Hivelocity 14 Months Review

Apr 6, 2009

I'd been with hivelocity for 14 months by now and i'm thinking to continue my bussines on there.

I created a thread on the past, this is the thread:


And this is what i said:


What can i say?

They just Rock, Dave and steve are just great.

Dave is my account manager he is helpfull, quickly and very efficient.

i would like to recommend people to join in hivelocity.

They are just more than fine, my server is working great and i had 2 issues resolved.

1 issue in less than 20 mins (another server in the rack was consuming a lot of bandwith)
the other issue was a little more complicated but it has been resolved too, thanks Dave

They have the same problem with support than sharktech (not managed), but if you talk to your account manager or Steve they will take care of it and get the problem resolved in a few minuts, that's just cool.

Service and support for me was really good in one week with they .. i will stay for a long time here if everything goes right.

and if we can, stablish a long term business based on trust (i'm a coder i can help)

Well from that moment to now i can say the following things:

No downtimes, only schedules (maintenence)

No support problems.

I upgraded my server to a quad2core and for 6 months payment, they gove me a second HDD!

I'm sending new customers to hivelocity right now, and trying to start reselling their servers.

¿why do i want to?

Because Steve and Dave, are responsable guys.

Because Network works fine.

Last server i bought for a customer: 1 day setup, no problems. I did a hardware check and it was OK, no HDD failures and TEMPERATURE was the right.

Because they understand if you have a problem.

Because support is there to help, even if you don't pay for "Managed services"

And i think that, they manage customers as well, that you can feel as a part of the company and not just another Argentinian customer.

So, watching the huge financial crisis, i want to give a good review about this company, and try to get more and new customers to they.

I would highly recommend to buy their services, this is not another company this is one of the best companies i ever knew.

View 10 Replies


4 Months Hivelocity Review

Oct 16, 2009

I've been seeing alot of negative threads about Hivelocity so I decide to post my review.

A little more than 4 months ago I ordered a server on Hivelocity using an offer they posted on twitter, it was a Core2Duo for $75/month and first month for $50. I ordered on the chat and the sales told me there wasn't any package with the Core2duo so he used the next cheapest server to order(Core2Quad q8200, everything else was the same) and wrote a comment saying that the actual server would be a Core2Duo.

I paid the bill, submitted some documents(on June 7) and waited, I had to send a few emails because there wasn't any progress with my order and by June 10 the server was live. When I logged in I realized I was given the Core2Quad q8200, same specs, better CPU

Ever since then I've not needed to talk to support for anything except adding some services(extra IP and 100mb port, both were quickly added and with no problems).

My server has been up ever since:

PHP Code:

 22:49:49 up 127 days, 17:45,  2 users,  load average: 0.02, 0.05, 0.07 

And I've had very little downtime, according to Pingdom 99.98% uptime since June 15:

Their service has been Very Good so far and I've had no problems.

View 11 Replies View Related

HiVelocity Review (Possible Client Review)

Apr 17, 2009

I just want to take the time and review Hivelocity. Boy oh boy, where to start. I am just so pleased with the customer support they offer and I don't even own a single product with them.

I currently own a server with another comapny and I am always looking at other options for cheaper prices, better services and etc.

I found Hivelocity through WHT and I took the time to start up a live chat which was answered quickly from Kevin. Kevin was very nice and welcoming. I was asking about discounts they could provide and etc. Kevin showed me their reseller program which seemed to be something I may be interested in. After a 15-20 minute chat with Kevin, he offered to add me on MSN if I ever wanted to chat which I thought was pretty nice.

After I got off live chat with Kevin, I decided to keep researching Hivelocity. I immediately signed up on Twitter (I never had a Twitter Account). I saw they had some awesome deals. They were offering an awesome deal today it looks like this:

"The next person to go to our site, open a live chat and say "I just got your TWEET" gets a Core2Duo 3.0Ghz e8400 for $5 the first month."

By time I even got onto Twitter, I noticed that this was already taken. I kept browsing their Twitter and hey what do you know, another great deal it followed like this:
"The 1st $5 Core2Duo sold in about 20 seconds so lets do it again. The next person to open a live chat saying "Give me a $5 Server" gets it."

I decided I was going to be late as the last one sold in 20 seconds. Well, it turned out it did get sold but, I got into a Live Chat with David from Hivelocity.

David informed me that the server was sold and I was a bit too late. What do you know, more great discounts! He offered me the same server for $5 on the first month. I decided not to take advantage of the offer as I wouldn't be able to put much use to the offer. I will be moving to Hivelocity within the next 1-3 months.

Overall I am very pleased with the great offers they provide and the support is just amazing!

Based on the sales support and the deals they provide, I did a bit of a rating on Hivelocity.

Sales Support:5/5

Also, if you decide your interested in Hivelocity's awesome offers, I would follow them on Twitter! They are constantly updating their Twitter and offering great deals. Their Twitter deals are 100% and it's pretty awesome a company like Hivelocity offers products and support so great!

View 14 Replies View Related

Hivelocity Review 1+ Years

Feb 26, 2009

I was a member of hivelocity for about a year and 4 months. I really like this company.

They have very fast support even if you don't buy the golden ticket for support for dummies like most websites want you to buy for help with your server which is called managed servers.

I went with an unmanaged server because i knew my way around the linux system. Any type of trouble i had all i had to do was go to live support and ask a question and they would right away check on the problem and fix it. I even remember sitting in the chat support for a few hours while they discussed things that were wrong and how i make my server more secure. They also even upgraded a few things for free for me that i didn't have the time to do myself. I also liked the ability of being able to go unmetered for bandwidth for a little bit more money instead of hundreds of dollars more.

Although if you know very little about linux or servers in general i would suggest the managed package.

But i would recommend them to people who are looking for a great company who doesn't lack the support a lot of websites out there tend to have with cheaper prices.

I have had servers from other websites such as managed which worked out for a while but their support was very bad and since years ago they have moved up higher in prices which lead me to find other web hosts to fit my needs.

Now before you jump to any conclusions the only reason i left hivelocity is due to i quit my job and needed to put my money elsewhere for a while.

They even let me go a month past due just so i could save my files which i really owe them one for that.

1-10 being 1 the lowest in the following catagories.
Support - 10
Server - 10
Price - 8
Company - 10
uptime - 10

View 7 Replies View Related

HiVelocity Experience Review.

Oct 4, 2009

I had decided to transfer 1 server into Hivelocity. It was a low $200s server with Hivelocities Platinum magagement plan. I was attracted to the pricing and the options available to configure my server how I wanted. I also liked the fact that they are somewhat local to where I live.

I had placed the server order with Drew. The server was delivered to me in 4 days, I was not in any rush so I did not mind. We started the migration process and went with out a problem until we went live. According to the tech the hard drive cable was bad and was replaced within 2 hours. These things happen and I still was not upset.

I was thinking to take advantage of the annual pricing offered and bring over the other servers until one morning I get flooded with phone calls chats and emails. I immediately try to log in the server to no avail so I contact Hivelocity. I was then told to contact the abuse department, well the abuse department does not take phone calls so then I was to told to log in a ticket.

What had happened was 1 of the hundreds of accounts hosted on the server recieved a copywright complaint and the server would not go back online until deleted and a ticket respond. I always comply with any complaint however I would appreciate at least a few hours to resolve, rather them an immediate disconnection. When you sell shared hosting you will always have a few accounts that are bad. No hosting company is immune to this. The server went back online 2 hours later.

Similar scenarios happened 2 more times with excessive down time in the first month that I was with them. Needless to say after talking several times with the GM Steve, I learned that he promises you one thing and either does another thing or does nothing as promised. For ex: will call you or will give a few hours to resolve any future complaints.

To compile further worries I learned that Hivelocity was terminating servers with out allowing transfer, including one host that was in business over 10 years. I do not know the non-bias details of those scenarios but I do know those things do not happent at the Planet, Softlayer or any other major datacenter, otherwise it would have been posted all over the net as was with Hivelocity.

In closing, my impression of the place was that their servers are ok, the bandwith is a bit spotty, the techs are ok, albeit one being a smart ass, the GM is a great speaker and the abuse guy is trigger happy. I do love the Hivelocity banners though.

It's too bad as I thought I had found a company that can save me alot of money however it ended costing me much more with loosing good clients.

View 14 Replies View Related

2-Month HiVelocity Review

Dec 19, 2008

2-Month HiVelocity Review

I've had a VPS with HiVelocity for 2 months now to run a single site. So far it's been flawless, it took an entire 3 days to get set up (which was really annoying at the time), but past that it's had no problems whatsoever. At one point I sent out a mass email on the VPS to over 50,000 addresses (letting them know the site was back online), and there were no problems handling that at all. The VPS has run flawlessly, thus I can't really rate their technical support (!). The review is short, and I apologize, but there's not much else to say.Overall: A-

Do I recomend them? YES, if you're not looking for that "small host" feel, or if you're looking for unmetered bandwidth.Any Q's? Ask away.

View 7 Replies View Related

Hivelocity 3 Month Review

Apr 24, 2009

one of Hivelocity’s customers that has been using their services now for a little more than 3 months now.

Actually I didn’t really know where or even why I would like to write such a topic for them! But when I saw such a handling here and a few reviews of other companies I have received such great service there and with great effort from one of their best employees (Dave) who really helped me a lot I have had a great boost with my sales offers and also with some great sales advice that really brings in the clientele. You really get the feel of personal attention when you talk to a person who understands what you say and also what you are trying to accomplish.

I started with 2 dedicated servers for a few clients and Dave made some great first offers. He went with me through the order step by step then after it was ordered it was moved to "Ju" who checked my payment and called me to verify my order and then to Dave to finish everything up and got the order entered into their system.

Within hours I got an email that the servers were being assembled and I waited till I got them . It took some time of course, no too long. Then I took some time to test the server before I passed it on to my clients. I found the offers are cheaper than most others and that made me worry about the quality of the hardware but once I got the servers and checked them the hardware, software and network were astounding. I was amazed!

Then I had a friend who referred me to them, in reference to a reselling account, he told me about the “Impressive support.” So, I tested their support, I asked simple questions and tested their responses to make sure that they could handle fairly small issues then I made a few "911" tickets to make sure that they could handle more drastic issues and within I guess not more than 2 minutes I got the reply from a guy. I really respect him and I was really happy that I found him to be an Arabian guy named Islam , he actually made me fell at home, he answers me ASAP and perfectly and he really knows what he is doing there .

I tried once to post a ticket, but with the minimum priority and it was answered within 10 minutes , as it was for nothing important only for testing their response.

Of course as you might guess there is, sometimes, as many other companies, find that there is some delay in the weekends. I can handle this actually, but what I really liked about Hivelocity is that you can get orders and offers anytime! Even the weekend as Dave is always there (guy never sleeps I guess )

I asked him once about this and he answered, ”Only on one condition, It will be when the good Lord takes me , and I hope that’s not to be soon”

I asked to get a reseller account and some offers and they really helped my business. I moved most of my servers and business there and I really get awesome offers and options. I also found out about the twitter deals a few days ago. I thought “I'm the only one who gets such offers” but I really found they have some crazy offers as I'd like to call it.

Really I can call them my business saver and not only is it impressive support but I can tell impressive support , sales and discounts.

View 0 Replies View Related

HiveloCity - 7 Month Review

Apr 19, 2008

I just cancled my box at HVC, sadly, I am not happy to be honest, but the reason for doing so was that the box wasn't needed anymore.

Here's my review about HVC, and the great 7 Months I've had with them, I've never had any experience like that, ever!

Network: 10/10
I've only had 1 network outrage, and that one was planed, and didn't last more than 15 minutes!
I've always had a superb speed, uptime and latency has been great for my servers, MMO Servers ain't quite so sensitive as FPS games (CSS etc), but ping will be noticed.

Network has been awesome!

Support: 9.5/10
Support, cannot say much about that, but the tickets I had, were answered rather fast, thought, the Sales ticket took a bit time.

Nothing more to say about that part, I am simply amazed.

I dunno what I shall say more, I am at tears, I really wish I could have enjoyed several other months with HVC!

View 14 Replies View Related

HiVelocity Sign Up And First Month Review

Jun 3, 2009

I decided to give HiVelocity a chance, and I myself has used several provider such as SoftLayer, The Planet, LayeredTech, and others. Let me begin with the sign up.

The initial sign up was very quick and easy. I got on live chat and Kevin gave me an amazing deal exactly what I was looking for spec and price wise. I paid and verification was done by Kevin within five minutes. I told him not to install an OS and just give me a KVM, so I can do it myself. He promised me that it would be setup that night, but I was assigned IPs listed in various spam databases, so I requested them to be changed.

Kevin was very helpful and tried, but the person who assigns the IPs was gone for the day, and it was friday, and it could have not been done until monday. I told Kevin to hold the deployment until Monday, which he did. I had an issue over the weekend, and everything got confusing, so Kevin who was off on weekend actually called me to clear things up, and comes Monday Kevin got the server up by 3:00PM EST. It was working well, but then I wanted remote reboot which became a nightmare. It took them a week to put me in the right rack to give me remote reboot. I started to ask them on Monday and it was done on Sunday or something. This was pretty annoying I had to get the IP's changed and what not, but Kevin responded to all my calls, live chat, and emails. I was given a good reimbursement by Kevin and Steve which made it worth while, but since then it has been great! If you are looking for a server with HiVelocity or just a good deal you might want to talk to Kevin, you can find him on live chat

Sales - 10/10

Support - 8/10

Billing - (I wish they had some sort of thing for weekend)

View 4 Replies View Related

Wholesaleinternet Review (4 Months Review)

Sep 12, 2008

I've got high end server from WholeSaleinternet.I've been with Wholesaleinternet for 4 months now and I am extremely happy with them.Got an awesome server for a cheap price, a Quad-Core Xeon 8 Processor (3.0GHZ), 32GB RAM, 100mbit port link.

Sales support is slow but tech support is fast!

That you very much Aaron/Wholesaleinternet!, keep up the good work!

View 10 Replies View Related

3 Months Review About Iwebfusion

May 5, 2009

have use iwebfusion for 3 months, write this review share with you.

iwf was a nice host provider,i buy a vps with their los angeles DC,

1 uptime 10/10
no downtime in 3 months.

2 support 8/10
2~6 hours, if not lucky, no more than 24 hours.......

View 8 Replies View Related

ServerBoost 3 Months Review

Oct 2, 2009

This is my first review regarding a dedicated server prodiver, so forgive me if i miss anything.

We are a small web hosting company located in Greece and after many years in a Greek Datacenter, we were seeking for a reliable provider with Managed Dedicated servers. After a lot of search here in WHT, we came through ServerBoost which is located in Holland.

Sales: Jelle was very patient during our talks, although we were just researching at the time being. A really nice guy and a true professional, answered all my questions as I was skeptic regarding the migration, or details of our contract and service. ( personal fears :p )

Support: They say the first impression is the most significant and I must admit that mine was pretty good. Starting from the Server migration ( From 2 old/slow servers to a brand-new Dell one. ) which went really smoothly from ServerBoost part, taking the downtime to minimal time!

Our SLA contract has a specific time window for support requests but it hardly takes over some minutes or 1-2 hours to get a response ( regarding the time of the day of course! ) and Jelle is always there when i need to ask something.

Hardware/Network: Our Dell server is running really good, and the network is really reliable as "promised". Good speeds and ping ( from Greece ) which is important for our customers.

Conclusion: For me, having dealt with only one foreign company in the past for hosting ( US ), ServerBoost is the ideal one to do business with, because they look really "caring" about our business and their flexibility is priceless.

I'm looking forward using ServerBoost for a long time, really satisfied! :-)

View 2 Replies View Related

IGXHost Review ~Two Months

Oct 14, 2009

I would just like to say that they surprise me for a shared host.

Support: 10/10

Uptime: 9/10

Speed: 9.5/10

Value: 8/10

Although I pay quite a bit I still think it's worth it. About $15/mth for 15GB HDD and 75GB transfer. My website handles ~300K hit's daily with only a few hiccups. It's uptime is something like 99.97% which is decent. The only big incident is when I first signed up I was transferring my domain which took a few days, but was resolved professionally. So far it's a big thumbs up.


View 7 Replies View Related

NYNOC 6 Months Review

May 9, 2009

Decided to give a VPS a try back in November. Ordered through one the sales advertised in the offer forums, got set-up in less than 12 hours.

In terms of performance, the VPS works fine.

In terms of service, this is where the ball is dropped.

The issue is that they set me up in LA, and I'm on the East coast. So I've contacted support, asking if a move was possible. When they said yes, and I've confirmed that their offer to move it during the night was fine, I've even shut everything down to make things smoother.

The next morning, I receive an email telling me I will get another one once it's done... the following day, I receive an email that it can't be done, as I have a x64 OS and there is no space on the node.

So I let this slide, and decide that sometimes you just have to bite the bullet and decided to offer them to BUY another one, this time on the East coast, if they could offer me the same setup as I have on the West coast. They've agreed, and I did the order as they requested... That was around noon 2 days ago, and still nothing today...

For another example, I've requested a ticket because the /dev/tun wasn't configured properly in the container... I don't know what they did, but it corrupted my VPS so bad that I have to re-initialise it completly. Another example: I've posted a ticket that their gentoo image is faulty (no network support at all!), and to my knowledge this was still not fixed.

So yes, NYNOC has some cool ideas like an online chat, even offered an EYEOS desktop, forums, tips, and great prices... but for me now this ain't worth it much and will be canceling my accounts. I guess coming from VPSFarm has spoiled me (instant setup, quick support), and will be looking for a new provider.

View 6 Replies View Related

4 Months FsckVPS Review

Oct 8, 2009

1. Month

I used 15 days of godaddy's shared hosting before FsckVPS. Due to unexpected traffic, I had to move to a VPS. So I chose FsckVPS's 512mb packet.

I was very sattisfied with them. Their servers were fast and the VPS got setup in just a few seconds.

The hacking incident happened this month. I was still pleased by the way they handled it. So I decided to stay with them. They decided to give 2 months free after the hacking incident.

2. Month and 3. Month

Everything was very smooth, running perfectly. Servers were still fast after I got switched to a new one after the hacking.

4. Month

This is the second time I paid to FsckVPS and I was pretty happy about it.

Then I have been informed that they will be switching servers. They told that it would take around 4 hours per vps.

So when I noticed that my vps was down for the first time, I didn't react and waited. After being down for about 8 hours, I sent them a ticket. The response came after 4 hours saying that it was now online.

I logged in to my vps and the first thing I noticed was how SLOW it was. After a while, it crashed and I couldn't reach to my vps anymore. I sent a ticket, they reset the server, it got a little better.

This happened about 4 times. Everytime I sent a ticket asking why this is happening, I only received a response saying it is OK now.

After 3 weeks of being like this, I decided to switch to a new VPS provider.

Now I am on my new VPS provider, hoping for better results.

My fsckvps will expire in 4 days and it is still very slow.

View 4 Replies View Related

2.5 Months Review Of

Sep 24, 2009

After having a dedicated server for more than 70 days from, I thought that it would be a good time for a review.

I came across them through good reviews in this forum and took the opportunity to get one of their special offers (Core i7). As a short summary in advance: I can fully recommend them to anyone seeking a managed dedicated box.

I just had contact to Sales twice - Once as I tried to bargain for an even cheaper offer than the special one they already had (without success, by the way) and a second time when it came to an eventual server upgrade. Response time was quick, the answers were professional and friendly and there is nothing I could complain about.

Server Setup:
I was in a totally different time-zone than WiredTree while ordering the server. As they have the practice to call their new customers for identity verification, the call reached me at night time and I could not pick it up. So I called them in the morning and they called me back again. It must have been deepest night time in Chicago at this moment. From this telephone call on, it took less than 2-3 hours (as far as I remember) until the server was ready and online.
Another thing is their "ServerShield Server Hardening" that they perform before you get the box. I never received a dedicated server before with so many tweaking measures taken in advance. MySQL performance was improved, the firewall was well configured, security checks were already made, everything felt fine-tuned in advance. So, again, very good job done by WiredTree.

Hardware Quality:
You might say: "You've only been with them 70+ days. Of course, there was no hardware problem during that short time". Well, I read here at WHT about customers of other hosts who had the first failures already at the moment they received the new box. So - No hardware problems at all until now.

I am not very experienced in server management and tend to get nervous if something doesn't work and support takes more than 30min. to answer questions. I know that this makes me annoying sometimes, but at least I always try to be friendly. Fortunately, WiredTree seems very good prepared for nerve-wrackers like me... Support never took more than 15min. to answer my requests and in at least 2 cases, they even bent backwards to help me with problems that had nothing to do with them. Every single request got solved in a very short time. I contacted support at the most unusable hours of the day because I often travel between different time zones - They were always there, like an own IT-Crowd in your pocket. Two thumbs up for their support staff.

100% Uptime during the whole time. No hickups at all, no problem that I would be aware of. Fine speed all the time. There is really nothing negative that I could say.

No billing issues at all. Everything worked correctly.

Their customer portal "Grove":
Well. Hmmm. Okay, one thing first: I saw several customer portals during the last 10 years. And none of them blew me away. I haven't seen SoftLayer's yet and was told that theirs should be even nicer than grandmas cheese cake, but the grass is always greener on the other side as long as you have never been there. Let's say that "Grove" is surely one of the better and nicer looking customer portals around. It bundles a lot of information and offers a good way of communication. The rest is a question of taste...

The bad news:
I cancelled the server today. The company I work for has rent several servers at another host and paid them 1 year in advance. One is totally unused (great planning, MnMgt!) and I was offered by my boss to use it cost-free for that period of time. Well, this is an opportunity I have to take... Saving $300 a month is quite a lot of money. But I am determined to go back to WiredTree as soon as my "free time" is over.

View 6 Replies View Related

SmoothVPS Review - 4+ Months

Jan 17, 2009

I've been using SmoothVPS for about 4 months (and colleagues of mine have been using them for more than that) based on posts from WHT as well as recommendations from others in the industry. Bob @ SmoothVPS has been extremely helpful, very responsive, and is seemingly always online to help me with even the most basic of questions. He has bent over backwards to accomodate my random needs and helps me with specific server configurations that I can't figure out - even with third-party packages that he is not required to support!

I have three Linux-based VPSes with Bob and he has no problem configuring them to my specific needs with whatever version OS that I require. I plan on adding many more as I migrate all my servers to him - I've decided to give him my exclusive business due to how well everything runs and how competitive the price is. Billing is simple - Paypal subscriptions or regular invoices make it a snap to manage (even if I lose track, which I do - sorry Bob).

The bottom line is that SmoothVPS is the place to go for your VPS needs. I haven't needed Windows boxes there, but I will probably mess around with one in the near future to test some software. They're moving to a new DC in the near-future - and they're giving me 30 free days of IP migration to make sure the process runs smoothly. Just amazing.

View 2 Replies View Related

Krypt VPS Review - Few Months...

Feb 12, 2009

I've had a Krypt VPS for a few months now, started with the VPS400 package and moved up to VPS800 over time. Initially (I'm guessing they had just gotten into providing VPS's) the service was EXCELLENT! My VPS was located in their LA datacenter on the Level3 backbone. First two months the VPS was rock solid, I was running a full LAMP (no optimizations) install along with Webmin. By the 3rd month I started having issues with sluggishness, both on the site and SSH. Put in a support ticket which got responded to within 10 minutes as usual (fantastic support!) and their techs moved my VPS to a less loaded VMware node. Things were again pretty solid for about two weeks, then the same thing happened again. I let it be for a few days thinking it may just be a spike, but even after a week it was still pretty horrid. I had even turned off the LAMP install and Webmin in favor of a lone Lighttpd install to serve static html pages. Mind you by this time I had been upgraded to above their VPS800 package, yet I was still having performance issues. Put in another ticket and asked to be moved to another node, they said sure and asked a timeframe, I told them asap and let the issue be. After 4 hours of not hearing anything back, I update my ticket to find out that they were having some issues with the VPS, ok bad things happen, give them time. A few hours later I ask again and am told that they formatted the VPS without any authorization from me...Its a VMware host, they could at the least have attached the virtual hard drivei mage to the new install of my VPS, but they prefered to just delete it. I run several ESX servers at work and even with a nonbootable (according to them) image, the hard drive can still be mounted and recovery can be attempted. I was angry but I have a few dedicated servers with Krypt so I gave them another chance. I took the freshly installed VPS and started hunting down backups to restore from. Installed LAMP and Webmin, gave it a week and once again: slow. I'm fairly certain that CentOS repo apps and Webmin arn't enough to cause a VPS to dog down this bad, even with *everything* turned off (top shows 24MB ram usage) SSH and pages being served by lighttpd are taking 3-10 seconds to come up, as before they came up before I even let go of the button.

Support: 10/10
Service: 6/10
VPS Quality: 5/10
Network: 5/10 (great in the beginning, after a week less than 400KB/s)

Overall they're a great provider, but they need to monitor their nodes more carefully and find abusers. It seems to me like they're either overloading their nodes or have something misconfugured thats causing issues. I was told a few times to restart my VPS which didn't help at all. Orderded a VPS with them about 2 weeks ago on a different account, havn't even touch it since I got it, as of right now, SSH is sluggish, apps like top take an average 5 seconds to come up, max throughput is ~300KB/s from Seattle (hit ~7MB/s when I first got it). Same issue as my other VPS. I'll provide my domain to the mods for authentication.

View 12 Replies View Related

Volumedrive 3 Months Review

Apr 23, 2009

I thought I could share my opinion on VolumeDrive after being with them for a few months. I always appreciated when I could find in-depth reviews from hosting companies when I was looking for one so I hope some peope will find this review useful.

First of all, here my plan with them:


AMD Athlon64 3200+
1 GB DDR2 Ram
120 GB SATA Hard Drive
3000 GB of bandwidth on 100MB port
2 IP addresses
Ubuntu Server 8.04 Linux

This package costs me $49.95 per month.

It all started when I contacted them to have more information on their services and what they have to offer. They replied very quickly and sent me a document detailing every offer they have and how their plans work. It's a shame that all that information wasn't available on their website, they proposed roughly 3 different dedicated solutions on their order form when you can actually choose a bunch of other options. Anyway, I asked a few other questions (like if they could install Ubuntu even if it wasn't listed in the available OS, and they had no problem in doing this). Again, they replied quickly. I made my choice and as I made my first payment, my server was online 24 hours later, as stated in their e-mail.

Communication with Volumedrive's staff is always great, I've had an issue one time where my internet connection was realllllly slow. I e-mailed them and it took a few minutes before I received an answer to my e-mail with someone trying to find what was wrong. We exchanged a few e-mails trying to find what was the issue and the issue got resolved in no time. Aside from this problem, I've never had any network or hardware issue (still have a fresh new server though)

I also personnaly think that their prices are far superior to what other companies offer. Their plans are flexible and if I want a hardware upgrade for example I know I can just contact them and we'll work out the details.

The only downsides I can give them is that their website is missing a lot of information. When you are looking for a server you may not want to spend time contacting each company by e-mail to ask question and have more information, you rely on the website to give you a lot of details. Also, their invoice system is not so great. You receive an e-mail saying you need to pay them and they only accept paypal. When your payment is done, you don't receive any confirmation e-mail. It's not bothering me much for a 50$ server, but I'd want a more conventional billing system with automatic renewal if I had a big business going on with them.

All in all, I really like volumedrive! I'd recommend it for everybody looking for a low cost dedicated server, they're fast, professional and helpful. You just need to send them an e-mail to get the plan that works for you so tow thumbs up for Volumedrive!

View 9 Replies View Related Review (7-8 Months)

Nov 4, 2009

We have been with ServerBoost since March '09.

2x Quad Core Xeon E5430
12 GB DDR2 FB-DIMM memory
2x 146 GB SAS 15k RPM
Hardware RAID 1

A little more expensive than some other NL hosts but you get what you pay for.

Total setup time was 3 days after payment (the server was a custom setup), because we had to wait an extra day for the setup Jelle gave us a free upgrade (better CPU and HDDs) which was amazing seeing that the setup period wasn't that long anyway.

In the past 7 months we have had 2 small bits of downtime, 1 was scheduled - when they upgraded their datacenter and the other was due to a RAID card failure, which was promptly replaced in less than an hour. Their network is faultless.

We only have the free SLA yet Jelle responds within minutes, and his responses are always friendly and professional. However I haven't needed to contact support outside of business hours so I cannot vouch for that, but during business hours it's top notch.

I can't recommend ServerBoost enough, I'm 110% pleased. We/I have 5 servers in EU each with different providers and ServerBoost is by far my favourite and the one I recommend most.

View 3 Replies View Related

Dynaceron : 3 Months Review

Jun 5, 2009

I'm sharing my experience with Dynaceron till now .

Month one;

I wanted to try a Linux server and I ordered one of their hardware, that came with CentOS. I have had many questions about Linux, as I am new to it, and the friendly tech support people helped me find answers. The questions I had were often answered in under 3 minutes. I've had 5 minutes of downtime, but that was because I ordered a 4 gigabyte ram upgrade.

Month two;

I decided to go back to Windows and I asked them if they could install Windows on my server, They asked if I had my data backed up, when I said yes they said they were going to start the install ASAP, after 1.5 hours I received an email with the login details..

After 15 days I asked if they could upgrade my uplink to 1Gbps; The upgrade was done without a server reboot.

Month three;

No problems so far, everything has been going well. Seriously, in my opinion they are the best service around, couldn't ask for better. Their uptime is fantastic. In 3 months I've only experienced 5 minutes of downtime, but again that was because I ordered a hardware upgrade.

I would highly recommend them to anyone that is looking for Quality hardware and support.

I will write a review back in 3 months or if I ever experience a problem I will update this thread.

View 10 Replies View Related

[REVIEW] VPSRight - 4+ Months -

Oct 7, 2009

Finally I managed to get some time to write another review about my host, VPSRight. Simple summary, one of the best webhosts that i have ever had. With great support and resources. And the best thing is they think about their customers.

Talking about their support, they're an excellent bunch who knows what they are doing and what they're being asked. Extremely prompt on responses and are usually responded within an hours time. In the initial month or so I've submitted a lot of tickets and they were dealt with ease.

Their servers are great and fast. Not overloaded and recent uptimes have been great. For the last 3 or so weeks I've had no downtime. And after switching from FluidVM to SolusVM the host nodes have become much more stable.

Network is also great and have a good connection speeds. I rarely go below the 1Mbit/s when downloading files to the server (incoming). A few weeks ago we had a small issue of packet loss for a few hours, as result of a DOS attack on another server at the DC. It was soon mitigated and services was fully restored.

In the months of June/July, VPSRight inured a lot of downtime due to DC migrations and s/w migrations. Therefore they made the next billing cycle free to all it's customers as a compensation. This something good as host and they've taken responsibility for the actions they took.

Now everything is a smooth ride and I am a very happy customer of theirs. I'd happily recommend them if someone is looking for reasonably priced, managed, decent spec VPSs.

View 5 Replies View Related Review [6 Months]

Apr 30, 2009

I think does not get the credit it deserves. In the last ~7 years I have been with many different hosts, and I have to conclude that has been the best. From day one I knew this company wanted to serve the customers, and the small size allowed them to do so. Many large companies ignore the customers when it comes to reliability, price, and support. With I did not have any downtime, and the prices were great compared to other companies. The main reason I stayed with was the support I received. The owner himself was able to help me out on many situations where I did not understand why a certain script was not working. Even though he did not have to offer this sort of support, he still did so out of courtsey. I hope can keep on serving my needs in this manner.

Reliablity - 10/10
Price - 10/10
Support - 10/10

View 12 Replies View Related

MyProHost 3 Months Review

Apr 12, 2009

Just want to share my experience with them.

The story begin at 13th January when the first time i put an invoice there, at that time they offer Semi Managed VPS (reselling from santrex). Support ticket was answered not more then 12 hours and all of issues were solved really fast. except when i order my 2nd vps which take almost 24 hours to be provisioned, but still it's really reasonable.

@ 24 Feb, i got an email stated that they're launching their own node and offer me a special deals, of course i said yes. and it's become fully managed VPS. After i moved my 2 vps to this new node i was never ever submit a single support ticket until now and never had a major issue. i got only one downtime not more then 10minutes when the node got kernel panic, that's what they said on live chatt.

Live chatt support is really friendly and helpful. the server speed is fast, i use these vps for VPN and got no complaint about the speed from my clients.

I have 2 Basic VPS with them. and very happy with it.

View 13 Replies View Related

Review IWebfusion 4-5 Months

Jan 19, 2009

I hereby want to review iWebfusion.

4-5 months ago my website was in desperate need for a new hosting solution, I looked around on this forum and found iWebfusion.

They offered a discount back then that allowed me have a onetime discount.

I signed up for their "Pro Plus" VPS which costs $40,- a month and added as a comment that I needed to get up and running fast since my website (which is fairly popular) already was down for around 3 days.

I chatted with Nikolce and he promised me to get me setup ASAP. In less than 6 hours I was up and running (Not counting the DNS propagation).

To be honest I wasn't sure what to expect from them since they offered a very powerful VPS against only $40,- but I was surprised positively.

In the 4-5months that I was with them they answered every ticket very fast and with skilled correct answers.

Overall I would rate them an 9/10.

I won't rate them an 10/10 as I sometimes felt that my VPS had more speed to offer...but didn't, later on I found out that my CPU limit wasn't raised as Jacob from iWebfusion should have done, he sincerely appologized later on for this issue but it didn't really matter...and humans make mistakes from time to time

I'm not with them anymore since I'm a guy who likes to try out different company's and services (that's also probably why I have a thread here with problems related to La(m/n)ehost).

Also my website grew out of VPS services and I wanted to try out a other company for a semi-dedicated solution.

View 1 Replies View Related

MediaLayer - 4 Months Review

Mar 10, 2009

I signed up with MediaLayer [url](ML) for my client in November last year.

I've read a lot about ML here which are mostly (all?) good +ve reviews & so I decided to pick them to host my client's site.

Since the website is an ecommerce site based on Magento, I needed something that could handle application load. Its for this reason I chose ML.

Magento itself is pretty slow the first time until cache starts working.

So far its been smooth at ML and this post is just to add to the pool of its +ve reviews on WHT.

There was just one unexpected downtime which lasted for a few minutes. It was the mysql server that was down, not the http server (litespeed).

You dont get a whole lot of space at ML, so hosting a lot of raw data like images can be pricey - most of the space taken on my client's site are product images - and duplicated in cache for every dimension by Magento. As of now it gets 500-1000 pageviews a day but this is to increase over 10 times this year and if it goes beyond shared hosting limits (which I doubt), we'll move it to ML's VPS.

View 14 Replies View Related

Powermonster 4 Months Review

Jun 17, 2009

After my longtime webhost went belly-up, and after doing much research, I had the good fortune to come across powermonster.

There I've found super reliable servers, hosting plans with all the features I could want, and fast, friendly support(average reply time less than 15 minutes). There's been no downtime or other troublesome issues.

I have a reseller account and host several dozen websites. I've worked with many webhosts over the years, and the level of service I've found at PM is really exceptional.

powermonster has exceeded my high expectations and I know I have found a good long-term solution for my reseller hosting needs.

here is my blog on their LA CP server: [url]
here is my business blog on their LA DA server(litespeed): [url]

View 11 Replies View Related VPS Review After 4 Months

Oct 26, 2009

This is only a small review of me for I had used their Standard VPS for 4 months.

I ordered a vps and got my vps after a hour. Good for me.

First ticket, i asked them for setup lxadmin/kloxo for me and they did it in next two hours. Good for me.

Second ticket, i asked them for setup some php modules for me. They didn't do it for me, but they teach me how to setup it, and everything done. Not bad for me.

This month i had some attack in my site, and i asked them to buy some traffic, and i paid $24 for 200GB ( i think their BW is not cheap ), but addition 200GB is not enough for me, this time are days end of invoice, i asked them to give me 20GB BW free, and they accept. Good for me.

Downtime : I don't get any downtime in 4 month. Excellent

At this time, i've request them for refund because i'm no longer use my vps. I ask them today and my current invoice will expire tomorrow. They accept and they give me refund $18 to my paypal account. Good for me.

And this is my score:

- Service : 10/10

- Support : 9/10

- Price : 8/10

View 4 Replies View Related

Review: [6 Months]

Jan 20, 2009

I've started using about 6 months ago, when I was looking for a VPS solution, and I saw the webmaster of another forum commenting about It was my first VPS experience.

First, I had some basic questions concerning the service, so I sent a few e-mails to with questions like "Will I get a total access root account" and "What are the backbones you're using", and Jesse Kielhorn answered me prompty to all my questions. Actually, since he answers promptly all the time, I can't guess what time zone he's in because it seems like he's always awake

Then, I tried to subscribe with an unverified PayPal account, but Jesse kindly told me to "PayPal Verify" my account first. Right off the bat, I could see that Jesse was a serious man given his very fast response times, his detailed answers to my technical questions, his strong English communication skills and his client requirements. He's a serious man, and he wants serious clients.

This helped me feel more confident about his service, and I decided to give it a shot with his VPS2 service. Essentially, that was a 300 Gigs bandwidth VPS, with 192 Megs of RAM, 10 gigs of storage, and a dedicated 5 Mbps Internet connection for 9.99$ per month. A very interesting deal for me, since I needed an internet connection that wouldn't slow down randomly like some other cheap shared-hosting providers. I could select any open-source operating system I wanted to install for my VPS, for example Cent OS // Debian // Ubuntu // Fedora.

Once I made my decision to use Debian and the payment was done, Jesse sent me an e-mail with my root credentials, always using the same well written, kind and conforting messages. I started using my new VPS, updated the operating system, changed the port of my SSH account and there it was, running at 5 Mbps, with regular very high speeds.

It's now been 6 months, and the service is up most of the time. When downtimes happened, Jesse kindly told me the reason, and my box was back up in no time. Right now, I'm using a VPS3 and a VPS2 with, and I'm still as happy as I was 6 months ago

View 8 Replies View Related

Umbrahosting Review - 9 Months+

Apr 3, 2009

I initially signed up with Umbrahosting back last summer sometime in June. The migration was really smooth and my account was set-up within a few hours. My initial tickets were answered promptly.

The first few months up until December the service was just great. Server was fast and no problems. The few times i needed support they were there with an answer within a few hours max.

In January all of a sudden I noticed my main website not functioning properly due to GD missing. I was kind of surprised as they had compiled PHP with it a few months back.

Within a few hours my site was completely down for the next few hours. A few support tickets later and I find out that my domain was moved to a "brand new server" and I should have been notified about this way in advance. I received no such e-mail and no e-mail existed in their support panel listing all the service announcement e-mails sent out. They apologized and to show their commitment gave me 4 months of worth of coupons.
Within a week I started noticing DB connection errors all the times on my main website.

It was very very strange as I was hardly using any resources at the time for that website. There were time that nothing was accessible, not even cPanel or anything. Support kept telling me that it was due to maintenance being done, but it was clear that some kind of overselling was going on.

The next month I was charged twice for the same month. Once contacting their billing department they fixed it and refunded me the second charge and removed 2 coupons (no idea why but did not bother complaining as at this moment I had already begun looking for another host).

Issues with DB connections kept going and finally support promised to move me to a "new quad core". After 2 weeks of promises I was moved and low and behold a few days later same problems! Sites were crawling while they kept doing "maintenance" at random times of the day (12 in the afternoon EST, which is the same timezone where they are located).

Anyways to make a long story short, I have just moved my last domain from Umbrahosting and never ever thinking of going back. Even migrating away was such a pain, server was down again due to maintance and responses to support tickets was below satisfactory. To anyone that actually values their business presence I would recommend to STAY AWAY. They oversell like crazy, no question about it. The one thing they have going is response time to their support tickets. I really liked them in the beginning and was thinking of getting a VPS from them but my entire experience from that point on went downhill.

View 7 Replies View Related

[Review] 2 Months With 040 Hosting

Jun 11, 2009


Just thought i would drop a thread in here to let people know about 040 hosting who i host my blog with - on their shared hosting plan

Service has been exceptional, i had my blog hosted with blogshoster who were terrible, they somehow managed to lose everyones blogs :/. 040 helped me move the blog over to them, i have little knowledge with doing that so it was cool.

No Downtime so far.

Very very cheap.

Blog load is very quick.

They are very very helpful, i have asked many questions and they are always happy to help, quick responses and friendly.

5/5, cant fault the service so far.

View 14 Replies View Related

Copyrights 2005-15, All rights reserved