion: For me, having dealt with only one foreign company in the past for hosting ( US ), ServerBoost is the ideal one to do business with, because they look really "caring" about our business and their flexibility is priceless.

I'm looking forward using ServerBoost for a long time, really satisfied! :-)

View 2 Replies View Related

ServerBoost.com/.nl Review (7-8 Months)

Nov 4, 2009

We have been with ServerBoost since March '09.

Specs:
2x Quad Core Xeon E5430
12 GB DDR2 FB-DIMM memory
2x 146 GB SAS 15k RPM
Hardware RAID 1

Pricing:
A little more expensive than some other NL hosts but you get what you pay for.

Setup:
Total setup time was 3 days after payment (the server was a custom setup), because we had to wait an extra day for the setup Jelle gave us a free upgrade (better CPU and HDDs) which was amazing seeing that the setup period wasn't that long anyway.

Uptime:
In the past 7 months we have had 2 small bits of downtime, 1 was scheduled - when they upgraded their datacenter and the other was due to a RAID card failure, which was promptly replaced in less than an hour. Their network is faultless.

Support:
We only have the free SLA yet Jelle responds within minutes, and his responses are always friendly and professional. However I haven't needed to contact support outside of business hours so I cannot vouch for that, but during business hours it's top notch.

Overall:
I can't recommend ServerBoost enough, I'm 110% pleased. We/I have 5 servers in EU each with different providers and ServerBoost is by far my favourite and the one I recommend most.

View 3 Replies View Related

Hosting Review Site Or Top 3 Hosting Co. For Shared Hosting

Apr 23, 2009

I'm trying to find at least three web hosting companies to choose from to host a Joomla websites on a shared server. Would consider dedicated if the deal was right. I have a friend of mine who wants to create a church website, and is looking for the best deal. I use Netfirms which I have never had an issue with, but I didn't want to be bias, and would like give him other options to choose from.

Is there a good WebHosting Review site, I could check out, or maybe someone could recommend their top three. I reading threw the forums here and I noticed there are not that many complaints with Hostgator. Again, I just want to see if there was anything out there better.

View 12 Replies View Related

I Need HostGator Unlimited Shared Hosting Review

Mar 16, 2009

HostGator is offering unlimited disk space, bandwidth and domains in shared hosting BABY Package.

Does it mean i can host 10 domains in baby plan and each site is eating + 200gb per month.

Does 10 Domains hosting in this account mean that they will host using addon technology?
What role dedicate IP will play for my websites?

If my domain registrar is different but my host is hostgator then will this plan will work for me or do i need to transfer all the 10 domains to hostgator?

View 11 Replies View Related

Steadfast.net Shared Hosting - 6 Month Review

Aug 30, 2008

I will keep this short and to the point.

1. Great uptime. The only downtime I had was that weekend of July 20/21 when they got DDoSed. They stood behind their SLA and credited me with a full month of service without any hesitation or protest.

2. Great Servers. I use my hosting as a development and presentation environment for projects for clients and quality hosting is a must. I rarely see loads higher than 3.00 (it is a quad core server). Combine that with their litespeed webserver. I have never seen slow page loads.

3. Great Support. Tickets are almost always answered in just a few minutes. I have the pleasure of dealing with Karl (the owner) or one of his highly qualified techs, rather than some high school kid who can't tell a bit from a byte (who you often get at other hosts).

Bottom line: I highly recommend them. Keep it up!

View 5 Replies View Related

GoDaddy Windows Shared Hosting, An Honest Review

Jun 12, 2008

After trying out GoDaddy shared web hosting for 2 months now, I am confident to give you a good review.

Purpose
I got Web Hosting from GoDaddy in order to get ASP.NET. I looked at other hosts but they are just more expensive. So I decided to go with GoDaddy since they provide quite a lot of storage space, bandwidth and of course ASP, ASP.NET 1, and 2, IIS 7 and quite cheap as well. Since HostGator didn't have that option, I didn't have any other choice.

Server Speed & Uptime
I monitor my website using SiteUptime, and there have been 0 downtimes in two months. Not sure how closely SiteUptime monitors a website, but that's what the stats read.

Server speed is very good. For example file upload/download speed is good and doesn't lag.

Scripting Support
Since I chose Windows Hosting, it comes with ASP.NET support, and the ability to create Virtual Directories via the mini web based IIS Manager.

I was actually surprised to see this but they also have PHP 5 . On their windows web hosting package they don't advertise PHP, but after testing a simple file I was just surprised and happy .

Data Base
They give you MS SQL Databases, Access and MySQL. What I really like in their database management area is, it gives you examples of different connectionstrings for your database.

Support
It usually takes 2-3 hours to process each ticket. The support representatives are kind and really helpful.

In a nutshell, GoDaddy really surprised me with their web hosting features, support and just wow .

View 8 Replies View Related

1and1 Dedicated Server Review And Some Shared Hosting Ramblings (couldn't Resist)

Oct 23, 2009

http://1and1.com

I've had a couple dedicated servers with 1and1 for a while now(about 6mos). I have to say that my overall experience was pretty good. At the time the prices where pretty good, and are very comparable to most hosts. I received the speeds promised, the server was setup very quickly.

The only negative I had with the server was the kernel. I attempted to install vmware on they system however they did not have the headers needed by GCC to compile vmware. It was an annoyance, but I just opted to update the kernel since there where a few releases since their custom built kernel was made. Once I was running the new kernel the vmware process went smoothly, and everything worked perfectly.

As for 1and1's support team, I have to say their standard support I would not rate a 10/10, however their dedicated server support team, and one particular rep I've come to know in their sales / abuse department (more on the abuse dpt. later) are very knowledgeable. And always addressed any issues or questions promptly. Which honestly no issues besides vmware stand out in my mind, which was just a minor inconvenience, which you would find on most hosts. Since its an un-managed root server your responsible for keeping the system up to date, and run the latest kernels anyway right?

Ok, so I mentioned I came to know a rep out of the abuse department of sales. Now this isn't particularly related to my dedicated servers but I did have one of their hosting packages. Well I never kept tabs on the site and the scripts had a couple vulnerabilities, php5 wasn't enforced.

Anyway to make a long story short, the site was hacked and fake bank sites and other scripts where loaded onto the server. Which is where The abuse department came into play. Now I know (getting off topic, but it may be the same with a dedicated server) hosting companies don't want to run sites like these, and I thought that the way these companies usualy handle these types of situations are to send a take-down notice to their client, as its possible they may not even know its there. But 1and1 opted to completely disable all access to the server, http, ftp, ssh, everything. So at first I didn't know what happend. I call up tech support that night(prob around midnight -- 24/7 tech support is always great), they let me know the account was dissabled do to an abused related complaint. They told me I would have to wait until morning when their sales department opens(as abuse is located in sales).

So I call up the number they gave me the next morning. And meet Bob (I'm calling him bob because his name escapes me at the moment). He was very pleasant and understanding that I needed my site up as soon as possible. He looked at my account he saw I had been with them for about a year and a half, and said he didn't think I had posted any of the content anyway(he disabled it himself imagine that haha). He emailed me links to all the files in question, informed me that php5 was not forced and recomed I fix it. Since that was the only reason we had this isue in the first place. He was also able to tell me what files the hacker used to exploit and gain access to the server, as well as searched the the user directory for any backdoor scripts. Which he did find some and sent me the locations in the email.

So, finally we got of the phone he re-enabled the server. I went through the email went through everything, I just opted to delete everything as i felt the whole system was compromised anyway, and re-upload the site. I forced php5 for all php scripts and never heard anything about it again... and the site still runs today!

Their normal tech support isn't all the great, at least not when it comes to apache. I inquired about mod_rewrite not working and the first rep i spoke to didn't know what i was talking about, I explained in more detail, she put me on hold for about 10-20mins and researched it. Said she found details about my issue and shot me an email. I checked the email, it contained how to moddify headers using MS ASP which has nothing to even do with my "LINUX" shared hosting plan.

I called in a second time frustrated, remember I usually talk to guys from their dedicated server support. When I spoke with the second rep. The first thing I asked Him was if he was familiar with "Apache Mod_Rewrite" (exact words) are you familiar with this, and if not can you please give me to someone that is. He assured me he knew what I was talking about, I explained the situation, and what the other rep sent me was completely off topic. He apologized and assured me he knows exactly what I'm talking about.

He sent me an email with another link to their FAQ yet again. However this time is was on creating 403 redirects in apache. Well I do admit at least they got closer this time right? I laughed and walked out of the room. Took a shower and relaxed. Finally, I decided I'd take one last look at .htaccess configs before trying another call. I played around with different setting and... eureka! I found the solution; for some reason mod rewrite on 1and1's shared hosting servers doesn't support sub-directories; that is you need to access the files in your root directory to successfully process a rewrite.

So whats the moral of the story? Call Dedicated Server Support! lol

So anyway since this is a dedicated server review. So for my Dedicated server experience I would rate it a "9 out of 10".

For my overall experience with 1and1, I would rate it an "8 out of 10". Not the best I ever had, but I would do business with them. There are other minor issues I've had with their shared hosting, but I don't feel like getting into them.

Anyway hope that helps sombody, I kno it was a long post... so for the people that read it all congrats, because I lost concentration over about 80% of that post lol

Little humor there.. anyway thanks for read'n the post... just my little contribution to WHT.

View 9 Replies View Related

ServerBoost

Feb 11, 2008

After a long time searching for a company with good service and a sharp price I finally found it. I have a small business, mostly I earn my money by designing websites and helping small business customers with their computers / network. But many customers ask me to host there sites. Because I want to offer my customers enough space for little money I needed to find a good company who offers a dedicated server with good service!

I found a company calling ServerBoost (serverboost.nl). They have the best service and low prices!

In the beginning I had troubles with one of the websites I hosted. They helped me searching for the problem (some script was sending out spam). I send them an email after 12 o'clock in the evening and even then I got an answer within a few minutes.

View 3 Replies View Related

VolumeDrive Vs. ServerBoost

May 17, 2008

What you think which on these providers is better, and why?

www.volumedrive.com or www.serverboost.nl

View 5 Replies View Related

Does Anyone Can Share Experience With Serverboost

Jan 14, 2009

I found dedicated server in NL, serverboost [url], but I didn't find many experience sharing with this provider article.

View 2 Replies View Related

This Is 2 Months Update For My Old Post About Serverboost.com And Its Good

Dec 30, 2008

This is a 2 months update for serverboost.com hosting and i must say i was wrong when i said they are a gold hosting, because they are more than a gold hosting. I am sorry serverboost because i said that, they are your only friends in the time of need. When everything goes wrong in your website this the adress you need to remember and this only. So i thought to myself wait this is not gold. this is more than that. This is friendship and it worth more than gold. I feel like i am home , its your new family and this is worth mre than gold pireod. Experience 10/10 Bandwith 10/10 Availbility 10/10 Support 10/10 They use a datacenter in Netherlands on We-Dare network.

and remember if you think there prices is a little high just contact them in the chat and i am sure you will never go out.
my website is [url]

View 1 Replies View Related

Unlimited Domains With Shared Hosting Vs. Reseller Hosting

Apr 2, 2009

This question gets asked a lot in our Helpdesk and I figured I would post our knowledgebase article here to help anyone else wondering the Pros and Cons of Unlimited Domain Shared Hosting vs. Reseller Hosting. If anyone has anything else to add, I appreciate any feedback on how we can improve our KB article.

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Given the present state of shared hosting, many clients may ask "Why would I need a Reseller account if I can host unlimited Addon and Parked domains within a single shared hosting account?". There is certainly enough Disk Space and Bandwidth provided in many of today's hosting packages, so why bother to purchase a Reseller account?

Many don't realize the drawbacks of hosting large numbers of domains within a single hosting account until they've already packed tens of them onto a single package.

So how do you know whether a Reseller account or Shared Hosting account is right for you? The answer is in how you plan to provide access to others and how "mission-critical" the sites are. You should consider the following factors when deciding on hosting a large number of domains:

1. Who will be managing these sites?

2. How important is site security between sites?

3. Will these domains need dedicated SSLs?

4. How resource intensive will these sites be (RAM, CPU, MySQL)?

In a nutshell, Reseller plans are for those who wish to host websites for other sub-clients and a shared hosting package is for a single individual managing multiple personal domains. We'll go over the 4 points above in greater detail.

1. Who will be managing these site?

If you personally own multiple domains and wish to host them within the same hosting space, you can easily do so with an Addon or Parked domain. An addon domain will allow you to host a new domain within a subdirectory of your hosting space. A parked domain will allow you to have multiple domain names point to the same content. Since addon domains reside within the same user space as your main domain, you can manage all of your domains with a single login. You can see the problem if you want to provide another user with access. Since all accounts are managed with a single set of login credentials, if you give another user access to their addon domain you are also giving them access to your main domain. If you have vital information stored on your main domain and you are hosting another domain as an addon domain for someone else, you cannot provide them access to their hosting without compromising the integrity of your main domain.

When hosting sites as a Reseller, your clients in turn will want access to their account and will want exclusive rights to their disk space and server resources. With a Reseller account, each sub-account you create gets its own username, password, and isolated user space on the server. Individual clients of yours have access to their user space and their user space alone. In addition to the isolation with regards to access concerns, each account also gets their own cPanel access. All of the same great features that you use to manage your sites can also be given to your clients. Next time client Y wants to add an email account, you don't have to do it for them for fear of giving them access to your cPanel, you can simply give them their login details and they can manage their own email accounts.

2. How important is site security between sites?

This is along the same lines as point 1. This is not necessarily related to who you are hosting for, but what content you are hosting. Imagine that you are a webmaster and you are hosting your own personal site-in-a-box community forums (such as PHPBB or vBulliten) on your main domain and a company website for a paying client on an addon domain. It is not uncommon for popular scripts to have security flaws in older versions. Script authors will often update security flaws in later versions of their software. For this reason, it is very important to keep scripts up to date on your site. But let's assume you forget to update your scripts for a couple of months and an unscrupulous individual takes advantage of a well known security hole. Using this exploit, they gain access to your forums and any subdirectories. Since you are hosting another domain as an addon, they now have access to this domain's content as well. A site defacement on this company's site may not bode well for you when they are considering you for web master services in the future.

If these two domains had been separate into two individual users (i.e. two subaccounts created through a Reseller), their content would've been inherently isolated server side by Linux's user management. Sure, your forums still would've been affected by the security hole, but the break-in would've been isolated to your site alone.

Going back to our example, let's say that instead of a corporate website as an addon domain you are hosting an image gallery site for all of your cats. In this case, it may not be a big deal if a compromise in your main domain spreads to your addon domain. After all, they are both owned by you and you're only losing some time and effort to restore these sites from your local backups (which I'm sure you've actively maintained ). But then again, you are losing time and time is money. If these sites had been separated into individual users, again, you'd only have to restore one site's content.

The idea here is isolation. Reseller plans provide you with the peace of mind to know that if one of your users doesn't keep up with their site's content as actively as they should, their actions won't negatively impact the content hosted on other domains. If you and those you host in your addons are diligent webmasters, maybe this point won't have much bearing on your decision. Only you can say for sure.

3. Will these domains need SSLs?

As of this writing, SSL certificates must have a dedicated IP address to be installed. If you are hosting multiple domains on the same shared hosting package, you can still install an SSL (or purchase a dedicated IP address and install one) but you are limited to exactly one SSL on your account. If you are hosting multiple domains on the same package (and consequently the same IP), you must choose which domains gets to have the dedicated SSL.

Sub accounts of Resellers can each be placed onto separate IP addresses and, as a result, can each have their own dedicated SSL installed.

Of course, both shared accounts and Resellers' sub accounts can use the server's shared SSL free of charge. However, some clients prefer to see their domain in the URL bar when they visit https.

4. How resource intensive will these sites be (RAM, CPU, MySQL)?

We've already established that disk space and bandwidth will be no problem. But what about CPU, RAM, and MySQL resources?

It's important to be aware of the resource needs of your website. As administrators, we have to make sure all users "play nice" on the server. We can't have user X eating all of the CPU cycles computing pi to the trillionth decimal place while you are trying to serve web pages to your loyal visitors. We have to monitor the actions of all of our users and in the event someone is stepping beyond the bounds of acceptable resource consumption, we have to take action. In most cases, this entails disabling the abusive script, but in extreme cases we have to suspend the abusive user account to prevent other domains from encountering performance degradation on their sites.

If you are hosting 100 domains as addon domains, all serving nothing but static HTML pages, maybe you will stay off the radar.

But considering most sites are more complicated than static HTML, you may want to be aware of how many sites you host as addons and what content they serve. If you're hosting the latest and greatest Joomla modules, with up to date news feeds, integrated forums modules, polls, blog posts, etc your site can certainly require a degree of CPU to serve your pages. Now imagine you have 5 or 10 of these sites all hosted as addon domains. The resources these sites need to generate their content can quickly add up and before you know it you've got a friendly email from Acenet, Inc. in your inbox wondering why your user is consuming 2 of the 8 CPU cores on the server. That may be an exaggeration, but you get the idea. In the event your resource usage becomes so excessive that we have to suspend your user, now all of your sites are down instead of whichever one may be the direct cause of the spike in CPU, RAM, or MySQL consumption.

If each of these had been separate Reseller accounts, the offending account could've been suspended temporarily while we work through the cause, leaving the rest of your domains live and kicking.

The conclusion here is that you need to be aware of the needs of your sites in a general sense. Hosting unlimited domains within a shared hosting space is certainly a nice feature. For those webmasters who have multiple presences on the web, it's very convenient to be able to manage all of their personal domains from a single control panel. For those entrepreneurs who are hosting multiple domains for other individuals, the features and security associated with a Reseller plan and the inherent isolation of Linux users is a must have.
----------------------------------------------------------------------

View 12 Replies View Related

No Resource :: Shared Hosting Apache And Physical Hosting

Jul 31, 2014

I'have a problem with my aps setup on sanbox.When i create on customer ccp when i click finish i have this error. I must only test.

Error: Instance of application with id 124 and version '1-4' can not be provided: There is no resource of class 'Shared hosting Apache' with provisioning attributes 'Web Cluster' in subscription with id 1.:There is no resource of class 'Physical hosting (IIS)' with provisioning attributes 'Web Cluster' in subscription with id 1..If i add the shared hosting apache resourse i get this error : There are no "apache" services that satisfy given attributes: "Web Cluster".

View 3 Replies View Related

Noob - Shared Hosting VS. Dedicated Hosting

Jul 13, 2005

I am developing a website for a client of mine (the client is a close friend and know's that he is getting a newbie). This site will be larger (project wise) than anything that I have ever done (everything I have done in the past has been FrontPage). We will be using several third party applications that need to run on the server as well as our own custom developed applications. We do not yet know how much access to the server's deeper structures we will need for all of the applications that we want loaded on our server to run. Things we have in mind: oscommerce, mysql, php5, apache, linux, vbulletin, blogger, phpbb, adserver, ect... Would these things run ok on a shared host and would I have full authority to configure them without needing full access to the server? Or will I need access to the entire server (dedicated server) in order to have full customization capabilities? I guess all I am trying to figure out at this point is will shared hosting for a large project limit our abilities to use 3rd party apps, or do most 3rd party application designers build their stuff to work in a shared hosting environment anyway? If we need to get a dedicated server we will, but if we can get away with shared hosting for a while (especially during development when the site will not be generating revenue) it would be nice to avoid the price of a dedicated server. Many thanks for your comments, insight, and expertise! Also, if anyone can sight some common scenarios that may require a dedicated server over a shared hosting plan, that may help me to understand what the limitations of a shared hosting plan vs. a deicated or virtual dedicated server are.

View 2 Replies View Related

Difference Between Using Shared Hosting And Reseller Hosting?

Aug 17, 2008

Here is my dilemma, thanks to a thread in these forums I was directed to a hosting website called pc-core.net and I was interested in using them, because it does not appear that they oversell at all. My question is regarding the fact that they have the shared hosting for $12/month with ~5gb of disk space and 50gb of transfer. I then just looked at reseller hosting for the heck of it, and noticed i could get a reseller hosting account with 45gb storage and 450gb of bandwidth for $10/month. Even though I wont be selling hosting, or anything like that, can I use a reseller hosting account like a normal shared hosting account?...just with more space and bandwidth?

View 3 Replies View Related

Difference Between VPS And Say Shared Hosting Or Dedicated Hosting

Jun 13, 2008

I'm new to the VPS scene, so could someone tell me the difference between VPS and say shared hosting or dedicated hosting? Actually I really like to know what a Virtual Private Server actually is.. I know shared hosting is typically a single account on a server with several hundred other accounts which is used primarily for the sole purpose of hosting websites, and I know that dedicated hosting is functionally the same as colo except that you rent the server, instead of having your own purchased server plugged into some network. So what is VPS?

View 3 Replies View Related

Shared Hosting Vs. Dedicated Server Hosting

May 6, 2008

Do website builders generally go with shared hosting or dedicated server? I mean, if they work on several websites would they get a dedicated server instead of shared? From what I understand through reading shared hosting is basically if you only have one website. So one with multiple websites would go with a dedicated server?

View 12 Replies View Related

Difference In Shared Hosting And Reseller Hosting

Apr 23, 2008

I would like to know the different between the shared hosting and reseller hosting?

View 7 Replies View Related

Crucial Paradigm 9-Month Shared Review

Oct 1, 2008

Uptime/A+

Functionality/A-

Speed/A+

Support/B

Support Response Time/A+

Support response time is in minutes. Just like Support everywhere, reading ticket histories gets overlooked, so you often have to repeat entries. Keep entries short to aid reading comprehension. Even at "B," Support is the best I've encountered in seven years and about a dozen hosts.

Gopikrishnan in Support is superb - actually agrees with my tickets, and when the problem can't be corrected, satisfies me with a valid technical reason and suggests a workaround.

After upgrades to cPanel, Horde is initially problematic - you have to reset an option or two and sending email may not work at first.

View 7 Replies View Related

Casino Review/sports Betting Review Hosting With Godaddy?

May 12, 2009

Is Godaddy cool for the casino review/sports betting review site?i searched a lot and submit Godaddy a ticket,still dont dig out.

View 5 Replies View Related

Is Shared Hosting Really Better Than Dedicated Hosting?

Sep 25, 2009

How long do you wait before moving from shared to VPS or dedicated? Apart from security and speed, what are the benefits of dedicated hosting? This says [url] that shared is better than dedicated because you have to do less..

View 14 Replies View Related

MonkeyWrench Hosting Review - Three Year Review

Dec 15, 2008

MonkeyWrench Hosting review - Three year review

I've been hosting my personal sites with MonkeyWrench Hosting for around three years now (coming up in January I believe), and I figured I'd share my experiences with them!

I've gone through a few hosts in my time, and some of them have been pretty rough. After using paid hosts, a niche free host started up that I stayed with for around a year before they eventually closed down.

I switched to MonkeyWrench Hosting at that point as a place to host my sites and store my files, and I have to say that I've been impressed throughout the time I've been with them.

Uptime/speed:
Fantastic! The sites have been perfectly reliable and speedy whenever I've gone to access them, and I haven't had any complaints from users. I did come across MySQL going down on one of the servers (I have two accounts for different purposes that are on seperate servers) in the past, but it was resolved quickly before I even needed to get help.

Support:
I've used the support a few times, but not for anything critical since there's not been the need. However, everything that I have asked was answered promptly in a professional manner.

Pricing:
Again, no complaints here. The pricing is pretty cheap, especially for the quality of service receieved. They aren't the cheapest on the Internet by any means, but you generally get what you pay for. I'm aware of what my realistic space/bandwidth needs are anyway, and I'd rather pick a host that clearly advertises what you'll receive over an 'unlimited' host.

All in all, MWH have been a fantastic choice and I couldn't have hoped for anything better.

So, thumbs up to Jonathan, and keep up the good work!

I'll report my domains for the moderators to check them out. =)

View 10 Replies View Related

Shared Hosting / IP

May 16, 2009

I have visited a website ( i dont remember the address or its name) which had some tools to check stuff like the whois of the domain, the location of an ip etc.

Also it had a tool where you have your servers ip, and if the ip had several sites on it (shared hosting enviroment) it would make a list of all the sites with that ip....

where I can find that tool or something like that?

View 7 Replies View Related

SSL And Shared Hosting

May 3, 2009

I am thinking about moving hosts and I have some RapidSSL SSL Certificates and PositiveSSL (Free from Namecheap) SSL Certificates

I was wondering can I get these moved over to the new host, if I could bring the SSL Certificates without having to have either get a re-issue of the SSL Certificate or buy new ssl Certificates.

I still have the CSR, Private Key from WHM/cPanel and I would be moving to another WHM/cPanel shared hosting account

View 14 Replies View Related

VPS Or Shared Hosting ...?

Jun 20, 2008

I have decided to change my current webhost. Recently I have started seeing a lot of downtime. For a long time I was thinking about moving to a VPS. Unfortunately, I don't have any experience managing one. But I am willing to take any hardship to learn setting up and managing a VPS. The main set back here is that my budget is (very) limited (max $12/month). I have seen some hosts offering VPS for rates that are within the above budget.

Can you plz suggest which is better for me? Shared or VPS?

I own about 10 websites presently, but the number is going to increase as I am planning to take web designing seriously. But none of them are high traffic, infact my current monthly traffic is only 15-20GB.

What I want is a host that provide somewhat good customer support ( support ticket system that gets responded within an hour is fine with me), good uptime and allow me to host multiple domains hassle free.

View 13 Replies View Related

From Shared Hosting To VPS?

Dec 10, 2008

I have been using a shared hosting. My current host has had some unreliable services from time to time in the past. Lately, the primary reason for my decision to leave my current host is that few (or more than few) of my paid subscribers and non-paid visitors said that my website has been down for some time or for weeks or more even *after* they were able to view the site; however, it IS up and running fine for the majority of the users and myself.

What are the possible reasons for being able to view the site for a while but then later find the site down to a few users for weeks or more but the site is up and running fine for most of other people and myself? The "down" shouldn't be "selective" to some people.

Before leaving the current host, I need to know why it happens so that I can choose the right host and the right plan (and shared hosting vs VPS).

View 8 Replies View Related

Shared Hosting Or Vps

Oct 25, 2008

About two months ago, my site was hosted on a shared server. I had no problems on a shared server, but I felt like trying something new, so I switched over to a VPS. Right now I have a plan that offers 384MB RAM, 150GB bandwidth, and 15GB disk space. I do monitor my resources, and I'm finding out that I'm hardly using any RAM at all. I check the System Usage meter a couple times a day, and it's always at 100%. My CPU usage levels reach 10% at most.

Should I stick with this VPS or downgrade to a smaller plan? I'm obviously not using up all my resources, so I think it's kind of a waste to fork out $40/month for something I'm not completely using. I'm unsure on whether or not I should go for a smaller VPS or a shared server. I mostly want to lower my budget to a maximum of $20/month. If I do go to a smaller VPS, I would need managed services. For a shared server, I would need at least 100GB of bandwidth, PHP5, and SSH.

I am leaning towards going back to a shared server, but I would like some second opinions.

View 6 Replies View Related

VPS V Shared Hosting

Aug 2, 2008

I am considering going for a VPS after lurker here for a while. I currently have 2 shared hosting reseller accounts that are really outdated. I need to upgrade but didn't know which way to turn.

I only host my own sites at present but might start niche webhosting in the future. I feel I should move to to vps but still dont know why. I guess I dont want to get let behind with technology.

I have around $40 a month to spend, any help would be great.

View 9 Replies View Related







Copyrights 2005-15 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved