5 Months Review Of DownTownHost.com

Dec 11, 2008

I am hosting my sites with DownTownHost since July 08 and i must say i am really impressed with their quality of service, uptime and site speed. I haven't experienced any major issue yet accept some server modules were not upgraded and were vulnerable so i reported them. Everything is fine now. I am thinking to get a reseller account with them but their plans are too expensive for me. Saving money these days so that i could start my own web hosting business in partnership with them.

View 11 Replies


I Have Been Hosted With DownTownHost For 18 Months Now

Apr 30, 2008

Back in winter 2006 I visited this very forum asking for advice on where to find a reliable and friendly host. I was shown downtownhost by several people on this forum and I was initally impressed when I saw them.

I've posted up two reviews so far of them in this forum, both of which were very positive.

Over the past year I have been on the smallest semi-dedicated hosting plan which I believe is around $60 a month which I'm happy with.

Until that time I was on their shared hosting which was too excellent.

At first if I had a few problems the three guys (there was only 2 at first I think) were on the support desk to help me out.

Speed and reliability are as good as I can hope for. I never have any problems any more so haven't had a chat with the guys on the support desk in ages but I'm sure they'd respond better than ever.

I shall await your comments.....and the monthly hosting invoice that arrives in my inbox tomorrow

View 1 Replies View Related

DownTownHost Review

Nov 29, 2008

I am with DTH for almost 4 months and has been very satisfied. So, I thought I'd post a review here.

I am on their blog package, 1GB of space and 50GB of bandwidth at $5.99. I have to say their support teams are wonderful as they managed to solved every single problem I had every time, literally. Also, I love their 'Live Chat' on their website, once you click it, a conversation with them will start, the only bad thing is sometimes it takes longer than 2minutes which is acceptable

So far, the uptime and speed has been good.

Highly Recommended from me

View 10 Replies View Related

Downtownhost 3+ Month Review

Aug 22, 2008

I wrote an initial setup experience review of downtown host including support w/ transferring my sites a few months ago. Now I am going to extend the review with reliability, speed and performance.

So far, the support and helpfulness has been the same. Rarely does support wait longer than 10 min to respond to questions. They are always responded with a great attitude.

Reliability of all my sites has been 100%. I have seen no downtime at all since I got my account. Truly fabulous. The only time a site has gone down was not their fault...it was my fault...for messing up the database they restored it within minutes after I sent a high priority technical support ticket too.

Speed and performance go hand in hand. Sites are quick and responsive. Just as responsive as a content management system on any dedicated in my opinion. Download speeds are always the same. Never does the download or upload speed fluctuate by more than 10 kbps up or down from the average (totally unlike dreamhost where it would fluctuate as much as 400-500 kbps depending on the day).

All scripts I have used have responded very quickly without any problems that I would encounter with dreamhost (like cut off scripts due to time it took the servers to run through them).

View 5 Replies View Related

DowntownHost 2 Year Review

Oct 5, 2009

I've recently had some issues with a script I wrote and I contacted support about it. Three techs assisted me with it, but could not resolve it. I later found the problem was with my outputting text when there should be no output at all. I closed the ticket and thanked the techs for their work.

This is just one of the many examples I have of how they are willing to work with the customer, even if it is not their fault. They will do what it takes to keep the customer happy, except fixing the customers' code. Jedito and his team really strive at providing superb support for their customers.

I have a few domains hosted with them and also have pointed others to their services. I currently use two of their servers, one is production and the other is staging. They are quick to get services setup and ready to go, as well as providing quick support through their ticket system. Their live chat doesn't always reach people (when it says it is online), but they respond to tickets within a few hours, sometimes within a few minutes.

I have the Silver plan with them, and I think they recently changed the amount of disk space available from 7GB to 14GB because that's what I now have available. I did not know they were planning that, but it was a pleasant surprise when I logged in to cPanel.

I can't think of any problems I have had with Downtownhost in these two years of experience with them, though I have had problems with my scripts and code. If they make a mistake, they admit it and are quick to fix it. I might have had a little bit of downtime over a year ago, but I think the server went down briefly. The uptime has been superb and the services have been wonderful.

To anyone who is in search of a good web host, Downtownhost is the way to go for shared hosting. I have not tried their other services (well, I am using blogging on the staging server), so I do not know what they are like. I have been with my share of web hosts and I have not found one that is better than Downtownhost.

View 12 Replies View Related

Downtownhost - 1 Year Review

Oct 10, 2009

I've been with Downtownhost for a little more than a year now, and figured I would share my experiences with others.

When I first signed up with Downtownhost, everything was great. Transferring my sites went super smooth: my server was very fast and support was amazing (got replies in under a minute!). Unfortunately, as time has gone on, I've seen a dramatic drop in server stability and support.

My first major issue with Downtownhost happened in March of this year, when my server was constantly being brought offline with DDoS attacks. I requested that they switch me to a different server, hopefully with less DDoS attacks. Downtownhost gave me a date and time when they would switch my account to a new server. That day and time went, with no word from anyone at Downtownhost. I sent an email to Downtownhost asking if my account had been moved, but apparently they had forgotten to switch me. Jorge was very quick to switch me once I asked to be moved again.

Everything was smooth on the new server until April, when it went down for periods of at least 6 hours or more on several different occasions (at least 3). These extremely long periods of downtime were very angering.

Everything has been fairly stable up until these last few weeks. I recently registered a new domain and went to add it to my cPanel account as an addon domain. Something screwed up within cPanel, so I was unable to add my new domain to cPanel. This issue took over 5 hours to even get a response from Downtownhost (which used to be very unusual). Eventually, the issue was resolved.

Now, my server is timing out several times per day, and my email has now stopped working.

On top of the increasingly longer support response times, nobody *ever* answers me on their live support feature, which is a big downside for me. I'm not sure what has caused this dramatic drop in quality from Downtownhost, but it's not looking like I will be renewing my contract with them

View 14 Replies View Related

Downtownhost.com – A Detailed Review

Apr 24, 2009

Well, before jumping to Downtownhost.com (aka DTH), I will like to give a bit background story on why I went to DTH at first place. (It's going to be a detailed review, so if you don't have time, just skip first 5 paragraphs)

My first ever host was Startlogic.com (I was a noob back then). Getting my first site online was a big achievement for me. Startlogic worked for me for about a year until my site started getting some traffic. After that, it was nothing but a big trouble and headache to be there. I reviewed them Here (Infect that was my first thread here at WHT )

After this bad experience, I moved to HostingZoom (aka HZ) failover hosting. After few days, my site started getting problem there. I was told that it was causing more than 110% CPU usage. I was never able to backup or restore a mere 7MB database with them. In short, their Failover hosting proved to be "failing over & over hosting" for me in just one month. I was recommended to move to VPS or dedicated server by HZ. My review of HostingZoom is Here.

After being let down by HZ, I looked for my options and decided to go with DTH. Amazingly, the site that took more than 110% CPU at HZ was running without a glitch. I repeatedly asked DTH for server load, so that I wouldn't get any trouble and every time I was told that it was "below normal". I was so happy with DTH that I even got a reseller account and started hosting my friend's sites.

During that time, I also had an account with Hosgator (aka HG) for about 4 months that I used for hosting one blog. It was end of year 2007 when my blog started getting heavy traffic. Unfortunately, that was more than what HG servers were built to handle. After few back and forth tickets, I was told to move to a dedicated server as my blog was not only exceeding their "shared hosting" limit but also causing issue for other clients. (Note: The blog was using "WP Cache" when hosted with HG)

And guess what, I moved that site to DTH reseller account and it worked there without an issue. Although, initially (without WP Cache) the CPU usage was as high as 20%-25%, my site worked without an error. Jedito was kind enough to let me tweak few things without shutting down the site. And when I was finally able to implement Cache, the CPU usage/load became 3.5%. So the site that required a Dedicated Server as per HostGator support was working absolutely fine with DTH Shared/Reseller account. (Amazing, isn't it )

Now, my complete analysis of (DTH) after being with them for over 1.8 Year:

I am with DTH since August 2007 and so far other than two major issues, I haven't seen any other problem with them. One in January 2009, when there was a DDOS attack on the server and I experienced connectivity issue; and one in March209, when there was some server problem. I am happy that they were able to sort it out quickly.
DTH score: (9/10)

That's where DTH beats any other host any time of the day. Sometimes, I get the feeling that I am not using support desk but chatting with them. The shortest reply I got was in less than 1 minute. And it's not just one time; most of my tickets were responded in less than 10-15 minuets. I wouldn't say that ALL of my tickets were answered within minute. The longest response I got was in 4 hours. But I am still happy because instead of getting reply like "We will update you shortly"... I got the reply "It's done". Whenever I needed them, they were there to help out. For me, it's the best support I ever got.
DTH score: (11/10)

Billing/Sales/Customer Service:
With DTH, I always felt that I am a special customer rather than "just another customer" feeling. Whenever I asked for a "little" favor from billing/sales, I got more than I ever wished. I have never seen such a friendly host (and I have been with more than 8 hosts now).
DTH score: (12/10)

So I am going to say it again... and again.... and again.....
Shared hosting can't get any better than what you get with DowntownHost.
DownTownHost is not just one of the best hosts, they are simply THE BEST.

I am sorry if you think unnecessary details were included. Feel free to ask me any question.

View 14 Replies View Related

Downtownhost 8 Month Review

Feb 18, 2008

Downtownhost is amazing. I have never been so fond of a host before. Yes, I've only been doing websites since 1999, but still, they are excellent.

I have been working on a site for a client since December and it was on server28 until tonight. I went on the online chat, and after about 35 seconds, Diego came online and told me about a server in Washington, server32. Since the future web viewers of this site will be in California, I think Washington would be a much better server location than Texas. I put in a ticket, and four minutes later, Diego had it moved, database and all.

My site on server20 has been up since June 2007, going down only for a little bit when there was a server problem. Overall, the service has been great and the support is phenomenal. I currently recommend only Downtownhost to my web clients because of their excellent support.

When I setup that site in December on server28, my client didn't enter a phone number where he was currently, and that was when they decided to call to activate the account.

When Sebastian saw my email address as the referral, he immediately approved it.

Sebastian has helped me more than Jorge and Diego, but all three of them provide excellent, quick support through chat and tickets. I don't think I've put in a ticket that has stayed open for more than a day. They are fast and efficient.

Some sites I have with them...
server20: scec.com
server26: bethanyjanewilson.com
* I don't want to include all of them, just a little bit.

As of this review, I have setup 7 accounts on 6 servers since June of 2007. I plan on getting more people to this host.

View 14 Replies View Related

Downtownhost 1 Year Review

Jul 23, 2008

(I don't want to disclose my domains, but if required i may pm them to moderators.)

I've just realized that it's been over a year since i've started doing business with downtownhost. I thought it's time to write a review.

Hosting (Plans/Servers/etc.): Their plans are affordable, servers are uncrowded (at least it seems so), everything is working as it should be. Over 1 year, none of my sites gone down. (at least i haven't seen it or received any complaints).

Support: Downtownhost has great support. They are quick and reliable. They even helped me with issues which are not even their responsibility. Example: I'm a little bit obsessed with little things. Last month, i just wanted to change my account name, main domain, some other little things which doesn't matter, but are important for me (and takes time). They didn't even ask a single question, they just did it, because i wanted it. That is a big, very big plus for me. This is not the only example, they helped me with several other problems throughout a year.

If you are thinking about signing up with downtownhost, don't think twice about it.

They're great.

View 10 Replies View Related

Wholesaleinternet Review (4 Months Review)

Sep 12, 2008

I've got high end server from WholeSaleinternet.I've been with Wholesaleinternet for 4 months now and I am extremely happy with them.Got an awesome server for a cheap price, a Quad-Core Xeon 8 Processor (3.0GHZ), 32GB RAM, 100mbit port link.

Sales support is slow but tech support is fast!

That you very much Aaron/Wholesaleinternet!, keep up the good work!

View 10 Replies View Related

3 Months Review About Iwebfusion

May 5, 2009

have use iwebfusion for 3 months, write this review share with you.

iwf was a nice host provider,i buy a vps with their los angeles DC,

1 uptime 10/10
no downtime in 3 months.

2 support 8/10
2~6 hours, if not lucky, no more than 24 hours.......

View 8 Replies View Related

Hivelocity 14 Months Review

Apr 6, 2009

I'd been with hivelocity for 14 months by now and i'm thinking to continue my bussines on there.

I created a thread on the past, this is the thread:


And this is what i said:


What can i say?

They just Rock, Dave and steve are just great.

Dave is my account manager he is helpfull, quickly and very efficient.

i would like to recommend people to join in hivelocity.

They are just more than fine, my server is working great and i had 2 issues resolved.

1 issue in less than 20 mins (another server in the rack was consuming a lot of bandwith)
the other issue was a little more complicated but it has been resolved too, thanks Dave

They have the same problem with support than sharktech (not managed), but if you talk to your account manager or Steve they will take care of it and get the problem resolved in a few minuts, that's just cool.

Service and support for me was really good in one week with they .. i will stay for a long time here if everything goes right.

and if we can, stablish a long term business based on trust (i'm a coder i can help)

Well from that moment to now i can say the following things:

No downtimes, only schedules (maintenence)

No support problems.

I upgraded my server to a quad2core and for 6 months payment, they gove me a second HDD!

I'm sending new customers to hivelocity right now, and trying to start reselling their servers.

¿why do i want to?

Because Steve and Dave, are responsable guys.

Because Network works fine.

Last server i bought for a customer: 1 day setup, no problems. I did a hardware check and it was OK, no HDD failures and TEMPERATURE was the right.

Because they understand if you have a problem.

Because support is there to help, even if you don't pay for "Managed services"

And i think that, they manage customers as well, that you can feel as a part of the company and not just another Argentinian customer.

So, watching the huge financial crisis, i want to give a good review about this company, and try to get more and new customers to they.

I would highly recommend to buy their services, this is not another company this is one of the best companies i ever knew.

View 10 Replies View Related

ServerBoost 3 Months Review

Oct 2, 2009

This is my first review regarding a dedicated server prodiver, so forgive me if i miss anything.

We are a small web hosting company located in Greece and after many years in a Greek Datacenter, we were seeking for a reliable provider with Managed Dedicated servers. After a lot of search here in WHT, we came through ServerBoost which is located in Holland.

Sales: Jelle was very patient during our talks, although we were just researching at the time being. A really nice guy and a true professional, answered all my questions as I was skeptic regarding the migration, or details of our contract and service. ( personal fears :p )

Support: They say the first impression is the most significant and I must admit that mine was pretty good. Starting from the Server migration ( From 2 old/slow servers to a brand-new Dell one. ) which went really smoothly from ServerBoost part, taking the downtime to minimal time!

Our SLA contract has a specific time window for support requests but it hardly takes over some minutes or 1-2 hours to get a response ( regarding the time of the day of course! ) and Jelle is always there when i need to ask something.

Hardware/Network: Our Dell server is running really good, and the network is really reliable as "promised". Good speeds and ping ( from Greece ) which is important for our customers.

Conclusion: For me, having dealt with only one foreign company in the past for hosting ( US ), ServerBoost is the ideal one to do business with, because they look really "caring" about our business and their flexibility is priceless.

I'm looking forward using ServerBoost for a long time, really satisfied! :-)

View 2 Replies View Related

IGXHost Review ~Two Months

Oct 14, 2009

I would just like to say that they surprise me for a shared host.

Support: 10/10

Uptime: 9/10

Speed: 9.5/10

Value: 8/10

Although I pay quite a bit I still think it's worth it. About $15/mth for 15GB HDD and 75GB transfer. My website handles ~300K hit's daily with only a few hiccups. It's uptime is something like 99.97% which is decent. The only big incident is when I first signed up I was transferring my domain which took a few days, but was resolved professionally. So far it's a big thumbs up.


View 7 Replies View Related

NYNOC 6 Months Review

May 9, 2009

Decided to give a VPS a try back in November. Ordered through one the sales advertised in the offer forums, got set-up in less than 12 hours.

In terms of performance, the VPS works fine.

In terms of service, this is where the ball is dropped.

The issue is that they set me up in LA, and I'm on the East coast. So I've contacted support, asking if a move was possible. When they said yes, and I've confirmed that their offer to move it during the night was fine, I've even shut everything down to make things smoother.

The next morning, I receive an email telling me I will get another one once it's done... the following day, I receive an email that it can't be done, as I have a x64 OS and there is no space on the node.

So I let this slide, and decide that sometimes you just have to bite the bullet and decided to offer them to BUY another one, this time on the East coast, if they could offer me the same setup as I have on the West coast. They've agreed, and I did the order as they requested... That was around noon 2 days ago, and still nothing today...

For another example, I've requested a ticket because the /dev/tun wasn't configured properly in the container... I don't know what they did, but it corrupted my VPS so bad that I have to re-initialise it completly. Another example: I've posted a ticket that their gentoo image is faulty (no network support at all!), and to my knowledge this was still not fixed.

So yes, NYNOC has some cool ideas like an online chat, even offered an EYEOS desktop, forums, tips, and great prices... but for me now this ain't worth it much and will be canceling my accounts. I guess coming from VPSFarm has spoiled me (instant setup, quick support), and will be looking for a new provider.

View 6 Replies View Related

4 Months FsckVPS Review

Oct 8, 2009

1. Month

I used 15 days of godaddy's shared hosting before FsckVPS. Due to unexpected traffic, I had to move to a VPS. So I chose FsckVPS's 512mb packet.

I was very sattisfied with them. Their servers were fast and the VPS got setup in just a few seconds.

The hacking incident happened this month. I was still pleased by the way they handled it. So I decided to stay with them. They decided to give 2 months free after the hacking incident.

2. Month and 3. Month

Everything was very smooth, running perfectly. Servers were still fast after I got switched to a new one after the hacking.

4. Month

This is the second time I paid to FsckVPS and I was pretty happy about it.

Then I have been informed that they will be switching servers. They told that it would take around 4 hours per vps.

So when I noticed that my vps was down for the first time, I didn't react and waited. After being down for about 8 hours, I sent them a ticket. The response came after 4 hours saying that it was now online.

I logged in to my vps and the first thing I noticed was how SLOW it was. After a while, it crashed and I couldn't reach to my vps anymore. I sent a ticket, they reset the server, it got a little better.

This happened about 4 times. Everytime I sent a ticket asking why this is happening, I only received a response saying it is OK now.

After 3 weeks of being like this, I decided to switch to a new VPS provider.

Now I am on my new VPS provider, hoping for better results.

My fsckvps will expire in 4 days and it is still very slow.

View 4 Replies View Related

2.5 Months Review Of WiredTree.com

Sep 24, 2009

After having a dedicated server for more than 70 days from WiredTree.com, I thought that it would be a good time for a review.

I came across them through good reviews in this forum and took the opportunity to get one of their special offers (Core i7). As a short summary in advance: I can fully recommend them to anyone seeking a managed dedicated box.

I just had contact to Sales twice - Once as I tried to bargain for an even cheaper offer than the special one they already had (without success, by the way) and a second time when it came to an eventual server upgrade. Response time was quick, the answers were professional and friendly and there is nothing I could complain about.

Server Setup:
I was in a totally different time-zone than WiredTree while ordering the server. As they have the practice to call their new customers for identity verification, the call reached me at night time and I could not pick it up. So I called them in the morning and they called me back again. It must have been deepest night time in Chicago at this moment. From this telephone call on, it took less than 2-3 hours (as far as I remember) until the server was ready and online.
Another thing is their "ServerShield Server Hardening" that they perform before you get the box. I never received a dedicated server before with so many tweaking measures taken in advance. MySQL performance was improved, the firewall was well configured, security checks were already made, everything felt fine-tuned in advance. So, again, very good job done by WiredTree.

Hardware Quality:
You might say: "You've only been with them 70+ days. Of course, there was no hardware problem during that short time". Well, I read here at WHT about customers of other hosts who had the first failures already at the moment they received the new box. So - No hardware problems at all until now.

I am not very experienced in server management and tend to get nervous if something doesn't work and support takes more than 30min. to answer questions. I know that this makes me annoying sometimes, but at least I always try to be friendly. Fortunately, WiredTree seems very good prepared for nerve-wrackers like me... Support never took more than 15min. to answer my requests and in at least 2 cases, they even bent backwards to help me with problems that had nothing to do with them. Every single request got solved in a very short time. I contacted support at the most unusable hours of the day because I often travel between different time zones - They were always there, like an own IT-Crowd in your pocket. Two thumbs up for their support staff.

100% Uptime during the whole time. No hickups at all, no problem that I would be aware of. Fine speed all the time. There is really nothing negative that I could say.

No billing issues at all. Everything worked correctly.

Their customer portal "Grove":
Well. Hmmm. Okay, one thing first: I saw several customer portals during the last 10 years. And none of them blew me away. I haven't seen SoftLayer's yet and was told that theirs should be even nicer than grandmas cheese cake, but the grass is always greener on the other side as long as you have never been there. Let's say that "Grove" is surely one of the better and nicer looking customer portals around. It bundles a lot of information and offers a good way of communication. The rest is a question of taste...

The bad news:
I cancelled the server today. The company I work for has rent several servers at another host and paid them 1 year in advance. One is totally unused (great planning, MnMgt!) and I was offered by my boss to use it cost-free for that period of time. Well, this is an opportunity I have to take... Saving $300 a month is quite a lot of money. But I am determined to go back to WiredTree as soon as my "free time" is over.

View 6 Replies View Related

SmoothVPS Review - 4+ Months

Jan 17, 2009

I've been using SmoothVPS for about 4 months (and colleagues of mine have been using them for more than that) based on posts from WHT as well as recommendations from others in the industry. Bob @ SmoothVPS has been extremely helpful, very responsive, and is seemingly always online to help me with even the most basic of questions. He has bent over backwards to accomodate my random needs and helps me with specific server configurations that I can't figure out - even with third-party packages that he is not required to support!

I have three Linux-based VPSes with Bob and he has no problem configuring them to my specific needs with whatever version OS that I require. I plan on adding many more as I migrate all my servers to him - I've decided to give him my exclusive business due to how well everything runs and how competitive the price is. Billing is simple - Paypal subscriptions or regular invoices make it a snap to manage (even if I lose track, which I do - sorry Bob).

The bottom line is that SmoothVPS is the place to go for your VPS needs. I haven't needed Windows boxes there, but I will probably mess around with one in the near future to test some software. They're moving to a new DC in the near-future - and they're giving me 30 free days of IP migration to make sure the process runs smoothly. Just amazing.

View 2 Replies View Related

Krypt VPS Review - Few Months...

Feb 12, 2009

I've had a Krypt VPS for a few months now, started with the VPS400 package and moved up to VPS800 over time. Initially (I'm guessing they had just gotten into providing VPS's) the service was EXCELLENT! My VPS was located in their LA datacenter on the Level3 backbone. First two months the VPS was rock solid, I was running a full LAMP (no optimizations) install along with Webmin. By the 3rd month I started having issues with sluggishness, both on the site and SSH. Put in a support ticket which got responded to within 10 minutes as usual (fantastic support!) and their techs moved my VPS to a less loaded VMware node. Things were again pretty solid for about two weeks, then the same thing happened again. I let it be for a few days thinking it may just be a spike, but even after a week it was still pretty horrid. I had even turned off the LAMP install and Webmin in favor of a lone Lighttpd install to serve static html pages. Mind you by this time I had been upgraded to above their VPS800 package, yet I was still having performance issues. Put in another ticket and asked to be moved to another node, they said sure and asked a timeframe, I told them asap and let the issue be. After 4 hours of not hearing anything back, I update my ticket to find out that they were having some issues with the VPS, ok bad things happen, give them time. A few hours later I ask again and am told that they formatted the VPS without any authorization from me...Its a VMware host, they could at the least have attached the virtual hard drivei mage to the new install of my VPS, but they prefered to just delete it. I run several ESX servers at work and even with a nonbootable (according to them) image, the hard drive can still be mounted and recovery can be attempted. I was angry but I have a few dedicated servers with Krypt so I gave them another chance. I took the freshly installed VPS and started hunting down backups to restore from. Installed LAMP and Webmin, gave it a week and once again: slow. I'm fairly certain that CentOS repo apps and Webmin arn't enough to cause a VPS to dog down this bad, even with *everything* turned off (top shows 24MB ram usage) SSH and pages being served by lighttpd are taking 3-10 seconds to come up, as before they came up before I even let go of the button.

Support: 10/10
Service: 6/10
VPS Quality: 5/10
Network: 5/10 (great in the beginning, after a week less than 400KB/s)

Overall they're a great provider, but they need to monitor their nodes more carefully and find abusers. It seems to me like they're either overloading their nodes or have something misconfugured thats causing issues. I was told a few times to restart my VPS which didn't help at all. Orderded a VPS with them about 2 weeks ago on a different account, havn't even touch it since I got it, as of right now, SSH is sluggish, apps like top take an average 5 seconds to come up, max throughput is ~300KB/s from Seattle (hit ~7MB/s when I first got it). Same issue as my other VPS. I'll provide my domain to the mods for authentication.

View 12 Replies View Related

Volumedrive 3 Months Review

Apr 23, 2009

I thought I could share my opinion on VolumeDrive after being with them for a few months. I always appreciated when I could find in-depth reviews from hosting companies when I was looking for one so I hope some peope will find this review useful.

First of all, here my plan with them:


AMD Athlon64 3200+
1 GB DDR2 Ram
120 GB SATA Hard Drive
3000 GB of bandwidth on 100MB port
2 IP addresses
Ubuntu Server 8.04 Linux

This package costs me $49.95 per month.

It all started when I contacted them to have more information on their services and what they have to offer. They replied very quickly and sent me a document detailing every offer they have and how their plans work. It's a shame that all that information wasn't available on their website, they proposed roughly 3 different dedicated solutions on their order form when you can actually choose a bunch of other options. Anyway, I asked a few other questions (like if they could install Ubuntu even if it wasn't listed in the available OS, and they had no problem in doing this). Again, they replied quickly. I made my choice and as I made my first payment, my server was online 24 hours later, as stated in their e-mail.

Communication with Volumedrive's staff is always great, I've had an issue one time where my internet connection was realllllly slow. I e-mailed them and it took a few minutes before I received an answer to my e-mail with someone trying to find what was wrong. We exchanged a few e-mails trying to find what was the issue and the issue got resolved in no time. Aside from this problem, I've never had any network or hardware issue (still have a fresh new server though)

I also personnaly think that their prices are far superior to what other companies offer. Their plans are flexible and if I want a hardware upgrade for example I know I can just contact them and we'll work out the details.

The only downsides I can give them is that their website is missing a lot of information. When you are looking for a server you may not want to spend time contacting each company by e-mail to ask question and have more information, you rely on the website to give you a lot of details. Also, their invoice system is not so great. You receive an e-mail saying you need to pay them and they only accept paypal. When your payment is done, you don't receive any confirmation e-mail. It's not bothering me much for a 50$ server, but I'd want a more conventional billing system with automatic renewal if I had a big business going on with them.

All in all, I really like volumedrive! I'd recommend it for everybody looking for a low cost dedicated server, they're fast, professional and helpful. You just need to send them an e-mail to get the plan that works for you so tow thumbs up for Volumedrive!

View 9 Replies View Related

ServerBoost.com/.nl Review (7-8 Months)

Nov 4, 2009

We have been with ServerBoost since March '09.

2x Quad Core Xeon E5430
12 GB DDR2 FB-DIMM memory
2x 146 GB SAS 15k RPM
Hardware RAID 1

A little more expensive than some other NL hosts but you get what you pay for.

Total setup time was 3 days after payment (the server was a custom setup), because we had to wait an extra day for the setup Jelle gave us a free upgrade (better CPU and HDDs) which was amazing seeing that the setup period wasn't that long anyway.

In the past 7 months we have had 2 small bits of downtime, 1 was scheduled - when they upgraded their datacenter and the other was due to a RAID card failure, which was promptly replaced in less than an hour. Their network is faultless.

We only have the free SLA yet Jelle responds within minutes, and his responses are always friendly and professional. However I haven't needed to contact support outside of business hours so I cannot vouch for that, but during business hours it's top notch.

I can't recommend ServerBoost enough, I'm 110% pleased. We/I have 5 servers in EU each with different providers and ServerBoost is by far my favourite and the one I recommend most.

View 3 Replies View Related

Dynaceron : 3 Months Review

Jun 5, 2009

I'm sharing my experience with Dynaceron till now .

Month one;

I wanted to try a Linux server and I ordered one of their hardware, that came with CentOS. I have had many questions about Linux, as I am new to it, and the friendly tech support people helped me find answers. The questions I had were often answered in under 3 minutes. I've had 5 minutes of downtime, but that was because I ordered a 4 gigabyte ram upgrade.

Month two;

I decided to go back to Windows and I asked them if they could install Windows on my server, They asked if I had my data backed up, when I said yes they said they were going to start the install ASAP, after 1.5 hours I received an email with the login details..

After 15 days I asked if they could upgrade my uplink to 1Gbps; The upgrade was done without a server reboot.

Month three;

No problems so far, everything has been going well. Seriously, in my opinion they are the best service around, couldn't ask for better. Their uptime is fantastic. In 3 months I've only experienced 5 minutes of downtime, but again that was because I ordered a hardware upgrade.

I would highly recommend them to anyone that is looking for Quality hardware and support.

I will write a review back in 3 months or if I ever experience a problem I will update this thread.

View 10 Replies View Related

[REVIEW] VPSRight - 4+ Months -

Oct 7, 2009

Finally I managed to get some time to write another review about my host, VPSRight. Simple summary, one of the best webhosts that i have ever had. With great support and resources. And the best thing is they think about their customers.

Talking about their support, they're an excellent bunch who knows what they are doing and what they're being asked. Extremely prompt on responses and are usually responded within an hours time. In the initial month or so I've submitted a lot of tickets and they were dealt with ease.

Their servers are great and fast. Not overloaded and recent uptimes have been great. For the last 3 or so weeks I've had no downtime. And after switching from FluidVM to SolusVM the host nodes have become much more stable.

Network is also great and have a good connection speeds. I rarely go below the 1Mbit/s when downloading files to the server (incoming). A few weeks ago we had a small issue of packet loss for a few hours, as result of a DOS attack on another server at the DC. It was soon mitigated and services was fully restored.

In the months of June/July, VPSRight inured a lot of downtime due to DC migrations and s/w migrations. Therefore they made the next billing cycle free to all it's customers as a compensation. This something good as host and they've taken responsibility for the actions they took.

Now everything is a smooth ride and I am a very happy customer of theirs. I'd happily recommend them if someone is looking for reasonably priced, managed, decent spec VPSs.

View 5 Replies View Related

Zinkhosting.net Review [6 Months]

Apr 30, 2009

I think Zinkhosting.net does not get the credit it deserves. In the last ~7 years I have been with many different hosts, and I have to conclude that Zinkhosting.net has been the best. From day one I knew this company wanted to serve the customers, and the small size allowed them to do so. Many large companies ignore the customers when it comes to reliability, price, and support. With Zinkhosting.net I did not have any downtime, and the prices were great compared to other companies. The main reason I stayed with Zinkhosting.net was the support I received. The owner himself was able to help me out on many situations where I did not understand why a certain script was not working. Even though he did not have to offer this sort of support, he still did so out of courtsey. I hope Zinkhosting.net can keep on serving my needs in this manner.

Reliablity - 10/10
Price - 10/10
Support - 10/10

View 12 Replies View Related

4 Months Hivelocity Review

Oct 16, 2009

I've been seeing alot of negative threads about Hivelocity so I decide to post my review.

A little more than 4 months ago I ordered a server on Hivelocity using an offer they posted on twitter, it was a Core2Duo for $75/month and first month for $50. I ordered on the chat and the sales told me there wasn't any package with the Core2duo so he used the next cheapest server to order(Core2Quad q8200, everything else was the same) and wrote a comment saying that the actual server would be a Core2Duo.

I paid the bill, submitted some documents(on June 7) and waited, I had to send a few emails because there wasn't any progress with my order and by June 10 the server was live. When I logged in I realized I was given the Core2Quad q8200, same specs, better CPU

Ever since then I've not needed to talk to support for anything except adding some services(extra IP and 100mb port, both were quickly added and with no problems).

My server has been up ever since:

PHP Code:

 22:49:49 up 127 days, 17:45,  2 users,  load average: 0.02, 0.05, 0.07 

And I've had very little downtime, according to Pingdom 99.98% uptime since June 15:

Their service has been Very Good so far and I've had no problems.

View 11 Replies View Related

MyProHost 3 Months Review

Apr 12, 2009

Just want to share my experience with them.

The story begin at 13th January when the first time i put an invoice there, at that time they offer Semi Managed VPS (reselling from santrex). Support ticket was answered not more then 12 hours and all of issues were solved really fast. except when i order my 2nd vps which take almost 24 hours to be provisioned, but still it's really reasonable.

@ 24 Feb, i got an email stated that they're launching their own node and offer me a special deals, of course i said yes. and it's become fully managed VPS. After i moved my 2 vps to this new node i was never ever submit a single support ticket until now and never had a major issue. i got only one downtime not more then 10minutes when the node got kernel panic, that's what they said on live chatt.

Live chatt support is really friendly and helpful. the server speed is fast, i use these vps for VPN and got no complaint about the speed from my clients.

I have 2 Basic VPS with them. and very happy with it.

View 13 Replies View Related

Review IWebfusion 4-5 Months

Jan 19, 2009

I hereby want to review iWebfusion.

4-5 months ago my website was in desperate need for a new hosting solution, I looked around on this forum and found iWebfusion.

They offered a discount back then that allowed me have a onetime discount.

I signed up for their "Pro Plus" VPS which costs $40,- a month and added as a comment that I needed to get up and running fast since my website (which is fairly popular) already was down for around 3 days.

I chatted with Nikolce and he promised me to get me setup ASAP. In less than 6 hours I was up and running (Not counting the DNS propagation).

To be honest I wasn't sure what to expect from them since they offered a very powerful VPS against only $40,- but I was surprised positively.

In the 4-5months that I was with them they answered every ticket very fast and with skilled correct answers.

Overall I would rate them an 9/10.

I won't rate them an 10/10 as I sometimes felt that my VPS had more speed to offer...but didn't, later on I found out that my CPU limit wasn't raised as Jacob from iWebfusion should have done, he sincerely appologized later on for this issue but it didn't really matter...and humans make mistakes from time to time

I'm not with them anymore since I'm a guy who likes to try out different company's and services (that's also probably why I have a thread here with problems related to La(m/n)ehost).

Also my website grew out of VPS services and I wanted to try out a other company for a semi-dedicated solution.

View 1 Replies View Related

MediaLayer - 4 Months Review

Mar 10, 2009

I signed up with MediaLayer [url](ML) for my client in November last year.

I've read a lot about ML here which are mostly (all?) good +ve reviews & so I decided to pick them to host my client's site.

Since the website is an ecommerce site based on Magento, I needed something that could handle application load. Its for this reason I chose ML.

Magento itself is pretty slow the first time until cache starts working.

So far its been smooth at ML and this post is just to add to the pool of its +ve reviews on WHT.

There was just one unexpected downtime which lasted for a few minutes. It was the mysql server that was down, not the http server (litespeed).

You dont get a whole lot of space at ML, so hosting a lot of raw data like images can be pricey - most of the space taken on my client's site are product images - and duplicated in cache for every dimension by Magento. As of now it gets 500-1000 pageviews a day but this is to increase over 10 times this year and if it goes beyond shared hosting limits (which I doubt), we'll move it to ML's VPS.

View 14 Replies View Related

Powermonster 4 Months Review

Jun 17, 2009

After my longtime webhost went belly-up, and after doing much research, I had the good fortune to come across powermonster.

There I've found super reliable servers, hosting plans with all the features I could want, and fast, friendly support(average reply time less than 15 minutes). There's been no downtime or other troublesome issues.

I have a reseller account and host several dozen websites. I've worked with many webhosts over the years, and the level of service I've found at PM is really exceptional.

powermonster has exceeded my high expectations and I know I have found a good long-term solution for my reseller hosting needs.

here is my blog on their LA CP server: [url]
here is my business blog on their LA DA server(litespeed): [url]

View 11 Replies View Related

Hawkhost.com VPS Review After 4 Months

Oct 26, 2009

This is only a small review of me for hawkhost.com. I had used their Standard VPS for 4 months.

I ordered a vps and got my vps after a hour. Good for me.

First ticket, i asked them for setup lxadmin/kloxo for me and they did it in next two hours. Good for me.

Second ticket, i asked them for setup some php modules for me. They didn't do it for me, but they teach me how to setup it, and everything done. Not bad for me.

This month i had some attack in my site, and i asked them to buy some traffic, and i paid $24 for 200GB ( i think their BW is not cheap ), but addition 200GB is not enough for me, this time are days end of invoice, i asked them to give me 20GB BW free, and they accept. Good for me.

Downtime : I don't get any downtime in 4 month. Excellent

At this time, i've request them for refund because i'm no longer use my vps. I ask them today and my current invoice will expire tomorrow. They accept and they give me refund $18 to my paypal account. Good for me.

And this is my score:

- Service : 10/10

- Support : 9/10

- Price : 8/10

View 4 Replies View Related

Review: Echoservers.com [6 Months]

Jan 20, 2009

I've started using echoservers.com about 6 months ago, when I was looking for a VPS solution, and I saw the webmaster of another forum commenting about echoservers.com. It was my first VPS experience.

First, I had some basic questions concerning the service, so I sent a few e-mails to sales@echoservers.com with questions like "Will I get a total access root account" and "What are the backbones you're using", and Jesse Kielhorn answered me prompty to all my questions. Actually, since he answers promptly all the time, I can't guess what time zone he's in because it seems like he's always awake

Then, I tried to subscribe with an unverified PayPal account, but Jesse kindly told me to "PayPal Verify" my account first. Right off the bat, I could see that Jesse was a serious man given his very fast response times, his detailed answers to my technical questions, his strong English communication skills and his client requirements. He's a serious man, and he wants serious clients.

This helped me feel more confident about his service, and I decided to give it a shot with his VPS2 service. Essentially, that was a 300 Gigs bandwidth VPS, with 192 Megs of RAM, 10 gigs of storage, and a dedicated 5 Mbps Internet connection for 9.99$ per month. A very interesting deal for me, since I needed an internet connection that wouldn't slow down randomly like some other cheap shared-hosting providers. I could select any open-source operating system I wanted to install for my VPS, for example Cent OS // Debian // Ubuntu // Fedora.

Once I made my decision to use Debian and the payment was done, Jesse sent me an e-mail with my root credentials, always using the same well written, kind and conforting messages. I started using my new VPS, updated the operating system, changed the port of my SSH account and there it was, running at 5 Mbps, with regular very high speeds.

It's now been 6 months, and the service is up most of the time. When downtimes happened, Jesse kindly told me the reason, and my box was back up in no time. Right now, I'm using a VPS3 and a VPS2 with echoservers.com, and I'm still as happy as I was 6 months ago

View 8 Replies View Related

Copyrights 2005-15 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved