Knownhost 1 Year Review

Jun 17, 2008

I've been with Knownhost for 1 year (and a month or so). In that time, I've purchased a second (and soon a third) VPS with them, and moved most of my sites there.

They are fantastic.

The support is great, even for complex tickets where there is confusion, they are patient and generous. The uptime has been excellent, and the servers are fast. I have total confidence in Knownhost ... and I've not felt that before for any other provider.

I reccommend them totally.

I still wish they'd update their website though - I don't think it reflects how awesome they are.

View 5 Replies


ADVERTISEMENT

KnownHost.com (11 Day Review)

Nov 9, 2009

This is an 11 day review of KnowHost.com's Managed VPS (VS2 package). As is customary, my site is MachinaDei.com [url] to verify I am on their servers.

Based off my questions here and at another forum, I choose KnownHost.com.

[url]

I am a VPS newbie and have little experience beyond shared hosting on Linux and Windows. So I wanted a managed VPS and KnownHost.com had very quick and well explained responses to my pre-sales inquiries.

It took 3 1/5 hours to get my VPS account from purchase. Which is within the 3-4 hour estimate they state on their site.

Setup was easy, especially since I have never setup a VPS before.

Since purchasing the VPS account, I have been tinkering around on the VPS and have installed Wordpress MU to test. KnownHost.com support has responded to all my questions quickly. Only once did I put it at "High" and got a response in 10 minutes (better than I expected). One of my questions was about setting up my own backup and transferring it to another server. I set the priority at low, figuring I would have a response back later that day or the next as it was not that big of a deal. I sent the message at 1:39pm Sunday and had a response 20 minutes later.

Before I started writing this review, I sent a message asking how to change a regular account to reseller on low priority. I sent my support request at 4:32pm (eastern) and got the response at 4:43pm. I would have been happy with a response in a couple hours. That wasn't to test response speed, I just didn't know the answer...

None of my support request have been tough questions, just newbie questions. So I can not attest to what happens if there is a major issue.

A friend who works with a server farm at a data center tested a 10meg download file for me and got 1.32 - 1.35 mb/s for download speed. Not sure if that is maximum, but good enough for my use.

I was worried that 384meg ram would not run well with CPanel, but so far it has been pretty good. I tend to run at 35-40% ram use on a fairly quite site (high traffic sites are not transferred yet). So figure that is about idle for the VS2 package. I put a PHP script (PHPSysInfo) up to see what my use was at both my shared hosting account (1and1 - stop laughing) and the VPS. Pretty amazed at how heavily used the shared account was! I took a few screen shots of both servers and put in a post on my site.

[url]

My only critique is the support section needs more information for a newbie. So far that is the only issue I have run into... They do have a good forum to use, but I like reading documentation when possible before asking questions.

So I will give two thumbs up to KnownHost.com. If you are considering a managed VPS, I do suggest you give them a consideration. Especially if you are going to need support.

View 8 Replies View Related

KnownHost Review

Dec 5, 2008

This is a two month review of KnownHost.

We moved from FutureHosting to KnownHost after we suffered slow server responses over prolonged period of time. Although I had read many good reviews, I contacted KnownHost and asked a few questions of my own and received prompt, friendly and detailed responses that gave me confidence to proceed. The signup was quick and efficient and all the server details, control panel logins and other important stuff was supplied with no fuss or confusion.Setup and Support

For our site to run we require some extra libraries, I raised a low priority ticket outlining what was needed, it was responded to within 10 minutes and all our requests were completed 40 mins later. There was no back and forth required to get this done and once completed they also provided full paths to the installations without needing us to prompt for the information. Sometimes the small things can make a big difference in your hosting experience and they seem to go that extra mile to help out.

I transferred the majority of our sites from the previous hosts but asked Knownhost to handle our main site. Since this is a dynamic site they arranged a convenient time with us and begun the transfer exactly on time. During the transfer we were kept informed of the progress and the whole process was completed professionally and with no stress or fuss. It was by far the easiest and most efficient site move I have experienced.Server Speed

After speaking directly with KnownHost about our sites and their plans, on their advice we chose a package with less resources than we had at our previous host. KnownHost did not attempt to up sell and instead encouraged us to try it out first and only add to the package if it was needed. Our sites have been running faster than with the previous hosts, the server is more responsive, control panels load instantly and server loads are always extremely low. You would expect some occasional load spikes on a VPS but we have not seen any at all. Up Time

As far as I can tell (we don’t have any external site monitoring) there has been no downtime since moving. Our main site runs a busy vBulletin community (usually around 150-200 members and guests active at any one time) and our members are very quick to complain if it’s slow or not available. Since moving to Knownhost our members have not had cause to complain and our life as server admins has become considerably easier.General thoughts

Trying to sum up the KnownHost experience is quite easy and can be done in one word…boring. Once you have everything setup and to your liking, which quite frankly didn’t take long or cause any stress, then its just a case of paying your monthly bill and getting on with your own business, the server just runs without any issues. We have been there for 2 months now and although have submitted less than 5 tickets, each one has been responded to and completed to our total satisfaction by friendly, efficient and knowledgeable staff. With their well setup and maintained servers that are obviously not oversold, fast, courteous and knowledgeable support plus fair prices for an excellent service, it would seem that they will have us as customers for a very long time.Summary

Presales response quality/speed – 10/10
Signup process/speed – 10/10
Support Knowledge – 10/10
Support Speed – 10/10
Server Speed – 10/10
Costs – 10/10

I realise its early days yet but first experiences counts too. I’ll update the thread again in 6 months time.

Sites hosted on the server submitted for admin verification.

View 11 Replies View Related

Just Another KnownHost Review

Sep 25, 2008

I've been with KnownHost for a little over six months now, and figured it's time to throw in another thumbs up review for them and their superior support.

I signed up with them on March 12 after getting tired of dealing with suspensions at my previous host, and setup for a new VPS-Lca was done in five hours.

Being new to VPS, I of course had no clue what I was doing, and made some changes to the firewall in Virtuozzo. Ooops, can't login to cPanel now. Sent a support ticket in, and 11 minutes later, the issue was fixed. Without them even laughing at me.

Next support request was for site migration. They had it done within an hour, after answering questions about the process that I had, since I wanted to transfer an addon domain as the main domain (couldn't be done that way they informed me).

So, the site transferred in its entirety, and I immediately had problems. The main one being that the old user name transferred over, and I didn't want to use it (trying to forget the entire experience at my previous host). Anyway, it was now giving me ownership errors. I started to change the ownership one by one, then asked support if there was a way to do a batch change. I'd have done it myself, but those wonderful people did it for me in minutes. Changed the database, etc.

But then I encountered a weird problem. Couldn't see any new posts or comments. Turns out some of the tables didn't transfer the first time around. Known Host went back in and transferred the missing tables from the old host for me.

This entire process took two days, with them staying on it the whole time. At the end they even went in and corrected the permissions on the WordPress files, that had changed in the process. I daresay few hosts would be so good as to do that.

Next request (low priority) was asking about eAccelerator, Within 30 minutes they wrote back to tell me they'd installed it. Another low priority request was asking what version of Mod Security was installed. Within 10 minutes I had the answer, plus some helpful hints on it!

A more urgent request had to do with my memory usage going high. I requested to upgrade my plan (which I'd been thinking of doing anyway). On a weekend, they upgraded me ASAP, with no downtime. That helped, but not to the extent I thought, so support went right in and looked around and fixed a problem with max connections, which was at the default unlimited.

Since then, I discovered the offending plugin I was using and removed it completely. And the VPS has been humming along without a hiccup ever since.

So, if you're looking for fast (and knowledgeable) support that goes beyond what anyone can expect, Known Host is the only choice. I can't say enough good things about them, and in fact have recommended them to others in other forums.

The only extremely minor problem I had was with billing last month, when I failed to receive my invoice. I did get a reminder, unlike other hosts that may suspend you for missing the payment. So it wasn't even a problem. I just have to remember to check my account in case the invoice again disappears into the etherworld.

In conclusion:
Speed: 10/10
Support: 12/10
Billing: 9 1/2/10

They are top notch in every way.

View 11 Replies View Related

KnownHost 2 Week Review

Nov 23, 2008

I have been with KnownHost for just over 2 weeks now and am EXTREMELY happy with the services provided. I recommend them to anyone who cares about customer service/uptime.
The basic VPS that I'm on has been powerful, no issues at all, and support is extremely quick. The reason I am writing this quick review is because I just submitted a support ticket at 1:40AM on a Sunday (Pacific time) and received a response at 1:55AM. When these guys say 24/7 support, they mean it.

I will try to do another review in a few months, but am extremely happy so far. Try them out if you've been searching for a VPS provider - you get what you pay for with KH.

View 11 Replies View Related

My History With KnownHost: One Month Review

Aug 25, 2008

The Past Month (23 of July) i purchased two Mini VPS to check KnownHost Performance.

Great.

Yesterday I Begin to think in move some VPS with them, and i enter to check my VPS, and Are DOWN. No Notice emails, no nothing.

I Write to Support, and some minutes later they pass me to billing. Then i realize Immediatly the problem. One Partner of me, is a verified Paypal SPANIARD with vacation in Mexico, she Pay the Two Invoices, and Maybe Paypal reverse the payment.

I understand. Is ok ...

View 14 Replies View Related

KnownHost: 8 Months Review (satisfied)

Sep 20, 2008

I want to share my experience with KnownHost. It's has been great.

I jumped to KH in January 2008, first invoice #22530.

Actually, this is not my VPS, but its my friend's. But, since my friend wants me to manage the VPS, I have to deal with the VPS thing. And, this is my first VPS.

Before with KH, my friend was with a shared hosting, and it was DreamHost. My friend fell in love with the huge space and bandwith (at that time).

She only has two types of websites: blog (powered by WordPress, and small forum). For the next few months, her community was growing very fast, and she started to get problems.

She got her account suspended once (because she used too many resources). Also, sometime it was soooo slow to open the site. So, after having a discussion, she told me that she wanted to MOVE. At first, when I looked at the site stats, I told her that if she moved to another shared hosting, she will be suspended. She needed more than a shared hosting (since she only had small budget). After that, we finally decided that: yes, we needed a VPS.

So, I jumped to WHT, and found some alternatives. We need to have a managed VPS. After searching and narrowing some alternatives, we got some options: KnownHost, SerVint, Dotable. They got many positive reviews. Sometime, I was thinking that choosing a webhosting might be tricky. Because we did not want to get suspended by DreamHost, we need to get a VPS ASAP. And, we went to KnownHost.

The price might not be the cheapest, but the packages are looks great. We finally ordered the VPS Ltx (256 RAM, 10 GB space, and 200 GB bandwidth).

I got the VPS login detail on 25 Jan 2008. And start moving all files and database. Everything looks good, and I was lucky all the process was finished before our account was suspended. In the next few days, our site completely transfered to KH. All good.

On February 2, 2008, I sent a ticket about ImageMagick, and some other questions (ticket #31817). The ticket was answered and solved in 25 minutes. Great!

On February 5, 2008, I needed to have ionCube PHP Loader and eAccelerator for my VPS (ticket #32043). I got everything solved in 51 minutes.

After that, when I need some issues (even small issues), I contact the support team (not via live chat), I always got the answer quickly. I am happy, my friend is happy, our community is happy!

After around six months, we ugpraded our RAM to 512. The process was also simple. So, here I am, almost 8 months with KH. Satisfied!

I will report this post to moderator to confirm my domain hosted at KH.

View 14 Replies View Related

KnownHost.com - Honest Review And Experience

Mar 18, 2008

I recently transferred to Knownhost after my previous host ask me to leave their server because my websites eats 35% of their system, not the bandwidth and not the diskspace but the CPU. I have several clients running SMF forums with less than a hundred users at the same time.

After days of searching through the pages of WHT and through the suggestions of other members for me to get a VPS, I signed up with Knownhost.com. That is after asking them a lot of question regarding VPS and their packages, AUP and TOS. Pre-sale is fast, chat support answered all my questions with precise information and the same goes with their sales when I emailed them.

Since I don't know anything about VPS, I asked a lot of question ranging from stupid to more stupid question. Should I delete incremental backup or full backup ? what is Apache backup ? Can I delete Apache archive ? Can my client run mod-rewrite ? What is wrong with their .htaccess ? What DNS entry should I change for wildcard? What should I do to fix system resource problem as it reached 35.92% ? As you will see, all this questions and the other questions that I throwed to them were answered in a very professional and precise manner. I must admit that I am really impressed on how they handled my problems and how they explain everything that I need to know. This may seem small issues to others, but for a newbie on VPS like me it is a great help. They are not just simply efficient, but also very effective in delivering the solution. All the help that I need was given to me to run the VPS from scratch, me having no knowledge about it. Honestly, at first I thought they were trained to be polite, but it seems the support are really polite in nature. Not like other support I encountered from other host that were trained to be polite yet their evil nature goes out when you asked something unusual and off their manual and they can't solve it. It's been more than a week now, but everything is running smoothly. I may have had a few downtime but loss is immaterial for everything is being resolved in reasonable time. Reasonable in a way that minor problem are resolved instantly while major problems are carefully evaluated to give not just work around but rather a solution to the cause of the problem. I experienced this when they fixed the problem of my PHP configuration that conflicts with the memory requirement of SMF and also regarding the wildcard DNS that my client need.

I can't tell how long Knownhost.com support will be like this, but as long as I got the same quality of service from them, then I will stay.

I saw more than 35% usage from virtouzzo panel and it is indeed a spike.

In the event that the quality of support change, I'll look for this thread and post it here.

View 14 Replies View Related

MonkeyWrench Hosting Review - Three Year Review

Dec 15, 2008

MonkeyWrench Hosting review - Three year review

I've been hosting my personal sites with MonkeyWrench Hosting for around three years now (coming up in January I believe), and I figured I'd share my experiences with them!

I've gone through a few hosts in my time, and some of them have been pretty rough. After using paid hosts, a niche free host started up that I stayed with for around a year before they eventually closed down.

I switched to MonkeyWrench Hosting at that point as a place to host my sites and store my files, and I have to say that I've been impressed throughout the time I've been with them.

Uptime/speed:
Fantastic! The sites have been perfectly reliable and speedy whenever I've gone to access them, and I haven't had any complaints from users. I did come across MySQL going down on one of the servers (I have two accounts for different purposes that are on seperate servers) in the past, but it was resolved quickly before I even needed to get help.

Support:
I've used the support a few times, but not for anything critical since there's not been the need. However, everything that I have asked was answered promptly in a professional manner.

Pricing:
Again, no complaints here. The pricing is pretty cheap, especially for the quality of service receieved. They aren't the cheapest on the Internet by any means, but you generally get what you pay for. I'm aware of what my realistic space/bandwidth needs are anyway, and I'd rather pick a host that clearly advertises what you'll receive over an 'unlimited' host.

All in all, MWH have been a fantastic choice and I couldn't have hoped for anything better.

So, thumbs up to Jonathan, and keep up the good work!

I'll report my domains for the moderators to check them out. =)

View 10 Replies View Related

One Year Review - VT6

Jul 29, 2008

This is a brief review of my experience with VT6 over the last year.

I have little to say, because it's "just worked". I've had to call upon their helpdesk twice in the last year. In both cases the response was timely and the matter resolved in a reasonable timeframe, both were matters beyond their control.

I'd happily recommend them for shared hosting.

View 8 Replies View Related

My Two Year Review With IN(.be)

May 11, 2007

This is my first and last review of these guys. When I first colocated my server with them, they were still known as iHosting. The price was good, the support was excellent, and it was a friendly little place. I never experienced any down time to speak of, and when I needed something changed (like a reverse DNS entry), they took care of it almost straight away.

Of course, then a big mean company bought them. In(forbusiness).(nl|be). From day one I knew things could only go downhill from there on, and I was right. Every time they touched my server in the datacentre, it went offline. Even when they didn't have any business with my particular server. On three occasions they unplugged the power cable *WITHOUT PRIOR NOTIFICATION* so I couldn't do a clean shut down which resulted in a raid array rebuild. That in itself would almost be acceptable, but each time they didn't plug it back in properly.

Then on another three occasions they've messed up my connectivity by not handling the NIC with care. It's a sensitive little thing, and even though I've pointed it out to them time and time again, they keep messing up. Usually they've been kind enough to fix these problems, which they caused relatively quickly. However, it's happened again, and this time they're refusing to fix it for free. Needless to say, I'm not paying for something they broke, and I'm cancelling my account with them ASAP. They'd better not make a fuss about giving me back my server, or I won't be a happy camper.

As if unannounced shutdowns and unplugged cables aren't bad enough, I've also been paying for an APC connection/account for almost two years now. I still haven't received any actual login data that would in fact allow me to do a remote reboot. It's not like I haven't asked them .. I asked them at least every time the server went down, and about every other month as well. Each time my mail was either ignored, or I got some vague reply.

Oh, and about this latest downtime .. they told me they'd be rearranging things in the rack today. I asked them, yet again, to be careful with my server so it wouldn't go down for like a week again. That mail was nicely ignored. After almost a day of downtime, I told them I would be cancelling my account and that they'd better get my server back up ASAP. Their only reply was that that would cost me. After they guaranteed me there would be no more than 5 minutes of downtime while rearranging the rack. Right.

The hosting world has changed a good bit in those years I've been with them. I can now get a reseller account that gives me just as much freedom for less money with more support. And face it, support is what it's all about -- and theirs blows.

I wouldn't recommend this host to anyone, not even if they paid me. Not even if they were the last host on the planet. Never again.

View 1 Replies View Related

My 5 Year Review Of Powweb

Oct 19, 2007

I have had several accounts with Powweb for 5 years now and I thought I would write a brief review of them:

BEFORE

I originally went with Powweb 5 years ago based off of a referral from a friend. At the time, the shared hosting environment isnt quite what it is today. For the first several years, I experienced trouble free hosting (for the most part) and truly felt as though I was getting what I paid for.

Powweb, back then, was a privately owned company based out of California ( I believe) and I usually got the impression that most of their employees truly cared about their customers and the quality of service they provided. What made them semi-unique at the time, was that they offered only a one plan solution (they didnt offer multiple plan types) and the simplicity of their business model worked well for most.

Powweb was also unique in that they offered community forums which were pretty open and it truly allowed customers to discuss problems and issues with one another. A few years ago, they transitioned from private dedicated servers to a clustered environment and that did bring along some hard time, but they got it under control eventually. Overall, I was satisfied with the service.

NOW

A year or so ago Powweb was bought-out by Endurance. If you do not know anything about Endurance, they are a very large web-hosting company which has acquired several other large shared-hosts over the past few years.

Once Powweb was purchased by Endurance, the quality in service immediately decreased. Part of what Endurance does with most of their acquisitions is to assimilate them into their fold. This was a very shaky process and nearly everyone experience a large amount of downtime.

Additionally, Powweb is now plagued by horrible MySQL issues where the service is nearly completely useless. For the past year, Powweb has been either unable or unwilling to fix these issues. It can often take several minutes for even the most basic of queries to run. Any dynamic type of an application: forums, blogs, CMS, are usually rendered completely useless.

To make matters worse, Powweb continues to aggressively advertise these resource heavy applications and then ask for patience as they attempt to get their issues fixed. It has been about a year now, and still it is not resolved. Much of these issues come from the extreme overselling that Powweb does. Nearly every day, all websites (even static ones) come to a complete crawl.

Calling customer support is also a waste of your time. 95% of the time, you are met by a rude person who simply tells you well, it seems to work for me or that we are aware of the problem (at best). Opening support tickets is also usually not helpful. Tickets are often closed without any contact with the customer and it is very common for them to give you the run-around.

I have been told by support several times to keep an eye on the forums for updates on issues and whatnot. Then, if you go to the forums and attempt to get any information from there, you are told that these are only user-helping user forums and that you cant get any official help there, though customer support told you to go to that very place. Additionally, Powwebs staff practices extreme censorship of the forum and it is common for negative remarks to be removed or posts completely deleted, many times without any acknowledgement of the act.

In addition to the MySQL issues, Powweb also experiences frequent lock-ups, CGI issues, email issues, dns issues, and so on and so forth. The list of problems that has occurred over the past year is literally too long to remember.

In conclusion, the Powweb of new is nothing like the Powweb of old. This new Powweb is controlled by an over-selling giant (Endurance) that is only concerned with the number of accounts as apposed to the quality of service. While certainly any business related site should not be in such an environment at all, I would even suggest that people looking for a host for hobby related purposes stay clear of powweb its that bad.

View 14 Replies View Related

HostMySite VPS 1 Year Review

Aug 15, 2008

One year has gone by since we bought our hosting plan at HostMySite (HMS) and I thought I'd post another review. You can read my previous review here (http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=659594)

The Short Of It
We have 2 IIS Coldfusion VPS (CF VPS+ plan). The first one we had was originally just a CF VPS (for developing) but we later changed it over to a CF VPS+ (more ram, more space, etc). This VPS is 1 year and 1 month old. Our production VPS which currently hosts our website is a healthy 1 year old. The reliability has been great and we never had any speed or performance issues.

We are very happy at HMS. We have had very little issues with the our VPSes and those issues are usually resolved very quickly. Anytime we needed support, it was overall always quick and helpful. We recommend HMS to anyone who needs a Windows VPS.

Security and Friends
The SSL certificate we purchased from our previous host expired so we bought a new one via HMS. At first the order we placed was apparently processed by them but wasn't sent to the issuer for processing. We didn't find out until we sent a ticket in wondering about the status. They immediately processed it for us. Except for the fact that they processed it for 1 year when we bought it for 3. So another ticket flew across the internet and flew back to us just as quickly resolving the problem.

They asked if they wanted them to install it and we emphatically said yes. They installed the certificate and we were set. Or so we thought. We began having issues with our merchant account not being able to verify our SSL certificate. They forgot to add in the intermediate certificate so that third party processors can see verify it's legitimacy. This was resolved very quickly (faster than we expected) and we have not had issues with it since.

The One Thing
The only thing we'd like to mention was an incident that occurred several months ago. One day, out of the apparently gray clouds, for some reason our site could not be connected to. After shaking our fists futilely at the weather gods, we sat down and tried to figure out what was wrong. By doing the basic diagnostics to make sure it wasn't us or our ISP we cursed the Lunar Goddess and contacted HMS to see what was up. They fixed it but didn't tell us what the issue was. Apologies in the form of cup cakes to the Moon was issued.

The next day, the same problem occurred or at least we thought and was told it was the same problem. We could not access our site. This time we did both live chat and started a ticket (for documentation, last time we just called). In the live chat they stated it was an issue with the node and not specific to our VPS and they were working on it. They said it was the same issue as yesterday.

This is where it starts getting dicey.

They also responded via the ticket that the firewall was blocking the ports and not the same issue as yesterday. Now considering only one person has access to the VPS (via RDC) to make changes and he did not log in to make any changes to the firewall (why would we?) that explanation didn't even seem plausible. And the ports blocked (pretty much everything except FTP) didn't make any sense. We went back and forth, with me explaining that after several months of not touching the firewall after setup, why would we inexplicable block ourselves out? Why would we even touch the firewall? Also that it can't be a coincidence with the node issues yesterday and they had already stated it was the same issue.

After a bit of going back and forth, they finally came to the conclusion that the patch they applied to fix the node issue made changes to the firewall which caused the subsequent issue. While this explanation didn't exactly seem completely kosher, we weren't going waste more time asking for a better explanation.

Now given that the total "downtime" of both issues was about 5 hours we thought we'd see how much of a resistance they will put up for the uptime guarantee. The first issue we pretty much knew wasn't going to get any attention because according to their TOS, they will only refund for time it was down when you posted a support ticket. Since we did this over the phone, there was no documentation to speak of when it went down and when it got fixed.

As for the second issue (which did have a ticket) they stated that since the VPS was technically up, the uptime guarantee did not apply even if the problem was caused by them (they didn't specifically say that but it was implied). While we didn't expect anything from it and didn't bother to pursue it, that response raised some eyebrows. While within their rights, it did seem a bit "whoa". They did apologize and were very polite and respectful. It was pretty much what we expected in terms of responses.

The Train Ride
While the above issue may seem bad, it was a one-time event. These things can happen. We haven't had any uptime, access or server issues since that problem. Support is quick and helpful.

The site has been running fine for months with no downtime.

We are overall very happy with HMS and would recommend them to anyone who needs a Windows VPS.

Overall Rating: 9.5/10
Support: 9/10
Reliability: 9/10
Speed and Bandwidth: 10/10

View 4 Replies View Related

1+ Year Review - Netdirekt

Oct 7, 2009

I will try to share my experience with all of you regarding the company I rent my dedicated servers - Netdirekt.

I found out about them over an year ago when I needed to move to dedicated server. I decided to give them a try, since I was new in this area and since I am perfectionist in this job (making backup of backups of backups)I thought I don't have what to loose if they disappoint me. At least not much.

So over an year ago, I ordered my first server with them. It was Core2Duo server with 4GB of RAM, with a nice price. By the way, when I saw their 1996 website and their pricing, I was getting ready to get disappointed)

I didn't need much help in the beginning, the hardware and network were (are) top notch. Some months later, 4 if I remember correctly, I expanded my business and ordered a second server with them. So, I am really satisfied with their service.

Couple of experiences I got with them that I would like to share with you.

Once, the hard drive of one of my servers started fiving SMART errors so it needed to be changed. It was Sunday, 1AM, so I didn't expect much and it was the secondary (backup) drive so it wasn't THAT urgent to me. Anyway, I dropped them an e-mail requesting drive change. 15 minutes (yup, 15 minutes, Sunday, 1AM) later I got an e-mail back, their representative asking me am I ready for the hard drive replacement. I replied yes. I told him i shut off the server. 10 minutes later my server was back online, with new drive in it.

Later on, once they had 2 hours network outage and another time 1 hour power outage I think, that is in an year. My servers are checked by Pingdom so I believe their uptime.

Then I left them alone for some months, didn't bother them since I had no issues at all, until 2 weeks ago when I got my third server with them. I believe I have been the most boring client ever to them. 10 times maybe I asked IP transfer from one server to another, and they did that very fast and without making me feel uncomfortable by asking that from them over and over again.

So overall, I am very satisfied with their service. They don't do much (hardware and network only, no management), but I think they are perfect in what they do.
Keep up the great work netdirekt, and you will keep me with you forever.

View 13 Replies View Related

Steadfast 1 Year Review

May 6, 2009

We've been a customer of Steadfast for a little over a year with a VPS plan. We had been using a dedicated server from another provider and we were looking to cut costs a bit since the server was very underutilized.

After researching here, we originally signed up on a low-end VPS plan and set up monitoring. Our goal was to monitor the server and service for a couple/few months prior to moving any services over to it; just to make sure the company and VPS would meet our needs.

After a several months of monitoring the server closely we decided to migrate from our ded server to the VPS at Steadfast. We haven't looked back since.

Our criteria for VPS at the time were:

1) Had to run Debian.

2) Reliability of service/provider.

--Uptime of the server itself

--Network reliability

--Redundancy

3) Customer support responsiveness.

4) Price.

Steadfast has exceeded our expectations in all areas. First off finding a host that supports Debian is not as easy as it should be.

(Note to VPS providers: This is a deal-breaker for us. If we can't use Debian then there's much less chance of us signing up for your services.)

Off the soapbox and back to Steadfast: The VPS is quick - with no I/O lag at all. It feels like a dedicated server. The service itself has been reliable and the network has also been responsive. (We monitor our servers from two separate geographical locations).

Further, we've opened more tickets than a 'normal' customer probably would, mostly just to find out what our options are for growth, backups, etc. The team (Karl and others) at Steadfast are very helpful. I don't have any specific recollection of opening a true tech support ticket but I'm sure I have. The fact that it doesn't stand out as remarkable indicates that it was answered quickly and with a personalized (non-generic) response.

We've grown since we started using the VPS and the upgrade process has been painless and quick. Maybe this is true of all VPS providers since all they need to do is allocate more resources, but either way, it's been painless and quick for us at Steadfast.

View 3 Replies View Related

Futurehosting 2 Year Review

Oct 6, 2009

I have been with futurehosting since October 2007 and have had my ups and downs. see my history below:

October 2007: Signed up for both a vps in chicago and one in dallas datacenter. I used my chicago server for my primary hosting and my dallas server is used only for DNS failover for 2 websites. I am a small town host that hosts locally only so we have around 15 clients. Everything was working ok, but the chicago server just always seemed slow, ocasional load spikes throughout the day hitting the 5 or 6s. So finally in May 2009 I posted on WHT to seek some help for why loads were so high and we came to the conclusion in that thread that it must be an overloaded server. So I shot off a ticket to futurehosting to move me to a different node and they did without any problems. Loads seemed to go way down after the move and my server was zippy fast again.

August 2009: My chicago server has been getting progressivly slower throughout the last 3 months and we are back to load spikes again. I finally give up with the load issue and just assume it is my problem.

September 11, 2009: Now I run into a problem with php handeling sessions and ask for help from futurehosting and have a problem with them lying to me. You can see the thread here. Jim at futurehosting is aware of this and apologized deeply. And they reprimanded the admin working on my case.

September 21, 2009: I migrated my chicago server to Wiredtree and still have my dallas server as my backup with futurehosting. Since moving to Wiredtree, all of my load issues have gone away and load sits around 0.25 average.

Please note that in all these cases I have opened tickets with futurehosting and worked with them through the problems.

Now, after I got my history out of the way, here is my review:

Value: 10/10

futurehosting is one of the best values around especially now with their 40% off for life and more ram. I, as an existing customer even submitted a ticket complaining how new customers get this and we as exhisting dont and they gave me the discount.

Support: 7/10

I think the support of futurehosting is a little below of top tier. When you submit a ticket with futurehosting after 15 min you get a reply stating were working on it. Then sometimes after 30 min you get a reply were escelating this to sysadmins. And finally after 45 min the problem is fixed. Now keep in mind this is just one instance, but almos all receive a first ticket stating were working on it and then 15 min later its fixed. Now, I really dont have much to compare to here other than wiredtree, and when you submit a ticket to them, 15 min later you get a response fixed. Now about the server admin lying directly to me when he couldnt fix the problem. I realise this is a rare isolated instance, but still put a sour taste in my mouth.

Server Performance: 5/10

Performance was good at times bad at times and overall seemed slow at futurehosting. I think, but not sure that maybe they are overloading their servers

Server Uptime: 10/10

Server was always up, and I mean always. Only around once or twice in two years was there a problem with DDOS on another server that caused routing problems in the datacenter to cause my server to be unreachable.

I hav enever had any problems with my server in dallas and it is always fast and zippy and never down. I have also never really submitted a ticket on my server in dallas because it is used so infrequently. We, however are leaving futurehosting and will be in process of moving our dallas server away from them soon.

Well, there you have it, my review of futurehosting after two years.

View 14 Replies View Related

DowntownHost 2 Year Review

Oct 5, 2009

I've recently had some issues with a script I wrote and I contacted support about it. Three techs assisted me with it, but could not resolve it. I later found the problem was with my outputting text when there should be no output at all. I closed the ticket and thanked the techs for their work.

This is just one of the many examples I have of how they are willing to work with the customer, even if it is not their fault. They will do what it takes to keep the customer happy, except fixing the customers' code. Jedito and his team really strive at providing superb support for their customers.

I have a few domains hosted with them and also have pointed others to their services. I currently use two of their servers, one is production and the other is staging. They are quick to get services setup and ready to go, as well as providing quick support through their ticket system. Their live chat doesn't always reach people (when it says it is online), but they respond to tickets within a few hours, sometimes within a few minutes.

I have the Silver plan with them, and I think they recently changed the amount of disk space available from 7GB to 14GB because that's what I now have available. I did not know they were planning that, but it was a pleasant surprise when I logged in to cPanel.

I can't think of any problems I have had with Downtownhost in these two years of experience with them, though I have had problems with my scripts and code. If they make a mistake, they admit it and are quick to fix it. I might have had a little bit of downtime over a year ago, but I think the server went down briefly. The uptime has been superb and the services have been wonderful.

To anyone who is in search of a good web host, Downtownhost is the way to go for shared hosting. I have not tried their other services (well, I am using blogging on the staging server), so I do not know what they are like. I have been with my share of web hosts and I have not found one that is better than Downtownhost.

View 12 Replies View Related

PrecisionEffect.com Two Year Review

Oct 27, 2009

I have now been with PrecisionEffect.com for two years and have just paid for year number three. I have to say I have been very happy with the quality and service I have received. For my site I currently need over 7GB of storage space plus over 60GB of bandwidth a month. For me, the few extra dollars a month that I pay for a top quality host are well worth it. It is critical that the site loads quickly and has hardly any down time. I am currently using their failover-enabled server. From what I can tell my site has only been down a total of about an hour over the past two years. I dont think you can beat that anywhere. I have never had that kind of uptime with any other host.

In the past I have been with web hosts that have put me on servers with 500 or more other hosted domains. PrecisionEffect.com currently has me on a server with only 200 domains (5 of which are mine). I believe not pushing their equipment to the max has been the main reason for the really good uptime.

If I ever do need support, Dave or Steve Garbus (both run PrecisionEffect.com) respond within minutes. Being a smaller size host, they know me and my site and are able to help me quickly. They are also able to help me customize the service I receive on the fly (Adding storage, domains, bandwidth to the plan).

I recommend PrecisionEffect.com to anyone looking for a long term top quality host with fast loading webpages (see their LiteSpeed plans) and excellent support. The couple of dollars extra you will pay for the service will be well worth it and save you in the long run.

View 10 Replies View Related

WiredTree 1 Year Review

Jan 10, 2009

I have been a WiredTree customer for about one year and I am very happy with their services. One of the top VPS providers available on the world, WiredTree runs its servers in its own datacenter and it is the real peace in mind company. On January 15th 2008 I've started a VPS 512 in WiredTree using a a WHT promo offer and encountered not only one problem with billing, hardware, software, support! I'm running 16 monster websites of my selected customers on this VPS under cPanel optimized for VPS release 4-R32603 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9. OS: CENTOS 4.7 i686 on Virtuozzo. I've recently rebooted my VPS by command line (SSH) due a new app install exigence and this task was performed in few seconds without only one problem with cPanel!

Uptime: 10/10
Management: 10/10
Support: 10/10
Price: 10/10
Billing: 10/10
Domain for verification: ....

View 1 Replies View Related

Steadcom.com 1 Year Review

Apr 18, 2009

I'm here to tell you my experience with steadcom.com shared hosting service. I have been them since 29 April 08 so thats not really 1 year but will be like in 2 weeks.

Speed - First I tell you the speed of my website, it's open fast (really fast for me actually)

Downtime - there is a couple of downtime and hardware/cpanel/diskspace error that make me can't use my website but not like every month and sometimes downtime is like 2-3 hours I can't open my website :/ and sometimes only when I open ticket they will check it and resolve my problem. Thats is not good enuf for me :/

Support - support is decent thats mean sometimes good (maybe when they online?) and sometimes is not. Sometimes support will answer my ticket after 2 -5 hours. :/ this guy Andrew neill is really a good support tech (very good I must say). I think he has work there since last year and other staff I know is Dimitri (CEO) and Grotman (sales?)

Price - This is the best part. They can be flexible If I use all my bandwidth they allow me to upgrade and when I don't need extra bandwidth they allow me to downgrade. Sometimes I pay $11 or $20 a/month depends on my bandwidth

So overall I rate them:
Speed: 10/10
Downtime/Other error: 2/10
Support: 7/10
Price: 10/10

The sad part is starting next month I need to find a new host because this host don't work for me anymore because third party problem, otherwise this host is superb and I will still be with them.

View 14 Replies View Related

Downtownhost - 1 Year Review

Oct 10, 2009

I've been with Downtownhost for a little more than a year now, and figured I would share my experiences with others.

When I first signed up with Downtownhost, everything was great. Transferring my sites went super smooth: my server was very fast and support was amazing (got replies in under a minute!). Unfortunately, as time has gone on, I've seen a dramatic drop in server stability and support.

My first major issue with Downtownhost happened in March of this year, when my server was constantly being brought offline with DDoS attacks. I requested that they switch me to a different server, hopefully with less DDoS attacks. Downtownhost gave me a date and time when they would switch my account to a new server. That day and time went, with no word from anyone at Downtownhost. I sent an email to Downtownhost asking if my account had been moved, but apparently they had forgotten to switch me. Jorge was very quick to switch me once I asked to be moved again.

Everything was smooth on the new server until April, when it went down for periods of at least 6 hours or more on several different occasions (at least 3). These extremely long periods of downtime were very angering.

Everything has been fairly stable up until these last few weeks. I recently registered a new domain and went to add it to my cPanel account as an addon domain. Something screwed up within cPanel, so I was unable to add my new domain to cPanel. This issue took over 5 hours to even get a response from Downtownhost (which used to be very unusual). Eventually, the issue was resolved.

Now, my server is timing out several times per day, and my email has now stopped working.

On top of the increasingly longer support response times, nobody *ever* answers me on their live support feature, which is a big downside for me. I'm not sure what has caused this dramatic drop in quality from Downtownhost, but it's not looking like I will be renewing my contract with them

View 14 Replies View Related

IMountain 1 Year Review

Mar 28, 2009

[Reposted]

Ive had a shared "Solarcluster 5 Lifetime" account with iMountain for a year, hosting low-traffic "community" sites, including shops, a blog, forums, CMSs, mailing lists and photo galleries. Here are my impressions so far. Ive concentrated on things that are different from previous hosts Ive used (mainly cheap cPanel shared hosting).

Summary
Pros: Very good support, fast servers, solar powered
Cons: Mediocre reliability, price, file permission issues, no forum

Pre-sales and pricing
I found iMountain here on WHT after searching for a host with a good reputation for support and reliability. I was initially impressed by the consistent fast loading of their demo Gallery site, and by their solar powered and "clustered" hosting. However, their prices (for 10 domains) were above my budget and they had problems connecting to Europe (see http://webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=649322), which put me off. I signed up after they fixed the bandwidth problem quickly, and I discovered there was a 50% discount offer, and a "lifetime" subscription option (both now withdrawn) which made their prices more competitive.

Migration
Moving my sites over to iMountain was not entirely trouble-free. They dont offer to do the migration for you and I didnt yet have SSH access at either end, so I had to download all the files and database contents from my old host and upload them again to iMountain by FTP. This took many hours, especially since my local ISP (Virgin) decided I was "abusing" my connection and silently throttled my upload speed to 128 kbit/s! Manually recreating all my databases and mail accounts took some time in the unfamiliar (and buggy) H-Sphere control panel, and some of my sites ended up offline or in maintenance mode for several days.

Support
Support quality is definitely one of iMountains strong points. They claim all their support staff are Level 3 and up with 15+ years experience. Its all done by e-mail and can therefore be a bit slow (sometimes hours for a response), but they generally get to the root of every problem and work to find a workable solution, unlike other hosts Ive experienced, where it can be a constant struggle just to get a problem acknowledged, let alone fixed. Theyre also pretty good at monitoring servers, which means its worth waiting a while before raising a trouble ticket. Theres no phone support, instant messaging or user forum though. Theres a tiny knowledgebase, a blog and a ticketing system but theyre barely used.

Speed
Generally, my sites have been much more responsive since moving to iMountain, and this is the main reason I would recommend them. Ive only raised three "sites slow" tickets in the last year and theyve all been fixed quickly. At previous hosts, applications that should load in seconds would regularly take minutes or time out completely. Indeed, iMountain proudly state "we can handle load surges from Digg, SlashDot, etc. When your site is getting the hits of a lifetime, were here to make sure your visitors get through". So far I havent tested this, though! Ping times from the UK are consistently about 180ms (monitored by [url].

Reliability
Ive been monitoring one of my sites at 5 minute intervals for a year [url]
and average uptime has been about 99.5%, which is about the same as my previous hosts. Im a bit disappointed by this - I had hoped that by paying a bit more and moving to a more reputable host I would see some improvement in uptime. Im still getting some website users urging me to move to a "more reliable" host.

Reliability is supposed to be one of the advantages of clustered hosting, but the "clustered" hosting that iMountain offers only means that the web server is separate from the database server, mail server etc., not that there are redundant servers that can take over if one of the servers in a cluster fails.

File permission issues
Once my sites were up and running, an annoying problem kept recurring - I would come back later and find some of them down or showing errors. It turns out this is due to iMountain running PHP as an Apache module, which means that files created by a PHP application when someone visits the site (such as cache or log files) cant subsequently be modified or removed by it. Its a well-known problem, and the solution here is to simply raise a support ticket every time such a PHP application is installed or moved to get it fixed (not sure exactly how, sorry). Its all a bit slow and inconvenient. It also affects updates - you have to overwrite the application in situ, instead of doing a clean installation and renaming it.

An alternative solution is to configure the entire site to "cgi mode", which can be done from the control panel. This solves all the file permission issues, but the big disadvantage for me is that its no longer possible to override local PHP settings (even using a local php.ini or ini_set), which means register_globals is always ON and the timezone always PST, for example.

Certificates
I found that iMountains security certificates for shared SSL, secure mail and FTP connections etc. are all self-signed, which means you get a warning popup whenever you try to access them - a showstopper for an e-commerce site. I havent encountered this at previous hosts, and when I raised a ticket they said it would be too expensive to fix this on every server, but I could buy my own certificate and install it. I only needed it for one site and they were good enough to give me a free static IP for it, so I was happy with that, but be careful if youre planning to host lots of secure sites with them. For email access Ive simply gone back to unencrypted connections.

E-Mail
Incoming mail is filtered with SpamAssassin and ClamAV and works pretty well. Outgoing mail is sometimes blacklisted though (e.g. by AOL and madasafish), which can be a pain - Ive had to redirect some mail to users on these domains to go via googlemail.

Theres no real support for mailing lists (but no silly limits either) so you will need to install something like phplist or Dada Mail if you need them. There was initially no support for mail "domain forwarding" (all mail for xxx@mydomain sent to xxx@mysynonymdomain) but they enabled it when I asked.

Control panel
The control panel is H-Sphere, which I have found quite capable but buggy. Obvious things like file uploads, moving directories and CHMOD sometimes dont work, and very strange things can happen if you try to move and rename things too quickly. Also the menu structure can be very obscure - CRON jobs are found under "FTP User", for example.

Backups
Theres no real support for backups - users are expected to make their own. I found a script to do mySQL backups, but file backups are harder because large directories will time out if you try to zip them. The options seem to be FTP (slow and not very reliable) or rsync (needs SSH access and a unix box).

Solar power
The power supply is not 100% solar - they still connect to the grid, but they sell back almost as much power during the day as they buy at night, so they are still "greener" than most.

View 2 Replies View Related

IMountain 1 Year Review

Feb 22, 2009

I've had a shared "Solarcluster 5 Lifetime" account with iMountain for a year, hosting low-traffic "community" sites, including shops, a blog, forums, CMSs, mailing lists and photo galleries. Here are my impressions so far. I've concentrated on things that are different from previous hosts I've used (mainly cheap cPanel shared hosting).

Summary
Pros: Very good support, fast servers, solar powered
Cons: Mediocre reliability, price, file permission issues, no forum
Pre-sales and pricing
I found iMountain here on WHT after searching for a host with a good reputation for support and reliability. I was initially impressed by the consistent fast loading of their demo Gallery site, and by their solar powered and "clustered" hosting. However, their prices (for 10 domains) were above my budget and they had problems connecting to Europe (see [url] [url],which put me off. I signed up after they fixed the bandwidth problem quickly, and I discovered there was a 50% discount offer, and a "lifetime" subscription option (both now withdrawn) which made their prices more competitive.

Migration
Moving my sites over to iMountain was not entirely trouble-free. They don't offer to do the migration for you and I didn't yet have SSH access at either end, so I had to download all the files and database contents from my old host and upload them again to iMountain by FTP. This took many hours, especially since my local ISP (Virgin) decided I was "abusing" my connection and silently throttled my upload speed to 128 kbit/s! Manually recreating all my databases and mail accounts took some time in the unfamiliar (and buggy) H-Sphere control panel, and some of my sites ended up offline or in maintenance mode for several days.

Support
Support quality is definitely one of iMountain's strong points. They claim all their support staff are Level 3 and up with 15+ years experience. It's all done by e-mail and can therefore be a bit slow (sometimes hours for a response), but they generally get to the root of every problem and work to find a workable solution, unlike other hosts I've experienced, where it can be a constant struggle just to get a problem acknowledged, let alone fixed. They're also pretty good at monitoring servers, which means it's worth waiting a while before raising a trouble ticket. There's no phone support, instant messaging or user forum though. There's a tiny knowledgebase, a blog and a ticketing system but they're barely used.

Speed
Generally, my sites have been much more responsive since moving to iMountain, and this is the main reason I would recommend them. I've only raised three "sites slow" tickets in the last year and they've all been fixed quickly. At previous hosts, applications that should load in seconds would regularly take minutes or time out completely. Indeed, iMountain proudly state "...we can handle load surges from Digg, SlashDot, etc. When your site is getting the hits of a lifetime, we're here to make sure your visitors get through...". So far I haven't tested this, though! Ping times from the UK are consistently about 180ms (monitored by [url].

Reliability
I've been monitoring one of my sites at 5 minute intervals for a year
[url]
and average uptime has been about 99.5%, which is about the same as my previous hosts. I'm a bit disappointed by this - I had hoped that by paying a bit more and moving to a more reputable host I would see some improvement in uptime. I'm still getting some website users urging me to move to a "more reliable" host.
Reliability is supposed to be one of the advantages of clustered hosting, but the "clustered" hosting that iMountain offers only means that the web server is separate from the database server, mail server etc., not that there are redundant servers that can take over if one of the servers in a cluster fails.

File permission issues
Once my sites were up and running, an annoying problem kept recurring - I would come back later and find some of them down or showing errors. It turns out this is due to iMountain running PHP as an Apache module, which means that files created by a PHP application when someone visits the site (such as cache or log files) can't subsequently be modified or removed by it. It's a well-known problem, and the solution here is to simply raise a support ticket every time such a PHP application is installed or moved to get it fixed (not sure exactly how, sorry). It's all a bit slow and inconvenient. It also affects updates - you have to overwrite the application in situ, instead of doing a clean installation and renaming it.

An alternative solution is to configure the entire site to "cgi mode", which can be done from the control panel. This solves all the file permission issues, but the big disadvantage for me is that it's no longer possible to override local PHP settings (even using a local php.ini or ini_set), which means register_globals is always ON and the timezone always PST, for example.

Certificates
I found that iMountain's security certificates for shared SSL, secure mail and FTP connections etc. are all self-signed, which means you get a warning popup whenever you try to access them - a showstopper for an e-commerce site. I haven't encountered this at previous hosts, and when I raised a ticket they said it would be too expensive to fix this on every server, but I could buy my own certificate and install it. I only needed it for one site and they were good enough to give me a free static IP for it, so I was happy with that, but be careful if you're planning to host lots of secure sites with them. For email access I've simply gone back to unencrypted connections.

E-Mail
Incoming mail is filtered with SpamAssassin and ClamAV and works pretty well. Outgoing mail is sometimes blacklisted though (e.g. by AOL and madasafish), which can be a pain - I've had to redirect some mail to users on these domains to go via googlemail.
There's no real support for mailing lists (but no silly limits either) so you will need to install something like phplist or Dada Mail if you need them. There was initially no support for mail "domain forwarding" (all mail for xxx@mydomain sent to xxx@mysynonymdomain) but they enabled it when I asked.

Control panel
The control panel is H-Sphere, which I have found quite capable but buggy. Obvious things like file uploads, moving directories and CHMOD sometimes don't work, and very strange things can happen if you try to move and rename things too quickly. Also the menu structure can be very obscure - CRON jobs are found under "FTP User", for example.

Backups
There's no real support for backups - users are expected to make their own. I found a script to do mySQL backups, but file backups are harder because large directories will time out if you try to zip them. The options seem to be FTP (slow and not very reliable) or rsync (needs SSH access and a unix box).

Solar power
The power supply is not 100% solar - they still connect to the grid, but they sell back almost as much power during the day as they buy at night, so they are still "greener" than most.

View 9 Replies View Related

OC3Networks - 1 Year Review

Sep 20, 2009

I use services of oc3networks almost year. This happened when problems began with alphared.

So,

1. Support - very good, rapid response to problems. Were some problems at night, but when Ivan was fired, everything fine.

2. Network stability - very good, there was only one off (maintance).

3. Provisioning dept - good, at beginning of our work creating server takes a few days, now it is less than 12 hours.

4. Sales - good, but I would like to make them available on a daily basis. As I know they are here on weekend sometimes.

This is a great data center for your projects. Start work with them, if you're still unsure.

View 8 Replies View Related

1 Year Review Eurovps.com

Jan 27, 2009

i have 5 servers with Eurovps.com since Feb 2008

I must have raised around 60 to 70 tickets with them in last 1 year. 90% of the tickets the response time is less than 3 minutes. Sometimes they take around 5 minutes to reply.

But definitely i get back replies in less than 5 minutes all tickets new and pending.

It feels like they have a huge team which is always online waiting for tickets.

Recently i had problems in server on 31st December night 11pm Indian Time. I sent a ticket surprisingly their ticket reply came back in 2 minutes and again in next 3 minutes the second reply came that the server is again up.

Last week they helped me with one server which had few problems. They reinstalled the server for me and also transfered the accounts and checked each website. One of the website had issues de to mysqli extension not installed. They did it too and completed the entire job very professionally.

They also configured one of the servers for application hosting. The server surely has become 2x faster after Eurovps tuning work on the vps. They also called me on mobile to inform me.

I surely recommend eurovps for someone searching for premium and reliable hosting.
one word of caution dont use bad language with them. The people manning the support team are no nonsense people and will not accept rude language. If you are good with them they will also be good with you.

If others also happy with eurovps support then please feel free to post it here.

All in all their servers are pretty fast due to quality hardware and support also very fast .. complete peace of mind for me with eurovps.

View 3 Replies View Related

Dotable 2 Year Review

Oct 7, 2009

I've been meaning to post a review here cause I used this forum to choose my host over 2 years ago.

I had never paid for a host before and never ventured into doing much for a website but wanted a small personal low maintenance e-comm website. I wanted a low cost host most of all since I didn't think I'd get a big flood of customers, dotable worked pretty well for the first year or so.
My only complaints with them were,

their abrasive renewal letters, it was like as soon as you got a notice to renew, you had 24 hours to do it. I'm a noob so I felt it was rude but whatever.

I also found the staff didn't seem to understand what I wanted when I submitted a ticket (all of twice a year) consisting of asking them where the virus scanner had gone. I used to have one and then it disappeared. It took 3 tickets and 1 year for Aussie Bob to understand that, I found it very frustrating.

I over all was happy, little downtime, only problem popping up occasionally was expired ssl but now that the company has changed over to new people I was determined to not mind. I didn't want to deal with a change since my website is nice and settled but in the last week I have submitted my first and now 2nd 911 tickets which took a good 12 HOURS to get a reply! I am not the type to use 911 tickets anyhow, I suspect others do so it's a big deal when I click the 911 button. This week I have submitted more overall tickets then I have in the rest of the 2 years I have been with them D: My website has never been so high maintenance! It's not only frustrating but as many of you know it makes you look BAD and you do loose business over it.

The customer service is the type that offers no information, it's like talking to someone where you ask "so did you like this movie" and they answer "yep...." you have to keep prompting the information or you will not get it at all. It is extremely frustrating. They also tend to answer only 1 problem per email.

I really wanted to keep on with dotable but after a long strength I will be looking for another host very soon.

I didn't love Aussie Bob but now I sure do miss him too bad.

Now I am off to research for a reliable host with low cost service for a low maintenance gal and her tiny osc website.

View 2 Replies View Related

Staminus 3+ Year Review

Oct 29, 2009

I'm not sure if I ever posted a staminus review before. I know I always meant to but anyway, here is my 3+ year review of staminus.net.

Prelude
I started my hosting company in Aug 2005. It first started with a site I had that got pretty popular and I needed to get a dedicated server cause I was getting kicked off shared hosts and the ones I didn't get kicked off of were fly by night ops that quickly folded. So I get the box and all and start learning about linux and everything else. My first server was at rackmounted.com - a truly great bunch of people that helped me in every way and never lost patience with me. I will never forget the guys there.

The first few months I had enough site donations to pay for the server but I eventually spent more time experimenting and learning my linux desktop and server that I didn't update the site much no more. Then the donations came to an end. Then I started selling hosting under felosi-inc.net domain. I ended up getting enough clients to pay for the server and then some. By that time I was spending all my time on hosting related things that I pretty much abandoned the site. Now I was hosting full time.

I quickly found out that it was very hard to compete with regular hosters. The people I knew and myself always was having problems with ddos so I decided to specialize in ddos protected hosting. At first it worked out but eventually I had to leave rackmounted because they didn't have ddos protection. This is where my journey for a good network began.

The Journey for a Good Network
The first ddos protected network I tried was sharktech, I was there around 5 months. The network outages, not so nice support staff, lack of any ddos stats and null routes instead of filtering made me leave there. Had I stayed I would have went out of business.

My second ddos protected network was awknet. Justin is good guy and all but he is the only one. I could never get no definite answer on how much he would filter for how long from him. It also seemed he had to manually add filters and such, the server stayed down until I could get ahold of him. There was a few fairly long network outages, one lasting 2-3 days if I'm not mistaken. After that and some other issues I decided to try another.

My third ddos protected network was gigeservers. I found out the first day it would not work as there was 80 mbits incoming syn to the server making it unresponsive. When asked they said they just rate limit the attack not filter it all and would not do anything to help me. So I left that server within a week.

My fourth ddos protected network was softlayer. This really didn't work out. Their sales people told me "oh yeah, ddos protection, cisco guard, ya ya" but I came to find out at that time they had to manually add the ips to the cisco guard and would only filter it for 24 hours. After a month or two of doing this I experienced downtime each time until the ip was added and I also had to haggle with their techs to get them to even add it. I asked to speak to a manager once and he told me their network was not for frequent ddos and if I continued as I was doing they would have to let me go.

My fifth ddos protected network was justedge which was no protection at all. Everything came through, he did refund me though and told me that he gave me the login for some firewall at first to mitigate the attacks. He never gave me any information for any firewall.

Home at Last
I had dealt with staminus before as I had a friend who I helped manage his server there. At that time I didn't think staminus was any good as this was the time those low bandwidth dc++ syn attacks were prevalent and I got creamed. I actually went in IRC and argued with Matt for a while over this. Eventually I found out that the attacks that was creaming the server were only around 5-10 mbits, but they was still a b**ch to mess with.

I got a server at staminus, moved all my clients over there. When I seen their custom firewall and attack alerts I knew this was what I needed. Also another great feature of staminus is that any huge attack will be auto null routed instead of consuming the server. Every place I went to before I had the server consumed many times, At staminus this has never happened to this day!

And finally the loyal clients who had stuck with me through the journey was happy and I started to get more clients. There has been a few network outages but nothing worth leaving for. The protection is also the absolute best you can get for the money. The secureport protection is amazing as well at a fraction of the cost of other specialist services.

At first I thought since staminus was only Matt I would have pretty much the same situation as awknet where I had to wait until he came on, but Matt is truly a 24/7 on call person and now he has John there to help him - another great guy. But in reality you rarely ever have to contact support as everything on their end is usually good. Their support is great, fast and they have never lost patience with me. I cant put a number on the times I have put in emergency tickets saying the hardware is bad only for it to be something on my end

I just cant say enough good things about staminus, had it not been for me finally settling down at staminus I don't think I would have the business I have today. For ddos protected networks there is no better then staminus hands down.

Now my entire high risk operation is hosted at staminus and I don't plan on leaving ever. Thanks Matt for the awesome service, support and not losing patience with me, you are the best.

View 14 Replies View Related

My 4.5 Year Review Of The Planet

Sep 24, 2008

Very hard to believe that it has been 4.5 (Ordered our first server in January of 2004) years since I first turned up services with The Planet (ServerMatrix at the time) and still have equipment with them to this day.

Here's my quick breakdown....Support - Looking back at our ticket history, we've never opened a ton of tickets. When we needed assistance, they were always quick to assist us and provided prompt resolutions.

Network - Their network is top notch and I've yet to find another provider that's even close to The Planet. We still have some equipment that is on their legacy unmetered Cogent product (now on their premium network, since they dont have Cogent any longer) and we continuously are able to pull the 20m and normally, much much more. Their network has always been top notch.

Hardware - I've acknowledged over the years that The Planet, historically, had issues with replacing failed drives and reloading OS's in a timely fashion. We never experienced that, ever... nor have I seen a complaint about that in quite some time.

We've experienced a single hardware failure with The Planet and the failed item was replaced quickly and at a time we dictated, which was great.

Overall - Fantastic. One of things I've really come to love about The Planet is the dedication to their customer. To this day, I still get a phone call at the office, at the house and on my cell whenever anything goes haywire on one of my servers. I can't count on them to have my back when I'm not watching and I've come to rely on them to respond to and resolve issues before I am aware of them.

Although we have diversified where we place our hardware, we'll continue to partner with The Planet and continue to enjoy the excellent service we've become accustomed to.

View 14 Replies View Related

FluidHosting.com 5 Year Review

Apr 22, 2008

Well, this month marks the 5th anniversary that Ive been with

[url]

Every year I pop in and give a review of the previous year.
This past year was nothing but steady excellent service for 12 months. I'm extreamly happy.

So far, Ive been humming right along on a shared plan to my amazement. Figured Id need something else by now, but my package is holding out fairly well. They did introduce Windows Virtuozzo VPS and other new VPS plans that Im excited about.

But there is not much to talk about when everything works (and works well) email worked flawlessly all year hosting uptime had to be 100% or close to it (I did not notice any downtime), support was flawless and fast.

The few questions I had in the past year were answered within 15 minutes. For example, I got stuck on imap setup and had to ask the imap numbers Dave helped instantly by the chat feature located on the front page of FH. I also asked other little questions during the year, like will this script work etc.

After 5 years, what can I say? FluidHosting does an excellent job, so I can focus on what I do best, run my business.
Thanks dave, john, hary, and crew.

I am not paid nor do I receive financial benefit for my reviews Fluidhosting was recommended from this site, so I make sure I come back to perform a review every year least I can do.

View 7 Replies View Related

Dreamhost - 1+ Year Review

Aug 18, 2008

I hadn't seen a review for Dreamhost lately so I thought I write about my experiences with them.

I originally registered for Dreamhost in April '07, on their "Crazy Domain Insane" Plan (I prepaid for a full year for $29.40!):
Disk Storage: 200GB (Grows 2GB/week)
Monthly Bandwidth: 2TB (Grows 40GB/week)
Unlimited Domains, MySQL Databases, and FTP Accounts
PHP 4 and 5
Perl Support
Python Support
Ruby on Rails
Enhanced Web Security
One-Click Installs (Wordpress, Zen Cart, etc.)

Setup was a breeze and everything was up and running within minutes. I setup my domains with the Dreamhost Nameservers, and the DNS changes began to propagate. For the first 6-8 months I had no problems, my sites responded quickly, and the few times I had to contact support the were very helpful and quick to respond (subdomain DNS issues for one of my sites).

Then right after christmas they had the big billing fiasco (read: [utl], and I ended up getting charged for another full year of hosting (resolved within the next day or two).

Well April rolled around again and I decided to renew my account as I had relatively few issues and didn't want to deal with moving all of my sites to a new host. I was hoping to renew my account and use a coupon like I had the first time around, but Dreamhost no longer offers my plan (they only have a 1 size fits all plan now). I bit the bullet and renewed my plan for another year to lower the price to $120 ($10/month), and I was off on another year of Dreamhost.

Right around this time I had also started to move some of my client sites over to Dreamhost, and we started having more and more issues (DNS, slow response times, slow connections). I also experienced an outage or two with no warning from Dreamhost (supposedly planned).

Dreamhost has a status blog available at: [url] where you can read about the latest status updates, problems, follow up, etc. And I've found it helpful in the past to go here to get my updates (Dreamhost doesn't like to send email updates or alerts when they are making changes), but trying to explain this problems to my clients when I don't even get a heads-up from Dreamhost is a real pain.

Fast forward to August, and I am experiencing MySQL outages and slow slow slow connections/queries, as well as network troubles with Dreamhosts' bandwidth provider. Support has been reasonably quick to respond (telling me they're working on it), and the Status blog has some information as to what's been happening, but I think it's time for me to move on.

So in conclusion, you get what you pay for (and in Dreamhosts' case, that's a cheap shared hosting account). In fact, if I didn't rely so much on sites with MySQL (Wordpress/Zen Cart/vBulletin/etc.), I would probably stay with Dreamhost, as I have found their servers to be rather speedy and not overloaded/oversold (at least on the CPU side of things, not their MySQL servers).

Final Dreamhost Ratings:
Uptime and Reliability: 7/10
Server and Connection Speed: 6/10
Tech Support: 8/10
Customer Service: 8/10
Value: 9/10

Final Score: 7.6/10

(Sorry if this review seems a little jumbled as it's my first time writing a formal review here at WHT)

View 14 Replies View Related

WiredTree 1+ Year Review

Dec 15, 2008

WiredTree 1+ Year Review

Well its been more than 1 year now since i've been with wiredtree so i decided that i write about my experience in all these months ever since i last wrote about them at [url].

So where do i start and how do i wrap up the review ? I could do it in just few words here which would be absolutely amazing ! Their customer service and their servers Rock and i hope in coming years, we just get to see better of their services !

And i promised myself today, if they ever sell their company and my account to any new entity, i'll 1st cry out aloud for writing all the good reviews and for the good times with wiredtree and then maybe go and bomb the place before a new ordeal with new owners starts because i dont think anyone can ever run wiredtree the way Zac is running!

20/10 to you Zac for running this good show!

View 8 Replies View Related







Copyrights 2005-15 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved